Founded in 1890 as Laggan Station, Lake Louise was once a wild outpost at the end of the Canadian Pacific Railway. Today this hamlet, lake and the nearby area offer some of the finest hiking, skiing and site-seeing in the world. Lake Louise and Moraine Lake usually melt by late May. Alpine hiking season begins in late June.

Location: 55 km west of Banff, Alberta, on the Trans-Canada Highway / #1 (map

Parking is limited at Lake Louise and Moraine Lake and fills quickly during daylight hours, so planning ahead is key. Park your car and ride Roam Transit or Parks Canada shuttles from the Town of Banff to Lake Louise and Moraine Lake. Make the most of your visit to Banff National Park by using shuttles and transit. 

Information on shuttles and transit 

Live webcam | Banff Now

When to visit

When to visit

Lake Louise is one of Canada’s most popular destinations. Planning ahead is essential!

When are Lake Louise and Moraine Lake open?
When do the teahouses open at Lake Louise?
When are Lake Louise and Moraine Lake busiest?
How can I get to Lake Louise when the parking lot is full?
How can I get to Moraine Lake when the parking lot is full?

When are Lake Louise and Moraine Lake open?

The village of Lake Louise and the Lake Louise lakeshore are open year-round. 

The 13 km road to Moraine Lake opens the Tuesday after Victoria Day in mid-May and closes the Tuesday after Canadian Thanksgiving in mid-October. During the winter, the road is trackset for skiing and the lake itself is inaccessible due to avalanche hazard. 

When do the teahouses open at Lake Louise?

The charming Lake Agnes and Plain of Six Glaciers tea houses are the most popular summer hiking destinations in the Lake Louise area. These privately operated teahouses open mid-May and close after Canadian Thanksgiving in mid-October. 

The hikes to the teahouses are not safe from November through mid-May due to avalanche hazard. Do not hike to Lake Agnes or to the Plain of Six Glacier during the winter or spring. In May and June, check the trail report before departing. 

When are Lake Louise and Moraine Lake busiest?

From May through September, Lake Louise and Moraine Lake are extremely busy. Throughout the summer season, parking lots at these locations are usual full by sunrise.. Visitors are encouraged to leave their cars at home and take transit from either Calgary, Banff or Lake Louise. Visit www.pc.gc.ca/banff-transit for information. Expect lineups, plan ahead and have a backup plan. Expect that parking lots will be full from sunrise to sundown. Holidays and weekends are especially busy, including:

  • Victoria Day (May, date varies by year)
  • Canada Day (July 1)
  • Heritage Day (first Monday in August)
  • Labour Day (first Monday in September)
  • Larch season (weekends in September

From November through April, Lake Louise is a winter wonderland! We receive more snow than other parts of Banff National Park and are proud to have one of the longest ski seasons in North America. The busiest weekends during the winter are:

  • Boxing Day through New Year (December 26 to January 1)
  • Ice Magic Festival (January, dates vary by year)\
  • Family Day (second Monday in February)\
  • Easter weekend (dates vary by year)

How can I get to Lake Louise when the parking lot is full?

Lake Louise is one of Canada’s most popular destinations and is open year-round. During the summer and fall, parking at the lakeshore fills before sunrise. Visitors are encouraged to take a transit from either Calgary, Banff or Lake Louise.

Here are our top tips:

  • Take transit! Roam Transit offers daily shuttles between Calgary, Banff townsite and Lake Louise village and lakeshore. For more information on schedules and fares, visit RoamTransit.com
  • Take the early bird shuttle to Moraine Lake. Direct shuttles are available every 30 minutes from 6 a.m. to 7:30 a.m. from the Lake Louise Park and Ride from June 24 – September 29, 2019.
  • Ride the Parks Canada Shuttle to the iconic lakeside viewpoint at Lake Louise from May 17 to October 14, 2019. Shuttles start at the Lake Louise Park and Ride (Overflow parking lot) located 3 km east of the Village of Lake Louise on Highway 1. It is strongly recommended that all RVs and trailers are left at the park and ride or campground.
  • Ride the free, private shuttle from the Lake Louise Summer Gondola to the lakeside viewpoint at the Lake Louise lakeshore. Shuttles are unable to accommodate dogs or bikes.
  • Stretch your legs and hike to Lake Louise via the Tramline Trail or the Louise Creek Trail. Please obey all bear warnings and closures.
  • Planning a day hike at the lake? We recommend taking the early bird shuttle that offers service directly to Moraine Lake.
  • Diverted or delayed? Shop and dine in the village of Lake Louise or ride the Lake Louise Gondola. We recommend that you plan ahead and always have an alternate plan. 

