Why wait until the summer to visit Jasper National Park? Spring is equally enjoyable and considerably more serene with fewer visitors. Cooler nights give way to longer, warmer days as wildflowers begin to dot the park with colour. Newborn wildlife and migratory birds arrive, and receding snow unveils endless opportunities for outdoor recreation. Here are our eight freshest picks of things to do in Jasper during the spring.


Get moving in the valley bottom

While snow can linger in the alpine region well into summer, the valley bottom blooms into life to offer many options for day hiking, mountain biking and trail running. Follow the Easy Trail System to explore Jasper’s wide open valleys, admire the rushing Athabasca River, and relax on the beach at Lake Annette and Lake Edith.


Wildlife

With over 50 species of mammals making their home here, Jasper National Park has an incredibly diverse animal population. The chance to view wildlife is one of the most exciting aspects of visiting our park. Spring is prime wildlife watching season as ungulates such as deer and elk begin calving, bears and their cubs emerge from hibernation, and kid goats begin frolicking. While viewing these animals, it is important to remain respectful and mindful of your safety and theirs.


Bird migration
Bird migration

Spring is a unique time for bird watching in Jasper as several transient bird species make their way back from the south. Eagles can be spotted as early as mid-March, and admired throughout the spring and summer in areas such as Maligne and Medicine Lake. Several species of waterfowl and shorebirds also return to Jasper during spring. Head out to Cottonwood-Slough to view valley-bottom birds, or hike through Wilcox Pass for excellent high elevation birding opportunities.


Wildflowers

South-facing slopes and open meadows in the valley bottoms offer great spots to view early-flowering plants. In early spring, look for the Prairie Crocus—a pale purple flower with a bright yellow center which blooms in April. June is when valley bottom flowers burst forth in profusion. Best bets include day hiking trails such as Valley of the Five Lakes, Pyramid Bench, or the Flower Loop just off of the Overlander Trail.


Chasing waterfalls

Snow melt coupled with spring rain showers lead to high water in Jasper’s waterways, making spring the perfect time for waterfall viewing. Make your way onto the scenic Icefields Parkway to visit the thundering Athabasca Falls, then stop by Sunwapta Falls and be sure to hike to its lower falls. The photogenic Tangle Falls and the tiered Stanley Falls (a short hike) are also popular stops.


Miette Hot Springs

Springtime is perfect for a soothing soak in the Miette Hot Springs, which are at their finest during cool and rainy weather. Fed by the hottest hotsprings in the Canadian Rockies, there are hot and cool pools open daily from late May until early October. Opening day is May 3, 2019. 



Camping

For those willing to brace the nighttime chill, and enjoy being under the second largest dark sky preserve in the world, Jasper offers several spring camping options. Cozy up around a campfire year-round at Wapiti Campground or cruise into the Icefields Centre RV for early spring camping. Jasper’s remaining campgrounds blossom with tents and trailers throughout May and June. Campgrounds can book quickly. Reserve today! 


Indoor activities and community culture

Looking for an alternative to outdoor activities? Discover Jasper’s rich historical roots at the Yellowhead Museum & Archives, dig into our colourful arts scene at our local art galleries, cultivate your knowledge at the Jasper Municipal Library, or indulge in Jasper’s local and international cuisine in our many eateries.



Spring safety tips
Spring safety tips

Driving with wildlife

Spring is the best time to see wildlife in the valley bottoms. This means they could be on or beside roads and highways. Drive with caution.

Avalanches

Avalanche danger is variable during the spring and can range from Low to High. Don’t forget to check the current avalanche conditions before heading out.

Road closures

Due to the unpredictable mountain weather and variable avalanche risks, road closures occur frequently in Jasper National Park during the spring. Be sure to stay updated on current road conditions before your travels by calling 511 or visiting alberta511.ca

Ticks and Lyme disease

Throughout Jasper National Park, from April to November, there is a small chance of being exposed to Lyme disease if bitten by an infected blacklegged (deer) tick. Lyme disease is a serious illness; however, it's easy to prevent and treat when caught early.

For more information on Lyme disease, blacklegged ticks, and how to protect yourself from tick bites while enjoying the outdoors, please visit the following websites:

Elk calving

Elk calving occurs from May 15 until June 30 in Jasper National Park, during which time mothers will aggressively protect their newborns by kicking and charging at people. During the spring calving season, some areas may be closed to human activity. This is to avoid elk and human conflicts. Check with park information centres for recommended places to hike at this time of year and of seasonal closures. Obey all notices and warnings concerning any wildlife.

Pourquoi attendre l’été pour visiter le parc national Jasper? Le printemps est une saison tout aussi agréable et beaucoup plus tranquille en raison de la faible affluence. Les nuits fraîches cèdent le pas à des jours longs et chauds, et les fleurs sauvages commencent à parsemer le parc de différentes couleurs. Les bébés animaux naissent et les oiseaux migrateurs arrivent, tandis que la neige qui perd du terrain dévoile d’innombrables possibilités de loisirs de plein air. Voici nos huit suggestions d’activités à ne pas manquer dans le parc national Jasper au printemps :


Exploration du fond des vallées

Même si la neige peut encore recouvrir la zone alpine bien après le début de l’été, le creux des vallées reprend vie au printemps et offre de nombreuses possibilités de randonnée d'une journée, de vélo de montagne et de course sur les sentiers. Suivez le réseau de sentiers faciles pour explorer les immenses vallées du parc, admirez la course tumultueuse de la rivière Athabasca, et détendez-vous sur la plage au lac Annette et au lac Edith.


