Located along the North American continental divide, the Icefields Parkway stretches 230-km and links Lake Louise in the south with Jasper in the north. The story of the Icefields Parkway began over 50 million years ago. Fierce tectonic forces pushed the ocean floor and transformed it into the mountains that today flank the Great Divide. Ice, water and wind shaped the mountains and valleys over millions of years. < /p>

As rugged and daunting as the terrain surrounding the Icefields Parkway may seem, people have explored the area for centuries. Long before there was a Canada, Indigenous people hunted and traded over the mountain passes and valleys of the Canadian Rockies. The earliest European travelers sought out Aboriginal guides and followed them along trade and hunting routes.

The Canadian Pacific Railway’s completion in 1885, along with the creation and promotion of Canada’s first national park, brought thousands of visitors to the Rockies and made it possible for mountaineers and explorers to venture out into the Great Divide area. Tales of their adventures spread far and wide, attracting attention to the area.

By the end of the 19th century, the Canadian Pacific Railway responded to the growing interest in mountaineering in the Rockies by giving seasonal contracts to Swiss guides. They led mountaineers and tourists in explorations of the area. Meanwhile, to the north, tourism in the region was also gathering momentum with the establishment of Jasper National Park in 1907 and the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway reaching Jasper in 1911.

As an economic project during the Depression Era, the Government of Canada decided to transform what was then known as the “Wonder Trail” into a single-track road. In 1931, construction began for the Icefields Highway: a new road that would make the famous mountain path accessible to everyone. It took 600 men and nearly 10 years to complete the project. With only one tractor per crew, most of the work was completed by hand and with teams of horses.

Lovat Scouts, 1944 Lovat Scouts, 1944

Since 1940, the Icefields Parkway has witnessed different groups frequenting the area. Throughout World War II, allied soldiers fused the area to train for combat. The American 87th Mountain Infantry spent two months on the Columbia Icefield, testing an over-snow vehicle while British and American armies practiced mountain warfare on the glaciers.

By the 1950s, cars rose in popularity and as more drivers discovered the Icefields Parkway’s dizzying cliffs and breathtaking scenery around each sharp turn, tourism began to take off. Jasper locals Bill Ruddy and Tom McCready started offering the first snow machine tours onto the Athabasca Glacier and travelers flocked to the mountains to hike, climb, horse-back ride and sightsee. Lodges like Jimmy Simpson’s ‘Num-Ti-Jah’ Lodge and the Brewster brothers’ Icefield Chalet became welcomed stops along the way.

By 1961, the new paved and realigned modern Icefields Parkway officially opened. Attractions, viewpoints and campgrounds along the Icefields Parkway were making adventure accessible to everyone. In 1969, Brewster took over operating the snowmobile tours on the Athabasca Glacier.

Today, more than 1.2 million people travel the Icefields Parkway each year, mostly during the summer months. In winter, it attracts visitors for ski touring, ice climbing, snowshoeing and winter exploring. The inspiring scenery, rich history and abundant wildlife attract visitors from all over the world. Attractions, accommodations and campgrounds allow explorers of all ages and abilities to experience and venture out into the magnificent Great Divide area.

The road less travelled

Before there was a highway there was a trail: The Glacier Trail

Following Aboriginal guides, the earliest European fur traders moved through ancient trade and hunting routes through the mountains of the Great Divide. From artists to botanists and surveyors, everyone that traveled the Glacier Trail helped open the mountains to development, mountaineering and tourism.

The guides and outfitters that made exploration, surveying and mountaineering possible became legends in their own time and part of the developing story of tourism in the Rockies. By the time the Canadian Pacific Railway was completed in 1885, travelers were flocking to the Banff and Lake Louise area. Jasper followed soon after. Finally, in 1931, construction of the Icefields Parkway began to make the spectacular wilderness of the Continental Divide accessible to everyone.

Icefields Parkway Bow Lake, 1924
Icefields Parkway Saskatchewan Glacier, 1924

A handmade highway

In 1931 as part of a Depression Era economic project, the Government of Canada recruited 600 unemployed men to build a road along A.O. Wheeler’s “Wonder Trail”. The new highway was set to be a 230-km single-lane gravel track connecting Lake Louise and Jasper. To employ as many men as possible, the road was carved mainly by hand with the aid of horses that pulled graders, plows and wagon loads of earth and one small mechanized tractor per camp. Surveyors made the route up as they went and if too much work was required to fill depressions or remove hills, the line was relocated. After 10 years of hard work, the Icefields Highway was ready to welcome visitors.

