In Canada, protected natural areas are established to protect natural heritage for all Canadians to experience, discover, learn about, and appreciate both now and in the future. Despite this goal, protected areas rarely contain complete, unaltered ecosystems, particularly in densely populated southern regions.

The ecological integrity of protected areas, and thus their ability to conserve biodiversity and natural capital, faces a number of challenges including invasive species, habitat fragmentation, downstream effects of air and water pollution, and global climate change, all of which contribute to degradation of protected area ecosystems.

Ecological restoration provides a way of slowing, halting or reversing ecosystem degradation. Through re-establishing healthy, natural ecosystems, restoration also provides opportunities for Canadians to develop a positive and long-lasting sense of personal connection with nature.

Au Canada, des aires naturelles protégées sont créées afin de préserver le patrimoine naturel pour que tous les Canadiens puissent en profiter, le découvrir et apprendre à le connaître et à l’apprécier, maintenant et dans l’avenir. Malgré ce but, les aires protégées contiennent rarement des écosystèmes complets et intacts, surtout dans les régions densément peuplées du sud du pays.

L’intégrité écologique des aires protégées et, par conséquent, leur capacité à conserver la biodiversité et le capital naturel font face à diverses menaces, entre autres les espèces envahissantes, la fragmentation des habitats, les effets en aval de la pollution de l’air et de l’eau et les changements climatiques mondiaux, qui contribuent tous à la dégradation des écosystèmes des aires protégées.

La restauration écologique est un moyen de ralentir, de stopper et de renverser la dégradation des écosystèmes. Par le rétablissement d’écosystèmes naturels sains, la restauration donne aux Canadiens des occasions d’acquérir un sentiment positif et durable de lien personnel avec la nature.