Faune

Le parc national Jasper sert d’habitat à plus de 50 espèces de mammifères, ce qui donne lieu à une impressionnante diversité faunique. L’observation de la faune figure parmi les expériences les plus exaltantes qui soient offertes dans le parc. Le printemps est particulièrement propice à l’observation d’animaux sauvages, car c’est la saison où les chevreuils, les wapitis et d’autres ongulés mettent bas, où les ours et leurs petits émergent de leur hibernation et où les chevreaux se mettent à gambader. Lorsque vous observez ces animaux, il est important de leur accorder du respect et de rester conscient de votre sécurité et de la leur.


Bird migration
Migration des oiseaux

Le printemps est une saison exceptionnelle pour l’observation des oiseaux dans le parc, car plusieurs espèces migratrices reviennent du Sud. Il est possible d’apercevoir des pygargues à tête blanche dès la mi-mars, souvent près des lacs Maligne et Medicine. Plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux aquatiques et d’oiseaux de rivage retournent également dans le parc au printemps. Rendez-vous au marécage Cottonwood pour observer les oiseaux du fond des vallées ou faites une randonnée jusqu’au belvédère du Col-Wilcox pour profiter d’excellentes possibilités d’observation des oiseaux à haute altitude.


Fleurs sauvages

Les pentes orientées vers le sud et les prés du fond des vallées sont d’excellentes destinations pour l’observation de plantes à floraison hâtive. Au début du printemps, cherchez la pulsatille multifide, une fleur aux pétales pourpre délavé et au centre jaune vif qui émerge en avril. C’est au mois de juin que le fond des vallées se transforme en un véritable tapis de fleurs. Nous vous suggérons des destinations de randonnée d'une journée telles que la vallée des Cinq Lacs, la terrasse Pyramid ou la boucle des Fleurs, qui communique avec le sentier des Overlanders.


Chasse aux cascades d’eau

La fonte des neiges et les pluies printanières gonflent les cours d’eau du parc, faisant du printemps la saison idéale pour l’observation des chutes. Parcourez la magnifique promenade des Glaciers pour admirer les chutes Athabasca, qui dévalent la montagne dans un bruit de tonnerre, puis arrêtez-vous aux chutes Sunwapta pour randonner jusqu’à la cascade inférieure. Les chutes Tangle, toujours photogéniques, et les différents étages des chutes Stanley, qui sont accessibles par une courte randonnée, sont également des destinations populaires.


Sources thermales Miette

Le printemps est idéal pour une baignade apaisante dans les sources thermales Miette, qui offrent une expérience optimale par temps frais et humide. Alimentées par les sources thermales les plus chaudes des Rocheuses canadiennes, les piscines d’eau chaude et d’eau froide du complexe sont ouvertes tous les jours de la fin mai au début octobre. Date d'ouverture le 3 mai 2019.



Camping

Si vous êtes prêt à braver le froid nocturne pour vous retrouver dans la deuxième réserve de ciel étoilé en superficie de la planète, le parc national Jasper vous offre plusieurs options de camping printanier. Pelotonnez-vous près d’un feu de camp à longueur d’année au camping Wapiti ou installez-vous dans le terrain de caravaning du Centre du Champ-de-Glace pour une sortie de camping au début du printemps. Les autres campings du parc se meublent de tentes et de roulottes en mai et en juin. Les emplacements peuvent s’envoler rapidement dans les campings; réservez aujourd'hui!


Activités d’intérieur et culture

À la recherche d’une solution de rechange aux activités de plein air? Explorez les riches racines de Jasper au musée et centre d'archives Yellowhead (site Web en anglais seulement), découvrez une scène artistique dynamique dans les galeries d’art locales, cultivez votre savoir à la bibliothèque municipale (en anglais seulement)ou savourez la gastronomie locale et internationale dans les nombreux restaurants de la ville.


Conseils de sécurité pour le printemps
Spring safety tips

Rouler au pays de la faune

Le printemps est la saison par excellence pour observer la faune dans le fond des vallées. Cela signifie que des animaux sauvages pourraient se trouver au bord de la route, voire sur la chaussée. Roulez prudemment.

Avalanches

Le risque d’avalanche est variable au printemps, et l’indice peut aller de Faible à Élevé. N’oubliez pas de vous renseigner sur les conditions actuelles en consultant le dernier bulletin d'avalanche avant de partir en excursion.

Fermetures de route

En raison du caractère imprévisible du temps en montagne et des risques d’avalanche variables, il arrive souvent que des routes doivent être fermées à la circulation dans le parc au printemps. Pour rester au fait des conditions routières, composez le 511 ou consultez le site alberta511.ca (en anglais seulement) avant de prendre la route.

Tiques et maladie de Lyme

Au parc national Jasper vous courez un faible risque, d’avril à novembre, d’être exposé à la maladie de Lyme si vous vous faites piquer par une tique à pattes noires infectée. La maladie de Lyme est grave, mais il est facile de la prévenir et de la traiter si elle est détectée à un stade précoce.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la maladie de Lyme, sur les tiques à pattes noires et sur les précautions à prendre pour vous protéger des piqûres en plein air, consultez les sites Web suivants :

Naissance des bébés wapitis

Chez les wapitis, la mise bas s’étend du 15 mai au 30 juin dans le parc national Jasper. Pendant cette période, les mères protègent farouchement leurs nouveau-nés en chargeant les humains qui s’approchent et en leur assenant des coups de patte. Durant la saison de la mise bas printanière, il se peut que certains secteurs soient fermés à l’activité humaine. Cette mesure vise à prévenir les conflits entre wapitis et humains. Adressez-vous aux comptoirs de renseignements du parc pour obtenir des suggestions de destinations de randonnée en cette période de l’année et pour vous renseigner sur les fermetures saisonnières. Obéissez aux avis et aux mises en garde concernant les animaux sauvages.