Geocaching

Looking for a fun outdoor activity to do while in Jasper? Geocaching is great way to discover special areas of the park at your own pace. From valley bottom to mountain top, there’s something for every level of geocacher in Jasper National Park.

Geocaching in any Canadian national park is different than geocaching in other areas. To prevent geocaches from becoming wildlife attractants, trade items are not permitted. Parks Canada Geocaching Guidelines

How to get started

There are a number of geocaching opportunities in Jasper that are not maintained by, but have been approved by Parks Canada.

Safety is your responsibility. There are always hazards involved with outdoor recreational activities. Be sure you have the most current information on trail conditions by checking the trail report or by visiting a Parks Canada Visitor Centre.

Looking for even more adventure? Tackle the Whitebark Pine Geocaching Challenge and put your geo-skills to the test across as many as six national parks in the Canadian Rockies.

Want to place a geocache in a Jasper National Park?

Read Placing a cache at Parks Canada and then contact: Brian.Catto@canada.ca who will help you with the application process.

Géocachette

Vous cherchez une activité divertissante à réaliser en plein air pendant votre séjour dans le parc national Jasper? La géocachette est un excellent moyen de découvrir les trésors du parc à votre propre rythme. Depuis le creux des vallées jusqu’au sommet des montagnes, le parc national Jasper a de quoi plaire aux adeptes de géocachette de tous les niveaux.

La géocachette dans les parcs nationaux canadiens présente des particularités qui n’existent pas ailleurs. Pour éviter que les géocaches n’attirent les animaux sauvages, les objets d’échange n’y sont pas autorisés. Lignes directrices pour la géocachette à Parcs Canada.

Pour commencer

Le parc national Jasper compte un certain nombre de géocaches qui ne sont ni entretenues ni approuvées par Parcs Canada.

Vous êtes responsable de votre sécurité. Les activités récréatives en plein air comportent toujours certains dangers. Obtenez des renseignements à jour sur l’état des sentiers en consultant le rapport ou en vous rendant à un centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada.

Vous recherchez encore plus d’aventure? Relevez le Défi de géocachette du pin à écorce blanche et mettez vos géo-compétences à l’épreuve dans six parcs nationaux des Rocheuses canadiennes.

Vous voulez installer une géocache dans le parc national Jasper?

Lisez Installer une cache à Parcs Canada, puis écrivez à Brian.Catto@canada.ca, qui pourra vous venir en aide tout au long du processus de demande.