Icefields Parkway Horse team with plow, 1930s
Icefields Parkway Small tractor, 1930s

Build it and they will come

Since its completion in 1940, the Icefields Highway has welcomed tourists, explorers, artists, mountaineers, allied armies and movie stars. While the Icefields Parkway gained popularity over time, cheaper cars in the 1950s made it easier for people to escape to the mountains. Travelers flocked to the area looking for that extreme beauty and exclusive set up in the mountains to hike, climb, horseback ride and sightsee. By the 1950s, most of the attractions along the Icefields Parkway were operational: Jimmy Simpson was running his 16-room Num-ti-jah Lodge, and tourists drove right to the toe of the Athabasca Glacier to get on snowmobile tours offered by Jasper locals Bill Ruddy and Tom McCready.

Située le long de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux de l’Amérique du Nord, la promenade des Glaciers s’étire sur 230 km pour relier Lake Louise, au sud, à Jasper, au nord. L’histoire de la promenade des Glaciers débuta il y a plus de 50 millions d’années. De puissantes forces tectoniques repoussèrent le fond de l’océan vers le haut et créèrent ainsi les montagnes qui flanquent aujourd’hui la ligne continentale de partage des eaux. La glace, l’eau et le vent façonnèrent ensuite les montagnes et les vallées pendant des millions d’années.

Malgré leur caractère sauvage et intimidant, les étendues entourant la promenade des Glaciers accueillent des explorateurs depuis des siècles. Bien avant la fondation du Canada, les Premières Nations pratiquaient la chasse et le troc dans les cols de montagne et les vallées des Rocheuses canadiennes. Les premiers voyageurs européens sollicitèrent l’aide de guides autochtones et les suivirent sur les routes de chasse et de commerce.

L’achèvement de la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique en 1885, de même que la création et la promotion du premier parc national du Canada, incita des milliers de visiteurs à se rendre dans les Rocheuses canadiennes. Les alpinistes et les explorateurs, eux, s’aventurèrent plus avant, dans le secteur de la ligne de partage des eaux. Les récits de leurs aventures se répandirent dans tous les azimuts, attirant l’attention du monde entier.

À la fin du XIXe siècle, le Canadien Pacifique répondit à l’intérêt croissant pour l’alpinisme dans les Rocheuses canadiennes en accordant des contrats saisonniers à des guides suisses, qui dirigeaient des excursions dans le secteur. Pendant ce temps, le tourisme prenait un grand essor dans la région plus au nord, grâce à l’établissement du parc national Jasper en 1907 et à la construction du chemin de fer du Grand Trunk Pacific qui atteignit Jasper en 1911.

Dans le cadre d’un projet de soutien économique créé pendant la Grande Crise, le gouvernement du Canada entreprit de transformer ce qui était alors appelé la « piste prodigieuse » en une route à une seule voie. L’année 1931 marqua le début des travaux de construction de la promenade des Glaciers : une nouvelle route qui permettrait à tous d’accéder à la célèbre piste de montagne. Pas moins de 600 ouvriers besognèrent pendant près de dix ans en faisant le travail à la main. Chaque équipe travaillait avec des attelages de chevaux et disposait d’un seul tracteur.

Lovat Scouts, 1944 Régiment Lovat Scouts, en 1944

Depuis 1940, la promenade des Glaciers accueille des groupes d’usagers toujours changeants. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les soldats alliés s’installèrent dans le secteur pour s’entraîner au combat. Le 87e régiment américain d’infanterie de montagne passa deux mois sur le champ de glace Columbia pour mettre à l’épreuve une autoneige, tandis que des soldats britanniques et américains pratiquaient des opérations de guerre en montagne sur les glaciers.

Dans les années 1950, l’automobile gagna en popularité, et un nombre croissant d’automobilistes découvrirent les falaises vertigineuses et les panoramas spectaculaires de la promenade. Le tourisme prit alors son envol. Bill Ruddy et Tom McCready, résidents de Jasper, commencèrent à offrir des visites guidées en motoneige sur le glacier Athabasca, et les voyageurs prirent d’assaut les montagnes pour y faire de la randonnée, de l’escalade et de l’équitation ou simplement pour y admirer les panoramas. Des hôtels comme le Num Ti Jah Lodge de Jimmy Simpson et l’Icefield Chalet des frères Brewster devinrent des haltes prisées.

