Banff National Park’s Memorial Bench Program gives individuals, businesses or organizations the opportunity to adopt a bench in memory of a loved one. The gift of a bench is a lasting tribute that benefits the park as a whole by enhancing the visitor experience.  Memorial benches are currently located in the Cascades of Time Gardens, Sundance Canyon Trail and Vermilion Lakes Road.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the minimum donation and how long is the term?

Donations for memorial benches start at $4000 CAD, however prices vary by location. This includes the cost of the bench, a customized plaque, and the installation and maintenance of the bench for 10 years in its original location, or within close proximity. Benches are available to enjoy during the summer months, generally from May to September. 

What happens after the 10-year term?

After 10 years, the donor will be given the option to reinvest in the program for another 10 year period or to receive the plaque and allow the bench to be offered to other donors. Each donor is responsible to update their contact information such as phone number, email address and mailing address during this time.

Is my donation tax deductible?

Donations are tax deductible and income tax receipts will be issued. Payment of donations must be completed to the Receiver General of Canada in advance of ordering/installing the item. Once your application has been finalised, it should take approximately 30 days to receive a tax receipt in the mail. More than one person can donate towards the donation item. Tax receipts will be issued and mailed to each person contributing to this financial donation. 

Do I own the memorial bench?

Donations will not constitute ownership of the item, the land upon which it is situated, or surrounding lands. Parks Canada retains the right to use lands adjacent to the items or relocate the item if required for national park management purposes. The disposition of the bench is at the sole discretion of the park.

What kind of message can be put on the plaque?

A customized brass plaque will be engraved with the donor’s desired message. The maximum number of words permitted is 40, on 4 lines maximum. Please be advised that the more words you have, the smaller the font will be to accommodate your personalized message. For consistency and quality, Parks Canada will look after the plaque production and installation. We do not accept custom supplied plaques. Since Parks Canada proudly serves Canadians and visitors in our two official languages, your personalized message may be engraved in English or French.

An example of a memorial bench plaque

Can I choose a bench location?

Benches are available on a first come, first serve basis. Based on availability, you may select a preferred location. For the most up to date list of available benches at the Cascades of Time Gardens, Vermilion Lakes Road or Sundance Canyon Trail, please see the memorial bench map

Can I choose to move my bench during the 10-year term?

Once a location has been chosen by a donor, this will be their permanent location for the 10-year commitment. From time to time a bench may be moved within close proximity to accommodate construction and/or maintenance. Should we need to displace your bench to a temporary location, you will be notified by a Parks Canada representative.

How do I participate in this program?

If you wish to participate in the Banff National Park memorial bench donation program outlined here, please submit a completed application form (PDF) along with payment to Parks Canada. You can email your completed application form to: pc.experiencebanff.pc@canada.ca or alternatively mail it at the address listed below. Please remit your payment to the Receiver General of Canada at: 

Banff National Park
Attention: Visitor Experience Memorial Bench Donation Program
101 Mountain Avenue
P.O. Box 900
Banff, Alberta
T1L 1K2

 

Contact Us

If you have further questions or require additional information regarding this program, please contact us at pc.experiencebanff.pc@canada.ca

Le Programme de bancs commémoratifs du parc national Banff offre aux particuliers, aux entreprises et aux organismes la possibilité d’adopter un banc à la mémoire d’un être cher. Le don d’un banc est un hommage durable qui profite à l’ensemble du parc, car il enrichit l’expérience du visiteur. Les bancs commémoratifs sont actuellement situés dans le jardin Cascades du temps, sur le sentier du Canyon-Sundance et le long de la route des Lacs-Vermilion. 

Foire aux questions

Quel est le montant minimum du don et quelle est la durée de l’accord?