For details and real time updates visit:

How can I get to Moraine Lake when the parking lot is full?

Moraine Lake is one of Canada’s most popular destinations and is open mid-May through mid-October. The parking lot fills before sunrise. During the summer, the road to Moraine Lake opens only when parking is available. There are no designated areas to wait for the road to open. Parks Canada asks that you do not park on the side of the road to wait for a road opening. This creates congestion and can be dangerous for other drivers, pedestrians and emergency vehicles.

RV parking at Moraine Lake is very limited and RVs will only be permitted to travel on the Moraine Lake Road when RV spaces are available. We recommend taking a shuttle for the highest chance of visiting Moraine Lake during the summer.

There are a few options to reach the lake once parking fills:

  • A daily shuttle is available from May 24 to October 14, 2019, from the Lake Louise lakeshore to Moraine Lake. Shuttles leaving Moraine Lake will return to the Lake Louise Park and Ride. Tickets can be purchased at the Lake Louise lakeshore for scheduled departures.
  • Planning a day hike at the lake? From June 24 to September 29, Parks Canada will offer morning shuttles to Moraine Lake for visitors wanting to get an early start to their day. Space is limited so arrive early. Tickets for the Early Bird Shuttle are available at the Lake Louise Park and Ride.
  • Ride a paid, private shuttle. More information is available from the Lake Louise Visitor Centre.
  • Diverted or delayed? Shop and dine in the village of Lake Louise or ride the Lake Louise Gondola.

For details and real time updates visit:

Parks Canada is pleased to be working toward comprehensive public transit in the Lake Louise area.

 Things to do

Things to do

Every destination in the Lake Louise area is beautiful but only some are open year-round. This is when the most popular local destinations are open:

  • Lake Louise (year-round)
  • Village of Lake Louise (year-round)
  • Moraine Lake (mid-May to mid-Oct)
  • Summer Gondola (mid-May to mid-Oct)
  • Lake Louise Ski Area (Nov to May)

Lake Louise and Moraine Lake usually melt by late May. Alpine hiking season begins in late June. Ski season begins in mid-November.

Locals know that Lake Louise and Moraine Lake are only the beginning!

Some of the Canadian Rockies most thrilling destinations are right on the doorstep. In the same amount of time it takes to reach Moraine Lake, locals and frequent visitors can travel to one of the tallest waterfalls in Canada, the turquoise headwaters of the Bow River, or hike to a wild glacial moonscape above Bow Lake.

 Safety

Safety


Female grizzly bear #142 near Lake Louise. © Parks Canada / Alex Taylor

Summer

In Canada, national parks enjoy special protections that may differ from other protected places. Please know “what not to do” in a national park.

Winter

Walking, snowshoeing or tobogganing? You don’t need to venture far to be in avalanche terrain. November through June, not all sign-posted destinations are safe for travel. Choose your winter destination from a list of designated trails.

Visitor centre

Visitor centre

The Lake Louise Visitor Centre offers information from both Parks Canada and Banff Lake Louise Tourism about the mountain national parks, accommodations and activities. It is located in the heart of the village of Lake Louise. Parking for vehicles and RVs is available in the village parking lot. A small grocery store, outdoor store, cafés, book store, post office and bank machine are also available here.

Lake Louise Visitor Centre
201 Village Rd, next to the Samson Mall
Lake Louise, AB T0L 1E0
GPS: 51.426275, -116.179304

 

Aerial view of the Lake Louise village and lake.

