What’s this all about?

Parks Canada is committed to protecting natural and cultural resources while providing high-quality and meaningful experiences to visitors. The Bow Valley Parkway, a 48km scenic road connecting Banff to Lake Louise in Banff National Park currently offers a number of experiences such as road cycling, camping, hiking, and scenic driving.

Throughout the pandemic in 2020 and 2021, vehicle access on the eastern half of the Bow Valley Parkway was restricted. This interim measure was taken to help support physical distancing requirements at Johnston Canyon, while allowing space for outdoor recreation. The change resulted in an enhanced cycling opportunity on a scenic, well-maintained roadway with minimal vehicle traffic.

Based on public feedback during the 2020-2021 restrictions, Parks Canada is now seeking public review and input on options for a potential annual seasonal restriction on the eastern portion of the Bow Valley Parkway (see figure 1) to continue the current enhanced cycling offer. Details on how to submit feedback can be found at the end of this page.

Figure 1


Bow Valley Parkway Closure (1 MB)

How will the restriction work and who/what does it apply to?

Restricting vehicle traffic on the eastern 17 km section of the Bow Valley Parkway can be implemented with ease via existing electronic gates in place near the Fireside Day Use Area and at Hillsdale.

Vehicle access in the area would be limited to Parks Canada and essential Utility and Railway Operators. Public transit, commercial tours, and all other private or commercial vehicle traffic would not be granted access to the restricted area during the identified times.

The remaining 31 kilometres of the parkway will remain open to vehicles – ensuring that all businesses, campgrounds and the scenic Johnson Canyon trail will be accessible via Castle Junction (6km) to other visitors.

What options are under consideration?
Option 1: Spring and Fall (7 days a week) May to June and September to October, 7 days a week.
Total of 122 days
Option 2: Spring and Fall (Weekends) May to June and September to October, weekends.
Total of 36 days

The public review period is open until September 9, 2021. Feedback can be submitted by

    email: opinion@canada.ca

    or regular mail: to Banff Superintendent Box 900 Banff AB T1L 1K2.


Following the review period, Parks Canada will report back publicly on what was heard and any decisions. The implementation of any proposed change will become effective in 2022.

Frequently asked questions

De quoi s’agit-il?

Parcs Canada est résolu à protéger les ressources naturelles et culturelles tout en offrant des expériences significatives et de grande qualité aux visiteurs. La promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow, une route panoramique de 48 km qui relie Banff à Lake Louise, dans le parc national Banff, propose actuellement plusieurs expériences aux visiteurs, telles que le cyclisme sur route, le camping, la randonnée et les balades panoramiques en voiture.

Tout au long de la pandémie, en 2020 et en 2021, l’accès en véhicule à la moitié est de la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow a été restreint. Parcs Canada a pris cette mesure provisoire pour se conformer aux exigences de distanciation physique au canyon Johnston, tout en permettant aux visiteurs de pratiquer des loisirs de plein air. Ce changement a donné lieu à une possibilité de cyclisme bonifiée sur une route panoramique bien entretenue où la circulation automobile était réduite à un minimum.

À la lumière des commentaires reçus du public pendant les restrictions, en 2020-2021, Parcs Canada invite maintenant le public à examiner et à commenter des options entourant une restriction d’accès saisonnière annuelle sur le tronçon est de la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow (voir la figure 1) pour continuer d’offrir l’expérience de cyclisme bonifiée. Des détails sur les moyens de soumettre des commentaires se trouvent à la fin du présent document.

Figure 1


Carte de la fermeture de la promenade Bow Valley (1 Mo)

Quelles seront les modalités de la restriction et à qui s’appliquera-t-elle?

Parcs Canada peut facilement restreindre la circulation automobile sur le tronçon est de 17 km de la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow grâce aux barrières électroniques déjà en place près de l’aire de fréquentation diurne Fireside et à Hillsdale.

L’accès en véhicule à ce secteur serait limité au personnel de Parcs Canada, au personnel du chemin de fer et aux exploitants d’installations de services publics essentiels. Les autobus, les navettes, les autocars commerciaux et les autres véhicules particuliers ou commerciaux se verraient interdire l’accès au tronçon est de la promenade durant les périodes établies.

Le tronçon restant de 31 km de la promenade restera ouvert aux véhicules – de manière à ce que les commerces, les campings et le magnifique sentier du Canyon-Johnston demeurent accessibles – par l’échangeur Castle Junction (6 km).

Quelles options envisagez-vous?
Option 1: Printemps et automne, sept jours sur sept De mai à juin et de septembre à octobre, sept jours sur sept.
122 jours au total
Option 2: Printemps et automne, fins de semaine De mai à juin et de septembre à octobre, fins de semaine.
36 jours au total

La période d’examen public se termine le 9 septembre 2021. Les commentaires peuvent être transmis

    par courriel à l’adresse : opinion@canada.ca

    ou par la poste à l’adresse suivante : Directeur du parc national Banff, C.P. 900, Banff (Alberta) T1L 1K2.


Après la période d’examen, Parcs Canada rendra compte publiquement de ce qu’il a entendu et fera connaître sa décision. S’ils sont mis en œuvre, les changements proposés entreront en vigueur en 2022.

Foire aux questions