To use Elk Island National Park a permit is often needed.

All visitors and permit holders must follow Elk Island’s visitor guidelines.

Business licences

Any person or corporation doing business in Elk Island National Park must obtain a business licence.

Business means any trade, industry, employment, occupation, activity or special event carried on in a park for profit, gain, fund raising or commercial promotion, and includes an undertaking carried on in a park by a charitable organization, or by an organization or individual on a non-profit basis.

Common examples include, but are not necessarily limited to: guides, tourism operators, courses, recreation programs, photography and videography businesses, food trucks, and transportation providers.

For more information email pc.permiselkisland-elkislandpermits.pc@canada.ca

Special events

A special event is any planned temporary gathering of more than 25 people. Common examples include, but are not limited to: family events, religious gatherings, church events, races, sports events, meetings, parades, concerts, theatrical or musical performances, fairs, shows, or instructional courses. A special event requires a special event permit if it is carried out in the park. If planning a wedding, please consult the weddings section of the website.

Special event applications are reviewed by Parks Canada staff to ensure compliance with applicable legislation, to determine the terms and conditions of a potential permit, to ensure that the special event is compatible with the protected heritage place’s purpose and nature, and the special event doesn’t interfere with other events or activities. To apply for an event, please email pc.permiselkisland-elkislandpermits.pc@canada.ca

Some points to note:

  • Complete applications must be confirmed received by Parks Canada no less than three months prior to the event.
  • Elk Island National Park does not have indoor space for special events.

A business licence is also required for all businesses, companies, guides and/or vendors who are operating in Elk Island National Park. For questions or further details please contact the special events team.

Further information about the regulations governing events in national parks: National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations - Licences

Commercial film and photography

To film or photograph in the national parks, an application must be submitted to Parks Canada ten days prior to activities. If approved, a Film/Photography Permit will be issued which outlines conditions and supplementary requirements associated with the production. This information will assist in the preparation of a film/photography application.

To apply for an event, please email pc.permiselkisland-elkislandpermits.pc@canada.ca

Pour faire usage d’une partie du parc national Elk Island un permis est souvent nécessaire.

Tous les visiteurs et détenteurs de permis doivent suivre les directives à l’intention des visiteurs.

Permis d’exploitation de commerce

Les particuliers ou entreprises qui mènent des activités commerciales dans le parc national Elk Island doivent obligatoirement se procurer un permis d’exploitation de commerce.

Le terme « commerce » désigne tout métier, industrie, emploi, profession, activité ou événement spécial exercé, exploité ou mené, dans un parc, à des fins lucratives ou pour une collecte de fonds ou une promotion commerciale, notamment une entreprise exploitée par une œuvre de bienfaisance ou une entreprise sans but lucratif exploitée par une organisation ou une personne.

Voici quelques exemples d’activités commerciales courantes : visites guidées, entreprises touristiques, formations, programmes de loisirs, entreprises de photo ou de vidéo, camions-restaurants et services de transport.

Pour en savoir plus, écrivez à pc.permiselkisland-elkislandpermits.pc@canada.ca

Événements spéciaux

Un événement spécial est un rassemblement temporaire prévu de plus de 25 personnes. Mentionnons entre autres exemples des événements familiaux, des rassemblements ou événements religieux, des courses, des manifestations sportives, des réunions, des défilés, des concerts, des représentations théâtrales ou musicales, des foires, des spectacles ou des cours de formation. Un événement spécial nécessite un permis d’événement spécial s’il se déroule dans le parc. Si vous planifiez un mariage, veuillez consulter la section Mariages du site Web.

Le personnel de Parcs Canada examine les demandes d’événement spécial pour vérifier leur conformité avec les lois applicables, établir les conditions d’un permis éventuel, et déterminer si l’événement spécial est compatible avec la vocation et la nature du lieu patrimonial protégé et s’il ne nuit pas aux autres événements ou activités. Pour demander un permis d’événement, veuillez envoyer un courriel à pc.permiselkisland-elkislandpermits.pc@canada.ca

Remarques :

  • La réception de la demande complète doit être confirmée par Parcs Canada au moins trois mois avant l’événement.
  • Le parc national Elk Island ne dispose pas de locaux intérieurs pour la tenue d’événements spéciaux.

Par ailleurs, chaque entreprise, compagnie, guide et/ou vendeur qui exerce ses activités dans le parc national Elk Island doit détenir un permis d’exploitation commerciale. Si vous avez des questions ou désirez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe des événements spéciaux.

Autres renseignements sur les règles régissant les événements dans les parcs nationaux : Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada - permis

Projets de tournage et de photographie

Pour avoir le droit de tourner ou de faire de la photo dans les parcs nationaux, il faut présenter une demande par écrit à Parcs Canada dix jours avant le début des activités. Si la demande est approuvée, Parcs Canada délivrera un permis de tournage/photographie assorti des conditions et des exigences supplémentaires à respecter dans le cadre de la production. Ces renseignements visent à faciliter la préparation d’une demande de tournage/photographie.

Pour demander un permis, veuillez envoyer un courriel à pc.permiselkisland-elkislandpermits.pc@canada.ca