 

Map

Map of Lake Louise area

Fondé en 1890 sous le nom de Laggan Station, le hameau de Lake Louise était autrefois un poste isolé au bout de la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique. Aujourd’hui, le hameau, le lac et les secteurs environnants offrent des possibilités de randonnée, de ski et de tourisme qui figurent parmi les meilleures de la planète. La glace qui recouvre le lac Louise et le lac Moraine en hiver fond généralement à la fin de mai. La saison de randonnée en milieu alpin débute à la fin de juin.

Situation géographique : Le long de la Transcanadienne (route 1), à 55 km à l’ouest de Banff, en Alberta  (carte)

Les possibilités de stationnement sont limitées au lac Louise et au lac Moraine, et les places se remplissent vite pendant le jour. Il importe donc d’être prévoyant. Garez votre voiture et empruntez les autobus Roam ou les navettes de Parcs Canada pour faire le trajet entre Banff et les lacs Louise et Moraine. Profitez au maximum de votre séjour dans le parc national Banff en vous prévalant des services de navette et d’autobus.

Information

Webcaméra en direct | Banff Actuel 

Pour une visite idéale

Pour une visite idéale

Le lac Louise est l’une des destinations les plus courues du Canada. Il est essentiel de bien planifier vos déplacements!

Quand est-il possible de visiter le lac Louise et le lac Moraine?
Quand les salons de thé ouvrent-ils leurs portes au lac Louise?
Quand l’affluence atteint-elle son niveau maximal au lac Louise et au lac Moraine?
Comment puis-je me rendre au lac Louise quand le terrain de stationnement est complet?
Comment puis-je me rendre au lac Moraine quand le terrain de stationnement est complet?

Quand est-il possible de visiter le lac Louise et le lac Moraine?

Le hameau de Lake Louise et le bord du lac Louise sont accessibles à l’année. 

La route de 13 km qui mène au lac Moraine est ouverte à la circulation à compter du mardi qui suit la fête de la Reine, à la mi-mai, et elle est de nouveau fermée à compter du mardi qui suit l’Action de grâce canadienne, à la mi-octobre. Pendant les mois d’hiver, des pistes sont tracées sur la route pour le ski de fond. Le lac est alors inaccessible en raison des risques d’avalanche. 

Quand les salons de thé ouvrent-ils leurs portes au lac Louise?

En été, les charmants salons de thé du Lac-Agnes et de la Plaine-des-Six-Glaciers sont les destinations de randonnée les plus courues aux environs du lac Louise. Ces salons de thé exploités par le secteur privé ouvrent leurs portes à la mi-mai et cessent leurs activités après l’Action de grâce canadienne, à la mi-octobre. 

Les sentiers menant aux salons de thé ne sont pas sécuritaires de novembre à la mi mai en raison des risques d’avalanche. N’entreprenez jamais de randonnée jusqu’au lac Agnes ou jusqu’à la plaine des Six Glaciers en hiver ou au printemps. En mai et en juin, consultez le rapport sur l’état des sentiers avant de partir. 

  • Randonnée dans le secteur du lac Louise
  • Sentiers de randonnée d’hiver dans le secteur du lac Louise
  • Rapport sur l’état des sentiers du parc national Banff

Quand l’affluence atteint-elle son niveau maximal au lac Louise et au lac Moraine?

De mai à septembre, le lac Louise et le lac Moraine accueillent un très grand nombre de visiteurs. Tout au long de l’été, les stationnements y sont habituellement complets dès le lever du soleil. Les visiteurs sont encouragés à laisser leur véhicule chez eux et à prendre le transport en commun à partir de Calgary, Banff ou Lake Louise. Consultez www.pc.gc.ca/banff-transit pour obtenir des renseignements. Attendez-vous à des files, soyez prévoyants et ayez un plan de rechange. Sachez que les stationnements seront complets du lever du soleil au coucher du soleil. L’affluence atteint son point culminant pendant les fins de semaine entourant les jours fériés suivants :