Les dons pour les bancs commémoratifs sont d’un minimum de 4 000 $ CAN; les prix varient selon les emplacements. Ce montant couvre le coût du banc et d’une plaque personnalisée ainsi que leur installation et leur entretien pendant une période de 10 ans à leur emplacement d’origine ou à proximité. Les visiteurs peuvent profiter des bancs durant les mois d’été, généralement de mai à septembre. 

Que se passe-t-il après la période de 10 ans? 

Après 10 ans, le donateur se voit offrir la possibilité de réinvestir dans le programme pour une autre période de 10 ans ou de récupérer sa plaque afin de permettre à d’autres donateurs de faire un don pour le banc. Pendant cette période, il incombe à chaque donateur de tenir à jour ses coordonnées, notamment son numéro de téléphone, son adresse électronique et son adresse postale. 

Mon don est-il déductible du revenu imposable

Les dons sont déductibles, et un reçu vous sera délivré pour les besoins de l’impôt. Les dons doivent être versés au receveur général du Canada avant la commande ou l’installation de l’objet. Une fois votre demande traitée, vous devriez obtenir un reçu par la poste dans un délai approximatif de 30 jours. Plusieurs personnes peuvent contribuer à un même don. Un reçu pour les besoins de l’impôt sera envoyé par la poste à chaque personne ayant contribué au don. 

Suis-je propriétaire du banc commémoratif? 

Les dons n’ont pas pour effet de conférer un titre de propriété sur l’objet, la parcelle de terrain où il se trouve ou les terres environnantes. Parcs Canada conserve le droit d’utiliser les terres adjacentes ou de déplacer le banc pour répondre à des besoins de gestion. Le choix de l’emplacement du banc reste à l’entière discrétion du parc. 

Quel type de message peut-on inscrire sur la plaque?

Le message du donateur sera gravé sur une plaque en laiton personnalisée. Jusqu’à 40 mots, sur un maximum de quatre lignes, sont autorisés. La taille des caractères sera fonction du nombre de mots dans votre message. Pour des raisons d’uniformité et de qualité, Parcs Canada se chargera de la production et de l’installation des plaques. Aucune plaque personnalisée fournie par le donateur ne peut être acceptée. Parcs Canada est fier de servir la population canadienne et les visiteurs dans les deux langues officielles; votre message peut donc être gravé en français ou en anglais. 

Puis-je choisir l’emplacement du banc?

Les bancs sont attribués selon l’ordre d’arrivée des demandes. Vous pouvez indiquer votre préférence en fonction de la disponibilité. Pour obtenir une liste à jour des bancs disponibles dans le jardin Cascades du temps, le long de la route des Lacs-Vermilion et sur le sentier du Canyon-Sundance, veuillez consulter la carte des bancs commémoratifs

Puis-je choisir de déplacer mon banc pendant la période d’engagement de 10 ans? 

L’emplacement choisi par le donateur sera permanent pour les 10 années de l’entente. Il peut arriver qu’un banc soit déplacé à proximité de son emplacement original pour permettre la tenue de travaux de construction ou d’entretien. Un représentant de Parcs Canada communiquera avec vous si nous devons déplacer votre banc à un emplacement temporaire. 

Comment faire pour participer au programme?

Si vous souhaitez participer au Programme de bancs commémoratif du parc national Banff, veuillez remplir un formulaire de demande (PDF 370KB) et le soumettre avec votre paiement à Parcs Canada. Vous pouvez envoyer votre formulaire rempli par courriel à l’adresse pc.experiencebanff.pc@canada.ca ou par la poste à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessous. Le paiement doit être fait à l’ordre du receveur général du Canada. 

Parc national Banff 
À l’attention de : Expérience du visiteur – Programme de bancs commémoratifs 
101, avenue Mountain 
C.P. 900
Banff (Alberta)
T1L 1K2

 

Contactez-Nous

N’hésitez pas à nous écrire à l’adresse pc.experiencebanff.pc@canada.ca si vous avez d’autres questions ou si vous avez besoin de renseignements supplémentaires sur ce programme.