Elk Island is home to several historic buildings and plaques that tell the story of the park’s long history within the National Parks System.

In Canada, any federal government building more than 40 years of age is evaluated by the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office (FHBRO) to assess the historic nature of the structure and the appropriate level of protection. In Elk Island National Park, the Superintendent's residence, the Pavilion overlooking the beach area, the horse barn, and the Ukrainian Pioneer Home have FHBRO protection. These buildings are maintained and managed in accordance with FHBRO direction.

Superintentent's residence

The Superintendent’s residence

The superintendent's residence at Elk Island National Park was built in 1907. It served as the residence of the park superintendent and the park administrative offices until 1937. It is now used only as the superintendent's residence. Environment Canada is custodian of the building.

The residence was designated Recognized because it is the oldest surviving building in the park and it is the oldest superintendent's residence in continuous use in the national park system.

Unlike other early national park buildings, the Elk Island superintendent's residence was not designed in the rustic style. This could have been a reflection of the wildlife conservation and protection orientation of this park.

The pavilion

The Pavilion

Built in the 1930's as a make-work project during the Great Depression, the Pavilion is the oldest picnic shelter with a chimney in the national parks system.

Over 80 years old, this open air structure is classified as a Federal Heritage building.

During the summer of 2010, the Pavilion's pillars and chimney were restored as part of our ongoing maintenance of the building, under Federal Heritage Building Review Office (FHBRO) regulations. Exterior painting of the shelter will occur in 2011.

barn

The Barn

The historic barn was constructed as make-work projects during the Depression of the 1930s. The horses that were kept in the barn were unique within the parks system because they were used not as pack animals but to herd bison and elk.

The Ukrainian Pioneer Home

The Ukrainian Pioneer Home

The reconstructed Ukrainian Pioneer Home (built in 1951) was the first purpose-built structure country-wide to commemorate the presence of Ukrainians in Canada.

It was designated as a "Classified" federal heritage building because of its commemorative history, its stature as the oldest purpose-built Ukrainian museum in Canada, and its association with important individuals and events related to the commemoration of Ukrainian immigration to Canada. Two Prime Ministers, Louis St. Laurent and Lester Pearson, have participated in events at this site.

All historic buildings undergo regular maintenance to protect their historic qualities. The Ukrainian Pioneer Home requires special efforts. Recent maintenance includes the re-thatching of the roof during the summer of 2014.

A portion of the collection of tools, clothing and textiles, and other artifacts related to the Ukrainian settlement in the Elk Island Park area - formerly displayed in the Home - has been lent to the Basilian Fathers Museum in Mundare, Alberta, for public viewing.

Elk Island compte plusieurs bâtiments historiques et des plaques racontent la riche histoire du parc au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux.

Les vestiges et les bâtiments sont les rappels les plus évidents de la riche histoire d'Elk Island. Au Canada, un immeuble appartenant au gouvernement fédéral qui a plus de 40 ans est évalué par le Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (BEEFP) en vue d'estimer la nature historique de la structure ainsi que le niveau de protection adéquat. Dans le parc national Elk Island, la résidence du directeur, le pavillon qui surplombe la plage, l'écurie et la maison du pionnier ukrainien sont protégés par le BEEFP. Ces bâtiments sont entretenus et gérés conformément aux politiques du BEEFP.

La résidence du directeur

La résidence du directeur

La résidence du directeur du parc national Elk Island a été construite en 1907. Jusqu’en 1937, en plus de servir de résidence au directeur, elle accueillait les locaux administratifs du parc. Le bâtiment est sous la responsabilité d’Environnement Canada.

La résidence a été désignée comme édifice patrimonial reconnu parce qu’il s’agit du plus vieux bâtiment du parc encore debout. Il s’agit aussi de la plus ancienne résidence de directeur de parc utilisée sans interruption dans tout le réseau des parcs nationaux.

Contrairement à d’autres édifices construits aux premiers temps des parcs nationaux, la résidence du directeur d’Elk Island n’est pas d’architecture rustique. Ce choix reflétait peut-être la vocation de conservation et de protection de la faune du parc.

Le pavillon

Le pavillon

Construit dans les années 1930 dans le cadre d’un projet de création d’emplois pendant la Grande Crise, le Pavillon est le plus vieil abri de pique-nique doté d’une cheminée de tout le réseau de parcs nationaux.

Ce bâtiment de plus de 80 ans possède le statut d’édifice fédéral du patrimoine.

Au cours de l’été 2010, les piliers et la cheminée du Pavillon ont été remis en état dans le cadre des travaux d’entretien permanents du bâtiment, conformément aux règlements du Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (BEEFP). L’extérieur a été repeint en 2011.

L'Écurie

L'Écurie

L’ancienne écurie a été construite dans le cadre d’un projet de création d’emploi pendant la Grande Dépression, dans les années 30. Les chevaux qui y étaient abrités étaient uniques au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux, car ils étaient utilisés pour guider les troupeaux de bisons et de wapitis plutôt que comme animaux de trait.

La maison du pionnier ukrainien

La maison du pionnier ukrainien

La reconstitution de la maison du pionnier ukrainien (construite en 1951) est la première structure au pays qui a été construite expressément pour souligner la présence des Ukrainiens au Canada.

La maison du pionnier ukrainien a été désignée édifice historique fédéral. Elle a été classée comme tel en raison de son histoire commémorative, parce qu'elle est le plus ancien musée ukrainien construit sur demande au Canada et aussi à cause de son lien qui existe avec des personnes et des événements qui commémorent l'immigration des Ukrainiens au Canada. Deux premiers ministres canadiens, Louis St. Laurent et Lester B. Pearson, ont participé à des activités sur ce site.

Tous les édifices historiques sont régulièrement entretenus afin de protéger leur caractère historique. La maison du pionnier ukrainien exige des efforts particuliers. L'entretien récent, durant l'été 2014, comprend la pose de chaume sur le toit.

Une partie de la collection d'outils, de vêtements, de textiles et d'autres artefacts de la colonie ukrainienne de la région du parc national Elk Island, qui étaient conservés dans la maison, a été prêtée au Basilian Fathers Museum de Mundare (Alberta).