Jasper National Park works with volunteers from a number of non-profit organizations in the surrounding community in addition to providing a few direct volunteer opportunities of our own. Friends of Jasper National Park, the Jasper - Yellowhead Museum and many others in the community of Jasper have a wide range of volunteer opportunities available including special event assistance, behind the scenes help, cultural resource assistance and much more.

There are many ways to engage with Parks Canada volunteer opportunities in Jasper National Park.


Jasper Park Stewards Program

Jasper Park Stewards

The Jasper Park Stewards program includes: Day Hiking Park Stewards and Interpretive Program Assistants. All prospective volunteers must complete a volunteer program application in order to be considered for the program.

Day Hiking Park Stewards

Park Stewards help support Parks Canada (while hiking, mountain biking or riding horseback and enjoying park trails!) by providing information to visitors they meet on trails and by reporting on trail conditions that they encounter.

Interpretive program assistants

Interpretive program assistants play an important role supporting park interpreters at campfire talks, theatre shows, “tail-guiding” guided walks and special events.

Volunteers must be willing to commit to:

  • A minimum of 2-3 shifts at any point during the year.
  • Participating in a 1-day Park Stewards training session prior to undertaking their first volunteer shift. Training is offered in May and early June of each year.
  • To wear Parks Canada volunteer identifiers.
  • Adhere to the Parks Canada code of values and ethics at all times.
  • Volunteers must be self-sufficient, since we are unable to provide housing or travel assistance.

Applicants should be flexible, comfortable with engaging with visitors and have a moderate fitness level to access the park’s official trail network.


Group volunteering with Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanups

Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup

DYK: In 2019, more than 200 group volunteers (including 40 spontaneous visitors!) took part in 18 different Jasper shoreline cleanups. Make your group a part of caring for Jasper’s lakes and shores in 2020!

The best way to get a group of volunteers involved with Jasper National Park stewardship is to take on a shoreline cleanup!

Parks Canada is a national partner of OceanWise, supporting the Great Canadian Shoreline Clean-up initiative. By taking the time to formally sign-up using their website, your volunteer contributions are recorded as part of the national movement of clean-ups taking place across Canada. Take a few moments visit shorelinecleanup.ca and register for one of Jasper’s wetlands that needs a helping hand!

If you are hoping to conduct a cleanup in Jasper National Park and are part of a larger group, please email pc.jaspervolunteers.pc@canada.ca to find out more and a suitable clean-up location.


Partners in Jasper Park volunteering

Parks Canada works closely with a number of important partners in Jasper National Park!

The Friends of Jasper National Park and the Jasper Trails Alliance

The Friends of Jasper National Park - The Whistlers restoration project

The Friends of Jasper National Park undertake numerous projects, programs and special events that help support Jasper National Park. They also organize the Jasper Trail Alliance and The Whistlers summit trail restoration project. If you’d like to help out our Friends on a coming project and take your volunteering to new heights email: volunteers@friendsofjasper.com for more information.

Jasper-Yellowhead Museum and Archives

Jasper-Yellowhead Museum

If you’d like to help protect and present Jasper’s cultural and human history, visit the Jasper-Yellowhead Museum website for more details. Volunteers are often needed for programming, events and behind the scenes opportunities. Visit: www.jaspermuseum.org


Additional notes about volunteering in Jasper National Park

  • Volunteers are responsible for all of their own costs when travelling to and from Jasper National Park.
  • Parks Canada is unable to provide volunteer housing or assistance with living costs or communing costs associated with volunteer activities in Jasper National Park.
  • International volunteers are responsible for ensuring they meet the proper requirements for their entry and stay in Canada. For more information, please consult the Citizenship and Immigration Canada website.
  • Please note that Jasper National Park does not have a full time service learning or volunteer internship program.

Volunteer in other protected places too!

  • Interested in volunteering elsewhere with Parks Canada? Check out the national volunteer webpage for a complete listing of Parks Canada opportunities across the country.
  • Jasper National Park also shares our Rocky Mountain eco-region with a number of other provincial parks and recreation areas. Be sure to get in touch with one of them for additional opportunities in our region and beyond.

Inquiries? Questions? Ideas? Contact us!

pc.jaspervolunteers.pc@canada.ca

Le parc national Jasper travaille avec les bénévoles d’organismes à but non lucratif de la collectivité, et il offre également quelques-unes de ses propres possibilités de bénévolat. Les Amis du parc national Jasper (en anglais seulement), le musée et centre d’archives Jasper-Yellowhead (en anglais seulement) et de nombreux autres regroupements offrent une vaste gamme de possibilités de bénévolat, notamment une aide à la tenue d'activités spéciales, du travail en coulisse, une aide à la protection des ressources culturelles et des corvées de toutes sortes.

Il existe plusieurs façons de participer à des activités de bénévolats de Parcs Canada dans le parc national Jasper.


Programme des intendants du parc national Jasper

Intendants du parc

Les possibilités suivantes sont offertes dans le cadre du programme des intendants du parc national Jasper : intendants du parc des randonnées d’une journée et assistants au programme d’interprétation. Tous les bénévoles éventuels doivent présenter un formulaire de demande d’inscription des bénévoles dûment rempli afin d’être pris en compte pour participer au programme.