  • Fête de la Reine (mai; la date varie d’une année à l’autre)
  • Fête du Canada (1er juillet)
  • Fête du Patrimoine (premier lundi d’août)
  • Fête du Travail (premier lundi de septembre)
  • Saison des mélèzes dorés (fins de semaine de septembre)

De novembre à avril, Lake Louise est une destination féerique! Il y tombe plus de neige qu’ailleurs dans le parc national Banff, et le secteur peut s’enorgueillir d’avoir l’une des plus longues saisons de ski de toute l’Amérique du Nord. En hiver, l’affluence atteint son point maximal pendant les fins de semaine suivantes :

  • Du lendemain de Noël au jour de l’An (du 26 décembre au 1er janvier)
  • Carnaval Ice Magic  (en anglais seulement) (janvier, les dates varient d’une année à l’autre)
  • Jour de la famille (deuxième lundi de février)
  • Fin de semaine de Pâques (les dates varient d’une année à l’autre)
     

Comment puis-je me rendre au lac Louise quand le terrain de stationnement est complet?

Le lac Louise est l’une des destinations les plus courues du Canada et il est accessible toute l’année. L’été et l’automne, le stationnement près du lac se remplit avant le lever du soleil. Les visiteurs sont encouragés à prendre le transport en commun à partir de Calgary, Banff ou Lake Louise. Voici quelques conseils :

Here are our top tips:

  • Prenez le transport en commun! Roam Transit offre un service de navette quotidien entre Calgary, le lotissement urbain de Banff, le hameau de Lake Louise et le lac Louise. Pour vous renseigner sur les horaires et les tarifs, consultez RoamTransit.com (en anglais seulement).
  • Prenez la navette matinale qui se rend directement au lac Moraine. Il y a des départs toutes les 30 minutes de 6 h à 7 h 30 à partir du parcobus de Lake Louise du 24 juin au 29 septembre 2019.
  • Empruntez la navette de Parcs Canada jusqu’au point de vue emblématique du lac Louise du 17 mai au 14 octobre 2019. La navette part du parcobus de Lake Louise (stationnement auxiliaire) situé à 3 km à l’est du hameau de Lake Louise sur la route 1. Il est fortement recommandé de laisser votre véhicule récréatif ou roulotte au parcobus ou au terrain de camping. 
  • Prenez la navette privée gratuite qui fait l’aller-retour l’été entre le téléphérique Lake Louise et le point de vue sur le lac Louise. Les chiens et les vélos ne sont pas admis dans les navettes.
  • Pour vous dégourdir, rendez-vous au lac Louise à pied par le sentier Tramline ou le sentier du Ruisseau-Louise. Respectez les avis de présence d’ours et les ordonnances de fermeture.
  • Vous prévoyez une randonnée d’une journée au lac? Nous vous recommandons de prendre la navette matinale qui offre un service direct jusqu’au lac Moraine.
  • La circulation est déviée ou roule au ralenti? Faites des emplettes et prenez un repas à Lake Louise ou prenez le téléphérique de la station de ski Lake Louise. Nous vous recommandons de planifier vos déplacements et de toujours avoir un plan de rechange.  

Pour obtenir des détails et des mises à jour en temps réel, consultez les sites suivants :

Comment puis-je me rendre au lac Moraine quand le terrain de stationnement est complet?

Le lac Moraine est l’une des destinations les plus courues du Canada et il est accessible de la mi-mai à la mi-octobre. Le stationnement se remplit avant le lever du soleil. En été, la route n’est ouverte que lorsqu’il y a des places de stationnement libres. Il n’y a pas d’aire d’attente désignée où vous pouvez vous garer jusqu’à ce que la route soit rouverte. Parcs Canada vous demande de ne pas stationner sur le bord de la route en attendant la réouverture. Les véhicules ainsi garés engendrent de la congestion et pourraient créer des situations dangereuses pour les autres conducteurs, les piétons et les véhicules de secours.

Le stationnement pour véhicules récréatifs est très limité au lac Moraine, et ils ne seront autorisés à circuler sur la route du Lac Moraine que lorsque des places sont disponibles. Nous vous recommandons de prendre une navette pour avoir la meilleure chance de visiter le lac Moraine en été.