En 1961, la nouvelle promenade des Glaciers fut inaugurée à la suite de travaux d’asphaltage et de modification du tracé. Des attractions, des belvédères et des terrains de camping firent leur apparition le long de la route, proposant des aventures accessibles à tous. En 1969, Brewster reprit l’exploitation des excursions guidées en motoneige sur le glacier Athabasca.

Aujourd’hui, plus de 1,2 million de personnes par année parcourent la promenade des Glaciers, la plupart pendant les mois d’été. En hiver, ce sont le ski de randonnée, l’escalade de glace, la raquette et l’exploration qui y attirent les visiteurs. Les paysages inspirants, la riche histoire et la faune abondante des montagnes captivent des gens des quatre coins de la planète. Les attractions, les établissements d’hébergement et les campings qui jalonnent la route permettent aux explorateurs de tous les âges et de toutes les capacités de découvrir et d’explorer le magnifique secteur de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux.


Hors des sentiers battus

Avant la route, il y avait un sentier – le sentier des Glaciers

Suivant les traces des guides autochtones, les premiers commerçants de fourrures européens empruntèrent d’anciennes routes de commerce et de chasse à travers les montagnes de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux. Vinrent ensuite les artistes, les botanistes et les arpenteurs. Tous ceux qui parcoururent le sentier des Glaciers contribuèrent à ouvrir les Rocheuses à l’aménagement, à l’alpinisme et au tourisme.

Les guides et les pourvoyeurs qui permirent l’exploration, l’arpentage et l’alpinisme devinrent des légendes de leur vivant et des artisans de l’évolution du tourisme dans les Rocheuses. Lorsque le chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique fut achevé en 1885, les voyageurs affluèrent vers Banff et Lake Louise. Ce fut au tour de Jasper peu après. Puis, en 1931, l’État entreprit la construction de la promenade des Glaciers. Les étendues sauvages spectaculaires de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux allaient bientôt devenir accessibles à tous. 

Icefields Parkway
Le lac Bow en 1924
Icefields Parkway
Le glacier Saskatchewan en 1924

Une route construite à la main

En 1931, dans le cadre d’un projet créé pour contrer la Grande Crise, le gouvernement du Canada recruta 600 chômeurs pour la construction d’une route le long de la « piste prodigieuse » d’A. O. Wheeler. La nouvelle route – un chemin de gravier à une seule voie – devait faire 230 km et relier Lake Louise à Jasper. Pour procurer du travail au plus grand nombre d’hommes possible, il fallait que la route soit construite principalement à la main, avec l’aide de chevaux tirant des niveleuses, des charrues et des chariots chargés de terre. Chaque camp disposait d’un seul petit tracteur mécanisé. Les arpenteurs traçaient la route au fur et à mesure, et, s’il devenait impossible de combler les dépressions ou d’aplanir les pentes, ils modifiaient leur tracé. Après 10 ans de dur labeur, la promenade des Glaciers fut enfin prête à accueillir ses premiers visiteurs.

Icefields Parkway
Attelage tirant une charrue, années 1930
Icefields Parkway
Petit tracteur, années 1930

Construisez-la, et ils viendront!

Après son achèvement en 1940, la promenade des Glaciers accueillit des touristes, des explorateurs, des artistes, des alpinistes, des armées alliées et des vedettes de cinéma. Elle gagna en popularité au fil des ans, et les automobiles, devenues plus abordables dans les années 1950, permirent aux citoyens ordinaires de faire des escapades dans les montagnes. Les voyageurs affluaient dans la région, à la recherche de beauté extrême et du cadre exceptionnel que leur offraient les montagnes pour la randonnée, l’escalade, l’équitation et l’observation des panoramas.

Dans les années 1950, la plupart des attractions qui jalonnent aujourd’hui la promenade des Glaciers étaient déjà fonctionnelles : Jimmy Simpson exploitait les 16 chambres de son hôtel Num-ti-jah Lodge, et les touristes se rendaient en voiture jusqu’au front du glacier Athabasca pour participer aux excursions guidées en motoneige offertes par Bill Ruddy et Tom McCready, deux entrepreneurs de Jasper