Westslope cutthroat trout are a species at risk. They now occupy less than 10% of their historic range in Alberta and are listed as Threatened under the federal Species at Risk Act. Without our help, wild stocks may completely disappear. 

Hidden Lake Westslope Cutthroat Trout Restoration Project

For decades, Hidden Lake and upper Corral Creek were home to westslope cutthroat trout. In the mid-1960s, brook trout – a fish native to eastern Canada – mysteriously appeared and quickly squeezed out the westslope cutthroat trout in the lake and upper streams. Now, the invading brook trout are spreading downstream.

Parks Canada is creating a long-term headwater refuge for westslope cutthroat trout in Hidden Lake and upper Corral Creek, made secure by a naturally-occurring waterfall barrier downstream. Brook trout will be removed from this refuge. Wild westslope cutthroat trout will then be translocated back into the lake and streams they once occupied in this valley.

The Hidden Lake westslope cutthroat trout restoration project began in 2011.



Update – August 2018

 

Despite six years of concentrated effort to remove brook trout by netting, electrofishing and angling, brook trout continue to populate Hidden Lake. The majority of the adult fish are gone. However, there has been an increase in the population of smaller fish which are more difficult to catch.

After consulting with fisheries experts from across Canada and the U.S.A., Parks Canada will begin using a compound called rotenone to remove the remaining brook trout. Rotenone occurs naturally in a number of tropical and subtropical plants. It has been used for centuries by Indigenous peoples in South America to capture fish for food. 

The heavily-researched compound is widely used by fisheries managers throughout North America. It will remove the brook trout efficiently and effectively with minimum impact to other wildlife. Treatment will be completed over a few days later this summer or early fall.

 

Update – December 2013

 

Work continued at Hidden Lake from July 2 - October 23, 2013. 5569 fish have now been removed from the lake and most adult fish are now gone. Over the last three years a total of 276 lbs or 125 kg of brook trout have been donated to a local veterinary hospital or the Alberta Birds of Prey Centre. 

This summer we placed extra effort on removing the smaller fish that were spawned during the first two years of the project. We did this by using custom small mesh gill nets and backpack electrofishing.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Trout Unlimited Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Province of Alberta and the University of Calgary continue to support this project either financially, through in kind support or research. During the fall of 2013 the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise obtained a substantial conservation grant to support this project. We will use this money during the summer of 2014 to fund an aquatic student to help work on this project and provide public presentations about fish conservation in Banff!

Sierra Sullivan (Parks Canada) and Teresa Holmes (Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise) dissect a brook trout Shelley Humphries accepts a cheque from the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Left: Sierra Sullivan (Parks Canada) teaches Teresa Holmes (Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise) how to dissect a brook trout to determine sex and remove the ear bones (otoliths) that are used to age fish. Right: Shelley Humphries (Parks Canada) accepts a cheque from the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

Update - October 2011
-

In October 2011, Parks Canada donated almost 40 kg of brook trout from the Hidden Lake Restoration Project to the Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation near Lethbridge. The fish averaged 100 grams each - too small for human consumption. They were loaded into soft coolers in the field, hauled to, aquatics specialist, Shelley Humphries' office in Yoho National Park, then frozen in single layers on trays in preparation for delivery.

The Birds of Prey Foundation was chosen to receive the fish because their mandate is similar to Parks Canada's, with a focus on conservation and public education. They accept injured birds of prey for recovery and rehabilitation. Many of them are released back to the wild, but some birds can never be released. Spirit is one such bird. Visit the Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation to learn more. 

(Left) Aquatics specialist Shelley Humphries meets Spirit, one of the rescued birds of prey that will benefit from non-native brook trout removed from Banff National Park and donated to the Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation.

 

Map

La truite fardée versant de l’ouest est une espèce en péril. Elle occupe aujourd’hui moins de 10 % de son aire de répartition historique en Alberta et est considérée comme menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril fédérale. Sans notre aide, les stocks sauvages de cette espèce pourraient disparaître complètement. 

Projet de rétablissement de la truite fardée versant de l’ouest au lac Hidden

Pendant des décennies, le lac Hidden et le cours supérieur du ruisseau Corral ont servi d’habitat à la truite fardée versant de l’ouest. Au milieu des années 1960, l’omble de fontaine, poisson indigène de l’Est du Canada, est apparu sans que l’on sache trop comment et a rapidement surclassé la truite fardée dans le lac et les cours d’eau d’amont. L’espèce envahissante se propage maintenant vers l’aval.

