Volunteering is a great way to give back to national parks. Parks Canada looks for individuals to create lasting memories and create amazing experiences for visitors, alongside Parks Canada employees.

Check out some of these potential opportunities:

Photography

Elk Island National Park is always on the lookout for the best nature, landscape and visitor shots. While volunteering, photographers are encouraged to develop their photography portfolios, and may be provided with opportunities to document a variety of park subjects, including people, nature and wildlife. Volunteer photographs may be used to support publications, as well as exhibits and display materials.

Citizen science

Record a bird sighting. Observe insects. Track invasive species. Throughout the year, volunteers generate meaningful, useful data that improves ecological understanding of the park. Join other curious, committed people whose small acts of conservation and discovery are making a big difference. Create all kinds of connections!

Record your own nature observations—big and small!
Close-up of smart phone with an image of a humpback whale onscreen

Use the iNaturalist.ca mobile app to capture your observations of plants or animals—anytime, anywhere. It’s nature at your fingertips! Work with experts, other park visitors or on your own. Every observation contributes to our knowledge of biodiversity.

Partners in Elk Island National Park volunteering

Elk Island National Park works closely with a number of important partners. If interested in volunteering, these organizations may offer other opportunities within the park.

Friends of Elk Island Society

The Friends of Elk Island National Park undertake numerous projects, programs and special events that help support Elk Island National Park. Help out the Friends on a coming project and take volunteering to new heights. Email info@elkisland.ca for more information.

Additional Notes about Volunteering in Elk Island National Park
  • Volunteers are responsible for all of their own costs when travelling to and from Elk Island National Park
  • No accommodation is provided while volunteering at Elk Island National Park
  • International volunteers are responsible for ensuring they meet the proper requirements for their entry and stay in Canada. For more information, please consult the Citizenship and Immigration Canada website.

Questions? Ideas? Contact us!

Sign up to be on the volunteer contact list or indicate area of interest for a specific volunteer role at pc.benevoleselkisland-elkislandvolunteers.pc@canada.ca.

Le bénévolat est une belle façon de faire sa part pour les parcs nationaux. Parcs Canada est à la recherche de personnes qui, aux côtés des employés de l’Agence, souhaitent créer des moments inoubliables et des expériences incroyables pour les visiteurs.

Jetez un coup d’œil sur ces occasions de bénévolat :

Photographie

Le parc national Elk Island est toujours à la recherche des meilleurs clichés mettant en vedette la nature, nos paysages et nos visiteurs. Lorsqu’ils font du bénévolat, les photographes ont l’occasion de développer leur portfolio en explorant divers sujets dans les parcs, qu’il s’agisse de personnes, de la nature ou de la faune. Les photographes bénévoles sont parfois appelés à contribuer à des publications, à des expositions et à du matériel de présentation.

Science citoyenne

Consignez l’observation d’un oiseau, examinez des insectes ou suivez les avancées d’une espèce envahissante. Tout au long de l’année, les bénévoles recueillent des données pertinentes et utiles qui enrichissent nos connaissances sur l’écologie du parc. Joignez-vous à des gens curieux et engagés qui, de par leurs petits gestes de conservation et de découverte, peuvent changer le cours des choses. Vous pourrez créer toutes sortes de liens!

Notez vos observations de la nature, petites et grandes
Gros plan de l’écran d’un téléphone intelligent qui affiche une baleine à bosse

Utilisez l’application mobile iNaturalist.ca pour enregistrer vos observations de plantes ou d’animaux, où vous le voulez, quand vous le voulez! La nature sur le bout des doigts. Saisissez des données avec des experts, d’autres visiteurs du parc ou par vous-même. Chaque observation notée permet d’accroître nos connaissances en matière de biodiversité.

Bénévolat avec nos partenaires dans le parc national Elk Island

Le parc Elk Island collabore étroitement avec de nombreux partenaires importants. Si le bénévolat vous intéresse, informez-vous auprès des organisations présentées ci-dessous; elles pourraient avoir des occasions de bénévolat dans le parc.

Friends of Elk Island Society

The L’association Friends of Elk Island Society (anglais seulement) organise de nombreux projets, programmes et événements spéciaux qui soutiennent les activités du parc national Elk Island. Prêtez main-forte à l’association dans le cadre de son prochain projet et atteignez de nouveaux sommets en faisant du bénévolat. Envoyez un courriel à info@elkisland.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Autres remarques sur le bénévolat au parc national Elk Island
  • Les bénévoles doivent assumer toutes leurs dépenses lors de leurs déplacements à destination et en provenance du parc national Elk Island.
  • Aucun logement n’est fourni aux bénévoles du parc national Elk Island.
  • Il incombe aux bénévoles étrangers de s’assurer qu’ils répondent aux exigences d’entrée et de séjour au Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Avez-vous des questions ou des idées? Communiquez avec nous!

Demandez à ce que votre nom soit inscrit sur la liste des bénévoles ou indiquez un domaine dans lequel vous souhaitez faire du bénévolat en écrivant à pc.benevoleselkisland-elkislandvolunteers.pc@canada.ca.