Vous disposez de quelques options pour vous rendre au lac lorsque le terrain de stationnement est complet :

  • Du 24 mai au 14 octobre 2019, une navette effectue chaque jour le trajet entre le lac Louise et le lac Moraine. Les navettes qui quittent le lac Moraine retournent au parcobus de Lake Louise. Les billets sont en vente au lac Louise pour chaque départ inscrit à l’horaire.
  • Vous prévoyez une randonnée d’une journée au lac? Du 24 juin au 29 septembre, Parcs Canada offrira un service de navette matinale à destination du lac Moraine aux visiteurs qui veulent commencer leur journée tôt. Le nombre de places est limité. Arrivez tôt. Les billets pour la navette matinale sont en vente au parcobus de Lake Louise.
  • Prenez une navette privée payante. Rendez-vous au Centre d’accueil de Lake Louise pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.
  • La circulation est déviée ou roule au ralenti? Faites des emplettes et prenez un repas à Lake Louise ou prenez le téléphérique de la station de ski Lake Louise.

Pour obtenir des détails et des mises à jour en temps réel, consultez les sites suivants :

Parcs Canada travaille fort en vue d’offrir un service de transport en commun complet dans le secteur de Lake Louise.

Activités

Activités

 

Dans le secteur de Lake Louise, toutes les destinations sont magnifiques. Cependant, seules quelques-unes sont accessibles à l’année. Voici les périodes d’accessibilité des destinations locales les plus courues :

  • Lac Louise (à longueur d’année)
  • Hameau de Lake Louise (à longueur d’année)
  • Lac Moraine (de la mi-mai à la mi-octobre)
  • Téléphérique estival (de la mi-mai à la mi-octobre)
  • Station de ski Lake Louise (de novembre à mai)

La glace qui recouvre les lacs Louise et Moraine en hiver fond généralement à la fin de mai. La saison de randonnée débute à la fin de juin. La saison de ski commence à la mi-novembre.

Les résidents savent que les lacs Louise et Moraine ne sont que le début!

Certaines des destinations les plus exaltantes des Rocheuses canadiennes ne se trouvent qu’à un jet de pierre. Dans le délai qu’il faut pour gagner le lac Moraine, les résidents et les habitués peuvent se rendre à l’une des chutes les plus hautes du Canada, aller admirer les eaux d’amont turquoise de la rivière Bow ou randonner jusqu’à un paysage glaciaire d’apparence lunaire en amont du lac Bow.

Sécurité

Sécurité

Femelle de grizzli no 142 près de Lake Louise © Parcs Canada / Alex Taylor

Été

Au Canada, les parcs nationaux bénéficient d’une protection spéciale qui pourrait différer de celle des autres aires protégées. Familiarisez-vous avec ce qui est « à prescrire et à proscrire » dans un parc national.

Hiver

Vous faites de la marche, de la raquette ou de la traîne sauvage? Il n’est pas nécessaire de s’aventurer bien loin pour se retrouver en terrain avalancheux. De novembre à la fin de juin, certaines destinations peuvent être dangereuses, même si elles sont signalisées. Choisissez votre destination hivernale à partir d’une liste de sentiers désignés.

Centre d'accueil

Centre d’accueil

Le Centre d’accueil de Lake Louise fournit des renseignements au nom de Parcs Canada et de Banff Lake Louise Tourism au sujet des parcs nationaux des montagnes, des lieux d’hébergement et des possibilités d’activités. Il est situé au cœur du village de Lake Louise. Le terrain de stationnement du hameau contient des places de stationnement pour les voitures et les VR. Lake Louise renferme également une petite épicerie, une boutique d’accessoires de plein air, des cafés, une librairie, un bureau de poste et un guichet automatique.

Centre d’accueil de Lake Louise
201 Rue Village
Lake Louise, AB T0L 1E0
Coordonnées GPS : 51.426275, -116.179304

 

Vue aérienne du village de Lake Louise et du lac.

Carte

Carte du secteur de Lake Louise