Have you ever wondered what it would be like to see a herd of thundering bison flowing over the landscape? Elk Island National Park is only 45 minutes away from downtown Edmonton and is the premier Canadian destination to view wild bison wallowing, grazing and galloping in their natural habitat.

Start your own migration and follow Elk Island bison across Canada! Riding Mountain National Park, Grasslands National Park, Waterton Lakes National Park, Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site, Prince Albert National Park, and Banff National Park are all proud to protect bison that stemmed from the Elk Island bison family.

For over a century, Parks Canada has been a leader in bison conservation by providing sanctuaries for this iconic species. Elk Island National Park has transferred over 2,500 plains and wood bison to conservation projects all over the world. As of 2017, Elk Island has founded eight wood bison conservation herds and has contributed to dozens of plains bison conservation herds. In the past few years, Elk Island has sent bison to support many exciting projects.

Banff National Park
A helicopter used to transport bison is has landed in a mountain meadow

A helicopter used to transport bison is has landed in a mountain meadow.

Parks Canada / Clayton Szafron

In 2017, a small group of bison were sent to Banff’s remote Panther Valley region as a test to see the feasibility of reintegrating bison into the fabric of Banff’s ecosystems, where they have been absent for over a hundred years. This is the first step in the five-year project to inform decisions regarding restoring wild bison in Banff over the long-term.

Bison are often considered to be a plains species but they also called the mountain valleys their home for millennia. Bison were hunted from the Banff area in the 1800s. However, between 1897 and 1997, Banff National Park maintained a herd of bison in a paddock. When the paddock and the bison were removed in 1997 to encourage the free flow of wildlife in the Bow Valley area, it was always the intention to return wild bison to Banff. First Nations people and conservationists have campaigned to return bison ever since.

Blackfeet Indian Nation, Montana, USA
Plains bison calves running down an alleyway in the plains bison handling facility at Elk Island National Park.

Plains bison calves running down an alleyway in the plains bison handling facility at Elk Island National Park.

© Parks Canada / Scott Mair

The bison, or “iinii” in the Blackfoot language, is vitally important to First Nations peoples of the plains like the Blackfeet Indian Nation of Montana. There is a wider Indigenous-led movement called the Iinii Initiative to restore bison. The Blackfeet Nation is a signatory of the Buffalo Treaty, which works to restore bison to traditional territory for cultural and conservation reasons. Elk Island sent over 80 calves to the Blackfeet Indian Nation of Montana in the spring of 2016 as a part of the Iinii Initiative. These bison calves are descendants of bison that once roamed there over 100 years ago.

American Prairie Reserve, Montana, USA
A large herd of plains bison roaming free on the American Prairie Reserve in Montana, USA.

A large herd of plains bison roaming free on the American Prairie Reserve in Montana, USA.

© American Prairie Reserve / Dennis Lingohr

The American Prairie Reserve in Montana is a private initiative to protect one of the most endangered natural ecosystems in North America: native tall-grass and short-grass prairies. The APR is stitching together existing nature preserves and privately held land to create the largest nature reserve in the continental United States. Their ultimate goal is to have 3 million acres under their protection.

Elk Island has contributed to this ambitious project by sharing over two hundred young plains bison over the course of three transfers. The APR is returning native species like plains bison and pronghorn to the area. They hope to restore the natural migration patterns of these species.

Lenskie Stolby Nature Park, Republic of Sakha, Russia
A specialized trailer carrying wood bison calves is loaded onto a Russian cargo plane.

A specialized trailer carrying wood bison calves is loaded onto a Russian cargo plane.

© Parks Canada

In 2006, 2011, and 2013, three groups of 30 wood bison were transferred to Lenskie Stolby Nature Park in the Republic of Sakha, Russia. These transfers were successful and the herd has reproduced and increased. The goal of the nature park is to rebuild an ecosystem like the one that existed in the area before the extinction of steppe bison thousands of years ago. Ecologists hope that the reintroduction of the Steppe Bison’s closest living relative, the Wood Bison, will increase the biodiversity of the region.

Sending wood bison to Russia also supports wood bison conservation. Establishing a genetically viable population in Russia increases the chance of species survival in case populations in North America are struck by wide spread disease or some other calamity.

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé à quoi ressemble une harde de bisons galopant sur la plaine? Le parc national Elk Island, à seulement 45 minutes du centre-ville d’Edmonton, est la principale destination canadienne où l’on peut voir des bisons sauvages se vautrer dans la boue, brouter et galoper dans leur habitat naturel.

Commencez votre propre migration et suivez le bison du parc Elk Island partout au Canada! Le parc national du Mont-Riding, le parc national des Prairies, le parc national des Lacs-Waterton, le lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House, parc national de Prince Albert, et le parc national Banff sont tous fiers de protéger des bisons issus de la famille qui habite au parc Elk Island.