Intendants du parc des randonnées d’une journée

Les intendants du parc aident à appuyer Parcs Canada (tout en faisant de la randonnée, du vélo de montagne et de l’équitation et en profitant des sentiers du parc!) en donnant de l'information aux visiteurs qu'ils rencontrent sur les sentiers et en signalant l’état des sentiers.

Assistants au programme d’interprétation

Ces bénévoles jouent un rôle important car ils appuient les interprètes de parcs pendant les feux de camp thématiques, les spectacles de théâtre et les activités spéciales, et ils agissent comme dernier de file pendant les promenades guidées.

Les bénévoles doivent s’engager à :

  • faire un minimum de 2 ou 3 quarts de bénévolat à un moment convenu au cours de l'année;
  • participer à une séance de formation d’un (1) jour pour les intendants du parc avant de faire leur premier quart de bénévolat; cette formation est offerte en mai et au début de juin chaque année;
  • porter des vêtements les identifiant comme bénévole de Parcs Canada;
  • respecter le Code de valeurs et d’éthique de Parcs Canada en tout temps;
  • être autonomes; nous ne sommes pas en mesure de fournir un logement ou de fournir une aide au déplacement.

Les demandeurs devraient être flexibles, à l'aise de converser avec les visiteurs et avoir une forme physique assez bonne pour pouvoir emprunter les sentiers officiels du réseau du parc.


Bénévolat de groupe pour le grand nettoyage des rivages canadiens

Grand nettoyage des rivages canadiens

LSV : En 2019, plus de 200 groupes de bénévoles (y compris 40 visiteurs qui ont participé à l’improviste!) ont pris part à 18 différentes activités de nettoyage des rives. Faites-en sorte que votre groupe soit parmi ceux qui s’occupe des lacs et des rives du parc Jasper en 2020!

Pour un groupe de bénévoles, le moyen idéal de participer au programme d’intendance du parc national Jasper est de prendre part à un nettoyage de rivage!

Parcs Canada est un partenaire national de OceanWise et appuie l’initiative du grand nettoyage des rivages canadiens. En prenant un moment pour vous inscrire officiellement par l’entremise de leur site Web, vos contributions en tant que bénévole seront notées comme faisant partie du mouvement de grands nettoyages qui est en cours à travers tout le Canada. Prenez quelques instants pour visiter le site https://www.shorelinecleanup.ca/fr et inscrivez-vous pour participer au nettoyage de l’une des terres humides du parc Jasper.

Si vous comptez effectuer un nettoyage de rivage dans le parc national Jasper et que vous faites partie d’un groupe nombreux, écrivez à pc.benevolesjasper.pc@canada.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et pour sélectionner un lieu se prêtant bien à un nettoyage de rivage.


Partenaires faisant du bénévolat dans le parc Jasper :

Parcs Canada collabore étroitement avec un certain nombre de partenaires importants dans le parc national Jasper! S

Les Amis du parc national Jasper et la Jasper Trails Alliance

Les Amis du parc national Jasper – Projet de remise en état du mont The Whistlers

Les Amis du parc national Jasper (en anglais seulement) entreprennent de nombreux projets, programmes et activités spéciales qui aident à appuyer le parc national Jasper. Ils organisent également les projets de la Jasper Trail Alliance ainsi que le projet de remise en état du sentier du Sommet-du-Mont The Whistlers. Si vous souhaitez aider les Amis du parc dans un de leur projet à venir et ainsi atteindre de nouveaux sommets en tant que bénévole, écrivez à volunteers@friendsofjasper.com pour en savoir davantage.

Musée et centre d’archives Jasper-Yellowhead

Musée et centre d’archives Jasper-Yellowhead

Si vous voulez contribuer à la protection et à la présentation de l'histoire culturelle et humaine de Jasper, visitez le site Web du musée et centre d’archives Jasper-Yellowhead pour obtenir plus de détails. L’aide de bénévoles est souvent requise pour la programmation et les activités, ainsi que pour d’autres occasions en coulisses. Visitez le site www.jaspermuseum.org (en anglais seulement).


Renseignements additionnels sur le bénévolat au parc national Jasper

  • Les bénévoles du parc national Jasper sont responsables de tous leurs frais de déplacement.
  • Parcs Canada n’est pas en mesure de fournir à ses bénévoles le logement ou une aide financière pour leurs frais de subsistance ou de déplacement pendant qu’ils participent à des activités de bénévolat dans le parc national Jasper.
  • Les bénévoles internationaux sont responsables de s’assurer qu’ils répondent aux exigences requises pour entrer et séjourner au Canada. Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter le site du ministère de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration.
  • À noter que le parc national Jasper n'a pas de programme de stage bénévole ou d'apprentissage pour le service à temps plein.

Portez-vous également volontaire dans d’autres endroits protégés!


Vous avez des questions ou des idées? Communiquez avec nous!

pc.benevolesjasper.pc@canada.ca