Originally established in 1906 to protect what was considered at the time to be one of Canada’s few remaining herds of elk, Elk Island National Park represents a portion of the Southern Boreal Plains and Plateaux Natural Region.

Wildlife on the landscape also defines Elk Island National Park in many ways. As a park that actively manages plains and wood bison, elk and moose, it is the only national park in Canada that is completely fenced. In addition, more than 42 species of mammals, 250 species of birds, five species of amphibians, one reptile species and two species of fish live in Elk Island National Park’s diverse landscape of forests, lakes, wetlands and grasslands.

Parks Canada is dedicated to maintaining the ecological integrity of Elk Island National Park and sharing this significant example of Canada’s natural heritage with all Canadians.

Environment

Come discover this natural environment for yourself – you’ll see why it was so critical to protect it and why this territory warranted being designated a national park.

Discover unique features

About the park environment
Animals

More than 42 species of mammals, 250 species of birds, five species of amphibians, one reptile species and two species of fish live in Elk Island National Park’s diverse landscape of forests, lakes, wetlands and grasslands.

Conservation

Human activities conducted on the territory prior to the creation of the park have had a deep impact on the status of its ecosystems.

Conservation projects

About conservation and restoration

À l’origine établi en 1906 pour protéger ce qui était à l’époque considéré comme l’une des dernières hardes de wapitis, le parc national Elk Island représente une partie de la région naturelle des Plaines et plateaux boréaux du Sud.

La faune qui évolue dans le paysage définit également le parc national Elk Island de bien des façons. Le parc, qui gère activement le bison des plaines, le bison des bois, le wapiti et l’orignal, est le seul parc national entièrement clôturé au Canada. En outre, plus de 42 espèces de mammifères, 250 espèces d’oiseaux, cinq espèces d’amphibiens, une espèce de reptile et deux espèces de poissons vivent dans les divers paysages de forêts, de lacs, de milieux humides et de prairies du parc.

Parcs Canada se consacre au maintien de l’intégrité écologique du parc national Elk Island et partage cet exemple important du patrimoine naturel du Canada avec tous les Canadiens.

Environnement

Découvrez cette nature si importante à protéger et qui justifie la désignation du territoire à titre de parc national.

Découvrir les éléments uniques

En savoir plus sur le parc
 
La faune

Plus de 42 espèces de mammifères, 250 espèces d’oiseaux, cinq espèces d’amphibiens, une espèce de reptile et deux espèces de poissons vivent dans les divers paysages de forêts, de lacs, de milieux humides et de prairies du parc.

Conservation

Les activités humaines ayant eu cours sur le territoire avant la création du parc ont eu un impact profond sur ses écosystèmes.

Projets

En savoir plus sur la conservation et la restauration