There are so many things to see in Banff National Park that it's sometimes difficult to know where to start. Here are some of the highlights. Keep in mind, the park is especially busy from May through September. Use BanffNow for real-time congestion information and parking availability. Better yet, take transit or a local shuttle and let us do the driving. Plan ahead to make the most of your visit.  

Birthplace of Canada's national parks - The Cave and Basin National Historic Site


© Banff Photography

   

The Cave and Basin National Historic Site celebrates Parks Canada’s protected natural and cultural treasures with all new year-round programming and interactive exhibits. The highlight for many will be a visit to the fully accessible underground Cave, a special place where bubbling thermal waters connect people to the essence of Banff National Park.

Cave and Basin National Historic Site 

Get here with local transit 

Soak in the Banff Upper Hot Springs
 

  Toilet

Relax among the jagged peaks in an outdoor pool with hot, mineral-rich water. This fully accessible site is open daily, year-round, complete with café, gift shop, and picnic tables.

Upper Hot Springs Pool

Get here with local transit 

Summit Tunnel Mountain

© Paul Zizka Photography

 

The switchback trail to this low summit provides sweeping views across the town and Bow Valley, with Mount Rundle rising dramatically to the south. The trailhead is a 15 minute walk (1 km) from downtown Banff.

Tunnel Mountain Trail

Get here by public transit

Meander along Vermilion Lakes Drive

© Banff & Lake Louise Tourism / Noel Hendrickson

  Toilet

Vermilion Lakes

This 4.3 km paved road is ideal for biking and can also be explored by car or foot. Relax on the docks and benches, learn about the area, and snap a stunning picture of Mount Rundle.

Bike the Banff Legacy Trail

© Paul Zizka Photography

 

Paved paths and roadways span 29 km from Travel Alberta’s visitor centre in Canmore to the Bow Valley Parkway. Cyclists, strollers and runners enjoy expansive views, picnic areas, the town of Banff, and Vermilion Lakes along the way. Trail is not maintained in winter.

Banff Legacy Trail

Explore Lake Minnewanka Loop


© Banff & Lake Louise Tourism / Paul Zizka Photography

      Toilet   

Visit a glacial lake, remnants of a coal mining town and a scenic canyon. In the summer, enjoy picnicking, hiking and being on or by the water. In the winter, half the loop is closed to vehicles, making it a great destination for cross-country skiing, winter walking or snowshoeing.

History of Lake Minnewanka

Get here with local transit

Discover Johnston Canyon


© Ray Schmidt

  Toilet

Follow wide trails and narrow bridges with railings through the canyon to the majestic Lower Falls. Take Roam public transit to this iconic location in summer. In other seasons, be sure to bring ice cleats.

Visit Lake Louise - The Lake


© Banff & Lake Louise Tourism / Paul Zizka Photography

    Toilet 

Getting around Lake Louise 

This spectacular alpine setting is a hub for iconic photos, hikes, canoeing, horseback riding, climbing, and awe-inspiring scenery. During the summer, Roam public transit is highly recommended.

Drive the Icefields Parkway

Parker Ridge. Photo: Dani Lefrançois

  Bead & Breakfast / Cottage

The Icefields Parkway connects Lake Louise and Jasper, parallelling the Continental Divide through some of the most wild and remote parts of Banff and Jasper national parks. Explore two highlights below or learn more about the area. Icefields Parkway
Experience Great Canadian Camping

Camping in the national park is as rewarding as its majestic landscapes. Sites range from rustic, treed settings to full service with mountain views. Book in advance  and choose from a traditional RV or tent site, try a cabin-like oTENTik, or a convenient Equipped Campsite.

Camping information

Season-long public transit service to most campgrounds

 

 

BESbswy
 
 
Map Data
Map data ©2017 Google
Map DataMap data ©2017 Google
Map data ©2017 Google
 
 
Map
Satellite

Il y a tellement à voir dans le parc national Banff qu’il est parfois difficile de savoir par où commencer. Voici quelques-unes des principales attractions. N’oubliez pas : l’affluence atteint son point maximal de mai à septembre. Consultez le site BanffActuel pour obtenir de l’information en temps réel sur la congestion et les places de stationnement disponibles. Encore mieux, prenez les transports en commun ou une navette locale et accordez-nous le privilège de vous conduire. Soyez prévoyant pour pouvoir profiter au maximum de votre séjour.

Visitez le lieu historique national Cave and Basin

   

La nature, la culture et l’histoire vous attendent à quelques minutes de l’avenue Banff. Découvrez une architecture impressionnante, des eaux minérales bouillonnantes et une caverne souterraine à l’origine du berceau des parcs nationaux du Canada. Le lieu historique est ouvert toute l’année.

