Winter is a fabulous time to enjoy the wilderness of Elk Island National Park. Wildlife viewing is at its best and the serenity of the winter landscape offers peace of mind and a quick getaway from city madness.

Snowshoe and ski the day away! Head out on a trail and experience the rolling snow covered landscape of the Beaver Hills. Feeling more adventurous? Spend the afternoon tobogganing, throwing snowballs and searching for animal tracks. End each day with a warm fire in one of the cook shelters.

Follow the links below for more information on winter activities:

Tours and programs
Snowshoeing 
Skating
Cross-Country skiing
Geocaching
Winter camping
Scenic driving
Watching wildlife
Picnicking 
Bird watching
Wildlife photography

Winter Safety:

Safety is a shared responsibility. Parks Canada works to ensure visitors have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and ensuring that safety information is freely available. Visitors are encouraged to seek out the information needed to stay safe and to make well informed decisions when enjoying these special places. Fully prepare for each activity to have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Thin ice may exist anywhere on water bodies, at any time, in the winter season. Assess ice thickness and never go onto ice alone. Water vapour above the ice, or creaking and cracking noises, indicate weak ice. The Canadian Red Cross recommends an ice thickness of at least 15 cm for walking and skating safely; the thicker the ice, the better.

Winter safety
Weather and road conditions

L’hiver est la saison idéale pour découvrir la nature sauvage du parc national Elk Island. C’est à cette époque de l’année que les possibilités d’observation de la faune sont les meilleures, et la sérénité du paysage hivernal procure aux amants de la nature un moyen rapide d’échapper à la frénésie de la ville.

 Faites de la raquette et du ski toute la journée! Parcourez un sentier et découvrez le paysage enneigé des collines Beaver. Vous avez plutôt le goût de l'aventure? Passez le reste de l'après-midi à faire du toboggan, à lancer des boules de neige ou à chercher des pistes d'animaux. Pour terminer la journée, installez-vous près d'un bon feu dans un des abris-cuisines.

Suivez les liens ci-dessous pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur les activités hivernales :

Visites guidées et activités
Raquette
Patinage
Ski de fond
Géocachette
Camping d’hiver
Routes panoramiques
Observation de la faune
Observation d’oiseaux
Photographie de la faune
Pique-nique

Sécurité en hiver :

La sécurité, c’est l’affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous nous employons à offrir aux visiteurs un séjour sécuritaire; pour ce faire, nous évaluons les risques, gérons les dangers et mettons à la disposition des visiteurs des renseignements sur la sécurité. Nous encourageons les visiteurs à chercher l’information dont ils ont besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées lorsqu’ils explorent nos lieux exceptionnels. Une bonne préparation, en fonction de l’activité pratiquée, est le gage d’une visite sécuritaire, agréable et mémorable.

Il peut y avoir de la glace mince n’importe où sur tout plan d’eau, à tout moment, pendant l’hiver. Évaluez les conditions de la glace avant de vous y aventurer, et n’allez jamais seul sur la glace. De la vapeur d’eau au-dessus de la glace ou des bruits de craquement sont des signes d’une glace mince. Selon la Croix-Rouge canadienne, la glace devrait avoir une épaisseur d’au moins 15 cm pour y marcher ou y patiner en toute sécurité; plus elle est épaisse, mieux c’est.

Sécurité en hiver
Conditions météorologiques et routières