Depuis plus d’un siècle, Parcs Canada jour le rôle de chef de file dans la conservation du bison et offre des refuges à cette espèce emblématique. Le parc national Elk Island a transféré plus de 2 500 bisons des plaines et bisons des bois dans le cadre de projets de conservation du monde entier. En 2017, il avait permis la création de huit hardes de conservation du bison des bois et contribué à des dizaines de hardes de conservation du bison des plaines. Au cours des dernières années, le parc Elk Island a transféré des bisons dans le but d’appuyer de nombreux projets intéressants.

Parc national Banff
Un hélicoptère utilisé pour transporter des bisons a atterri dans un pré de montagne

Un hélicoptère utilisé pour transporter des bisons a atterri dans un pré de montagne

Parcs Canada / Clayton Szafron

En 2017, un petit groupe de bisons a été transporté vers un secteur reculé de la vallée de la Panther, dans le parc national Banff afin d’évaluer la faisabilité de réintégrer cet animal dans les écosystèmes du parc après plus de 100 ans d’absence. Il s’agit de la première étape d’un projet de cinq ans qui orientera les décisions relatives au restoring wild bison in Banff rétablissement du bison sauvage à long terme dans le parc national Banff.

Le bison est souvent considéré comme une espèce des plaines, mais il a aussi habité des vallées de montagne pendant des millénaires. La chasse au bison a entraîné la disparition de l’espèce de la région de Banff dans les années 1800. Toutefois, de 1897 à 1997, une harde de bisons a été conservée dans un enclos au parc national Banff. Lorsque l’enclos et les bisons ont été retirés en 1997 pour encourager la libre circulation des espèces sauvages dans la vallée de Bow, on comptait déjà rétablir le bison sauvage dans la région. Les peuples des Premières Nations et les écologistes font campagne pour le retour du bison depuis lors.

Nation indienne des Pieds-Noirs, Montana (États-Unis)
Des bisonneaux des plaines galopent dans une installation de rassemblement des bisons des plaines au parc national Elk Island.

Des bisonneaux des plaines galopent dans une installation de rassemblement des bisons des plaines au parc national Elk Island.

© Parcs Canada / Scott Mair

Le bison, ou « iinii » dans la langue des Pieds-Noirs, est d’une importance vitale pour les peuples des Premières Nations des plaines comme les Pieds-Noirs du Montana. Il existe un vaste mouvement autochtone, l’initiative Iinii, qui vise le rétablissement du bison. La Nation des Pieds-Noirs est signataire du Buffalo Treaty, dont l’objectif est de réintégrer l’animal dans son territoire traditionnel à des fins culturelles et pour sa conservation. Le parc national Elk Island a envoyé plus de 80 bisonneaux aux Pieds-Noirs du Montana au printemps 2016 dans le cadre de l’initiative Iinii. Ces animaux sont des descendants des bisons qui ont parcouru ces plaines il y a 100 ans.

Réserve American Prairie, Montana (États-Unis)
Une grande harde de bisons des plaines erre librement dans la réserve American Prairie, au Montana (États-Unis)

Une grande harde de bisons des plaines erre librement dans la réserve American Prairie, au Montana (États-Unis)

© American Prairie Reserve / Dennis Lingohr

La réserve American Prairie, au Montana, est une initiative privée visant à protéger l’un des écosystèmes naturels les plus menacés en Amérique du Nord : les prairies d’herbes hautes et d’herbes courtes indigènes. La réserve combine les réserves naturelles existantes et des terres privées pour former la plus grande réserve naturelle du continent américain dans l’objectif ultime de protéger plus de trois millions d’acres.

Le parc national Elk Island a contribué à cet ambitieux projet en expédiant plus de 200 bisonneaux des plaines en trois groupes. La réserve réintroduit des espèces indigènes comme le bison des plaines et l’antilocapre dans la région. On espère ainsi rétablir la migration naturelle de ces espèces.

Parc-nature Lenskie Stolby, République de Sakha (Russie)
Une remorque spécialisée transportant des bisonneaux des bois est chargée à bord d’un avion-cargo russe

Une remorque spécialisée transportant des bisonneaux des bois est chargée à bord d’un avion-cargo russe.

© Parcs Canada

En 2006, 2011 et 2013, trois groupes de 30 bisons des bois ont été transférés au parc-nature Lenskie Stolby, dans la République de Sakha (Russie). Ce transfert a été couronné de succès : les bisons se sont reproduits et la harde a grossi. L’objectif du parc-nature est de rétablir un écosystème semblable à celui qui existait dans la région avant l’extinction du bison des steppes, il y a des milliers d’années. Les écologistes espèrent que la réintroduction du plus proche parent vivant du bison des steppes, le bison des bois, accroîtra la biodiversité de la région.

L’expédition de bisons des bois en Russie favorise également la conservation de cet animal. L’établissement d’une population génétiquement viable en Russie augmente les chances de survie des espèces au cas où des populations nord-américaines seraient frappées par une maladie généralisée ou une autre catastrophe.