Parcs Canada s’affaire à aménager un refuge permanent pour la truite fardée dans les eaux d’amont (lac Hidden et cours supérieur du ruisseau Corral). La sûreté de ce refuge sera assurée par une chute d’eau qui servira de barrière naturelle en aval. L’omble de fontaine sera retiré de ce refuge, puis des spécimens sauvages de truite fardée versant de l’ouest seront transplantés dans le lac et les cours d’eau autrefois occupés par l’espèce dans cette vallée.

Le projet de rétablissement de la truite fardée versant de l’ouest au lac Hidden a commencé en 2011.



Mise à jour – Août 2018

 

Malgré six années de grands efforts déployés pour retirer l’omble de fontaine au filet, à la pêche à l’électricité et à la pêche à la ligne, l’espèce peuple toujours le lac Hidden. La majorité des poissons adultes ont été retirés. La population de petits poissons, difficiles à prendre, a cependant augmenté.

Après avoir consulté des experts des pêches du Canada et des États-Unis, Parcs Canada a décidé d’utiliser un composé appelé roténone pour éliminer les ombles de fontaine restants. On trouve naturellement de la roténone dans un certain nombre de plantes tropicales et subtropicales. Cette substance a été utilisée pendant des siècles par les peuples autochtones de l’Amérique du Sud pour prendre les poissons dont ils se nourrissaient.

Ce composé a fait l’objet de nombreuses recherches et est fréquemment utilisé par des gestionnaires des pêches de toute l’Amérique du Nord. Il permettra d’éliminer efficacement l’omble de fontaine et aura peu d’incidences sur les autres espèces sauvages. Le traitement ne prendra que quelques jours et se fera plus tard cet été ou au début de l’automne.

Mise à jour – Décembre 2013

 

Les travaux se sont poursuivis du 2 juillet au 23 octobre 2013 au lac Hidden. Jusqu’à présent, 5 569 poissons ont été retirés du lac, et la plupart des poissons adultes ont disparu. Dans les trois dernières années, Parcs Canada a fait don de 125 kg d’omble de fontaine à un hôpital vétérinaire local ou à l’Alberta Birds of Prey Centre.

Cet été, nous nous sommes attachés surtout à enlever les petits poissons nés au cours des deux premières années du projet. Pour ce faire, nous avons eu recours à des filets à petit maillage taillés sur mesure et à du matériel portable pour la pêche électrique.

Le Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, Truite atout du Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, le gouvernement de l’Alberta et l’Université de Calgary continuent d’appuyer ce projet, soit par une aide financière, soit par un soutien en nature, soit par des recherches. Au cours de l’automne 2013, le Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise a obtenu une importante subvention de conservation qui lui a permis de participer au financement du projet. Nous nous servirons de ces fonds pendant l’été 2014 pour embaucher un étudiant qui participera aux travaux et présentera des exposés publics sur la conservation du poisson dans le parc national Banff.

Sierra Sullivan (Parks Canada) and Teresa Holmes (Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise) dissect a brook trout Shelley Humphries accepts a cheque from the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Gauche : Sierra Sullivan (Parcs Canada) montre à Teresa Holmes (Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise) comment s’y prendre pour disséquer un omble de fontaine afin d’en déterminer le sexe et d’en retirer l’otolite (os de l’oreille), qui sert à déterminer l’âge du poisson. Droite : Shelley Humpries (Parcs Canada) reçoit un chèque de Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

Mise à jour - Octobre 2011 
-

En octobre 2011, Parcs Canada a fait don de près de 40 kg d’omble de fontaine à l’Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation, près de Lethbridge, dans le cadre du projet de remise en état du lac Hidden. Les poissons pesaient en moyenne 100 g – ils étaient trop petits pour la consommation humaine. Ils ont été chargés dans des glacières sur le terrain et remis à Shelley Humphries, spécialiste des milieux aquatiques, dans le parc national Yoho, avant d’être gelés en couches uniques sur des plateaux, en prévision de leur transport.

Parcs Canada a choisi la Birds of Prey Foundation comme bénéficiaire parce que le mandat de cet organisme est semblable au sien, c’est-à-dire qu’il est axé sur la conservation et la sensibilisation du public. La fondation soigne les rapaces blessés à des fins de rétablissement et de réhabilitation. Bon nombre des oiseaux qui lui sont confiés sont relâchés dans la nature, mais certains ne pourront jamais y retourner. Spirit est l’un de ces rapaces. Visitez le site Web de l’Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation pour en savoir davantage. (en anglais seulement)

(Gauche) Shelley Humphries, spécialiste des milieux aquatiques, fait connaissance avec Spirit, l’un des rapaces pris en charge par l’Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation. L’oiseau profitera des ombles de fontaine non indigènes qui ont été retirés du parc national Banff et remis à titre gracieux à la fondation.

 

Carte