Lieu historique nationale Cave and Basin

Pour vous y rendre, empruntez les transports en commun

Prélassez-vous dans les sources thermales Upper Hot Springs de Banff
 

  Toilet

Détendez-vous au milieu de pics déchiquetés dans une piscine extérieure alimentée par des eaux chaudes et riches en minéraux. Entièrement accessibles, les sources sont ouvertes tous les jours pendant toute l’année; vous y trouverez un café, une boutique de cadeaux, et des tables de pique-nique.

Sources thermales Upper Hot Springs

Pour vous y rendre, empruntez les transports en commun 

Gravissez le sommet du mont Tunnel

© Paul Zizka Photography

 

Ce sentier à lacets vous mène à un sommet bas d’où vous aurez des vues superbes sur la ville, la vallée de la Bow et le mont Rundle, qui se dresse majestueusement au sud. Le point de départ se trouve à 15 minutes de marche (1 km) du centre-ville de Banff.

Sentier du Sommet-du-Mont-Tunnel

Pour vous y rendre, empruntez les transports en commun  

Baladez-vous sur la promenade des Lacs-Vermilion

© Banff & Lake Louise Tourism / Noel Hendrickson

  Toilet

Cette route asphaltée de 4,3 km est idéale pour la bicyclette; on peut aussi l’explorer à pied ou en voiture. Détendez-vous sur les quais et les bancs, renseignez-vous sur l’endroit et prenez une photo du magnifique mont Rundle.

Lacs Vermilion

Faites le sentier de l’Héritage en vélo

© Paul Zizka Photography

 

Des routes et des sentiers asphaltés qui s’enchaînent sur 29 km depuis le centre d’information touristique de Travel Alberta à Canmore jusqu’à la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow. En route, cyclistes, promeneurs et coureurs peuvent pique-niquer et explorer la ville de Banff et les lacs Vermilion tout en se délectant de vues panoramiques. Le sentier n’est pas entretenu en hiver.

Sentier de l’Héritage du parc national Banff 

Explorez la boucle du Lac-Minnewanka


© Banff & Lake Louise Tourism / Paul Zizka Photography

      Toilet   

Visitez un lac glaciaire, les ruines d’une ville houillère et un joli canyon. En été, faites des pique-niques, des randonnées, et passez du temps sur l’eau ou au bord de l’eau. En hiver, la moitié de la boucle est fermée aux véhicules, ce qui en fait une excellente destination pour le ski de fond, la marche ou la raquette.

Histoire du lac Minnewanka

Pour vous y rendre, empruntez les transports en commun

Discover Johnston Canyon


© Ray Schmidt

  Toilet

Empruntez des sentiers larges et des passerelles étroites pourvues de mains courantes pour traverser le canyon jusqu’aux majestueuses chutes inférieures. En été, prenez les transports en commun Roam pour vous rendre à cette attraction emblématique. Pendant les autres saisons, n’oubliez pas vos crampons à glace.

Sentier du Canyon-Johnston

Pour vous y rendre, empruntez les transports en commun

 
Visitez le lac Louise


© Banff & Lake Louise Tourism / Paul Zizka Photography

    Toilet 

Ce cadre alpin spectaculaire est la destination par excellence pour toute une panoplie d’activités : photo, randonnée, canotage, équitation, escalade et contemplation des paysages. En été, on vous recommande vivement de prendre les transports en commun.

À propos du lac Louise

Pour vous y rendre, empruntez les transports en commun

Parcourez la promenade des Glaciers

Chaînon Parker. Photo : Dani Lefrançois 

  Bead & Breakfast / Cottage

Cette route de renommée mondiale serpente sur 230 km entre des glaciers anciens, des pics rocheux spectaculaires, des lacs émeraude et des vallées immenses. Il peut y avoir de la neige sur la route en toute saison.
 
Vivez la grande aventure de camping canadienne

Tout comme les paysages majestueux, les terrains de camping offrent des expériences gratifiantes dans le parc. Les possibilités sont variées, depuis des aires rustiques dans des coins boisés jusqu’à des emplacements avec services complets donnant sur les montagnes. Réservez à l’avance à reservation.pc.gc.ca et choisissez un emplacement traditionnel pour tente ou pour VR, faites l’essai d’une oTENTik ou optez pour la commodité d’un emplacement équipé.

Renseignements sur le camping

Service de transport en commun pendant toute la saison à la plupart des terrains de camping

 
 
 
 
Données cartographiques
Données cartographiques ©2017 Google
 
 
Données cartographiquesDonnées cartographiques ©2017 Google
Données cartographiques ©2017 Google
 
 
Plan
Satellite