Introduction

The 17th annual Banff National Park Planning Forum (Forum) was held on November 19 and 20, 2014 in the Story Hall (Cave and Basin) and Harkin Hall (Administration Building). The focus for the Forum was based on the National Conservation Plan’s broad themes of conserve, restore and connect. The two-day event consisted of three parts: a) a community open house; b) a Round Table member meeting and; c) an evening Year-in-Review with open question-and-answer period.

This document is a summary of the 2014 proceedings.

A. Community Open House

The Planning Forum (Forum) began with an evening Community Open House at the Cave and Basin National Historic Site. The goal of the four-hour session was to provide stakeholders, members of the public and media with a behind-the-scenes look at recent achievements in Banff National Park as they related to Park Management Plan (PMP) objectives and the Government of Canada’s National Conservation Plan (NCP). A total of ninety-six people attended, with many spending up to 1.5 hours on site as they engaged in discussions with subject matter experts and managers.

Under the NCP’s themes of conserve, restore and connect, subject-matter experts and managers engaged attendees in informal discussions with a spotlight on:

  • protecting park resources while connecting Canadians to Canada's natural and cultural heritage (the Cave and Basin National Historic Site);
  • international leaders in conservation (aquatic and grizzly bear management);
  • connecting Canadians through meaningful visitor experiences (camping offer, winter offers and wildlife crossing exhibit);
  • restoration and connection (asset renewal);
  • building support for Canada's natural and cultural treasures (volunteer program); and
  • protecting park resources while connecting Canadians to meaningful visitor experience (Bow Valley Action Plan).

B. Year-in-Review and Question & Answer Session

The Forum continued with the public Year-in-Review and question-and-answer session in Harkin Hall. A total of 45 people attended the two-hour session, of which the majority were Banff residents who had attended in previous years. Media on-site included the Calgary Herald, the Bow Valley Crag and Canyon and Banff Centre Radio.

Mountain Park Executive Director Pat Thomsen began the evening with a speech that outlined Parks Canada from the national perspective. Banff Field Unit Superintendent Dave McDonough then presented highlights of Banff National Park’s accomplishments (Year-in-Review document) under the continued themes of conserve, restore, connect, for fiscal year 2013-14, and the first nine months of 2014. The evening ended with an open question-and answer period with Superintendent McDonough. In contrast to previous years, few questions were posed by audience members. However, a number of those who did ask questions expressed the importance of the Year-in-Review to them and commended Parks Canada for their efforts over the past year.

Introduction

Le 17e forum de planification annuel du parc national Banff a eu lieu les 19 et 20 novembre 2014 à la Salle des récits (lieu historique Cave and Basin) et à la salle Harkin (Centre administratif). Les discussions ont surtout porté sur les grands thèmes du Plan de conservation national – conserver, restaurer et se rapprocher de la nature. Cette rencontre de deux jours comportait trois volets : a) une activité portes ouvertes communautaire; b) une table ronde des membres; c) un examen rétrospectif de l’année assorti d’une période de questions ouvertes.

Le présent document résume les discussions du forum.

A. Activité portes ouvertes communautaire

Le forum de planification a débuté par une soirée portes ouvertes communautaire au lieu historique national Cave and Basin. Cette séance de quatre heures visait à fournir aux intervenants, aux membres du public et aux médias un aperçu en coulisse des récentes réalisations du parc national Banff par rapport aux objectifs du plan directeur et au Plan de conservation national du gouvernement du Canada. Au total, 90 personnes y ont assisté, et bon nombre y sont resté pendant une heure et demie pour discuter avec les experts et les gestionnaires présents.

En reprenant les thèmes du Plan de conservation national – conserver, restaurer et se rapprocher de la nature –, les experts et les gestionnaires ont tenu avec les participants des discussions informelles sur les sujets suivants :

  • Moyens de protéger les ressources du parc tout en rapprochant la population du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada (lieu historique national Cave and Basin);
  • Chefs de file mondiaux de la conservation (gestion des milieux aquatiques et des grizzlis);
  • Création d’expériences significatives pour amener les visiteurs à se rapprocher de la nature (offre de camping, offre hivernale et exposition sur les passages pour animaux);
  • Remise en état et établissement de liens (renouvellement des biens);
  • Moyens de rallier le soutien du public pour les trésors naturels et culturels du Canada (programme de bénévolat);
  • Moyens de protéger les ressources du parc tout en créant des expériences significatives (plan d’action pour la vallée de la Bow).

B. Examen rétrospectif de l’année et période de questions

Le dernier volet du forum, qui s’est déroulé à la salle Harkin, consistait en un examen rétrospectif de l’année suivi d’une période de questions. En tout, 45 personnes ont assisté à cette séance de deux heures. Les participants étaient majoritairement des résidents de Banff qui avaient assisté aux examens rétrospectifs des années antérieures. Plusieurs représentants des médias étaient sur place, dont le Calgary Herald, le Bow Valley Crag and Canyon et la radio du Banff Centre.

Pat Thomsen, directeur exécutif des parcs des montagnes, a ouvert la séance en parlant de Parcs Canada dans une perspective nationale. Dave McDonough, directeur de l’Unité de gestion Banff, a ensuite présenté les grandes lignes des réalisations du parc national Banff (document sur l’examen rétrospectif) pour l’exercice 2013-2014 et les neuf premiers mois de 2014, toujours en articulant ses propos autour des thèmes Conserver, restaurer et se rapprocher de la nature. La soirée s’est terminée par une période de questions ouvertes avec M. McDonough. Contrairement aux années précédentes, les membres de l’auditoire n’ont posé que quelques questions. Cependant, plusieurs de ceux qui ont posé des questions ont souligné l’importance que revêtait pour eux l’examen rétrospectif et ont félicité Parcs Canada des travaux effectués dans la dernière année.