Introduction and overview

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Howse Pass National Historic Site.

Howse Pass National Historic Site was designated in 1978 to recognise the importance of this mountain pass as a travel route for the Ktunaxa First Nation who used it to reach bison herds east of the Rockies, and as the route used by David Thompson of the Northwest Company to travel west of the Rockies and establish his first post in the Columbia River basin. The site is a large, 30-km long wilderness landscape that stretches from the confluence of the Howse and North Saskatchewan rivers in Banff National Park, Alberta across the Continental Divide to the confluence of the Blaeberry River and Cairnes Creek in the Province of British Columbia. The designated place is demarcated by the 1640m contour line in Banff National Park, and by a corridor 200m on either side of the Howse Pass Trail in British Columbia. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board plaque is situated at the pass, along with an older wooden sign that commemorates Thompson’s crossing of the pass in 1807. The main interpretive exhibit is located off-site near Saskatchewan Crossing at a location offering evocative views of the Howse River valley. This exhibit describes the historical significance of the pass, and includes information on important links with local Indigenous communities presented in Ktunaxa, Stoney and Piikani languages. There is archaeological evidence of Indigenous campsites near the pass, but the relationship of these camps to the commemorative intent of the national historic site is not well understood. 

The pass is a remote site that retains a strong sense of place. It is accessible via a long, challenging trail that provides self-reliant travellers with an opportunity to experience this historic route in conditions that are little changed from those of the past. Parks Canada has discontinued regular maintenance on the Howse Pass Trail from the Glacier Lake junction to the pass. The trail in British Columbia has not been maintained in recent years, and is not easily accessible due to deterioration of the Blaeberry Forest Service Road. 

Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage Howse Pass National Historic Site as a wilderness landscape without significant infrastructure. The trail will be managed as a wilderness route without regular trail maintenance. Parks Canada may consider opportunities to work with others, including the Province of British Columbia and the Great Divide Trail Association, on basic trail maintenance. The interpretive site near Saskatchewan Crossing will continue to be the focus of communication efforts within the park, where the key messages can reach a greater number of visitors travelling on the Icefield Parkway. The significance of Howse Pass will also be communicated through linkages with related sites, especially Rocky Mountain House and Kootenae House national historic sites, and through digital media.       

Management objectives

Collaboration with others: Collaboration with others, including Indigenous communities, the Province of British Columbia and the Great Divide Trail Association, enhances Parks Canada’s efforts to communicate the story of Howse Pass and provide experiential opportunities.

Resource conservation and visitor experience: The Howse Pass cultural landscape retains its wilderness character and sense of place, and in-situ cultural resources are not impaired. 

Public understanding and appreciation: Key messages that reflect accurately the cultural significance of Howse Pass, as determined through historical research and an understanding of traditional knowledge of Indigenous communities, are communicated to audiences in the park and to others through digital media.   


Historical information about the Howse Pass National Historic site 

For more information, please contact: Banff National Park, Lake Louise, Alberta, T0L 1E0

Introduction et aperçu 

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Il a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces joyaux de notre patrimoine dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures. Le présent énoncé de gestion expose l’approche et les objectifs de gestion qu’il a adoptés pour le lieu historique national du Col-Howse.

Le lieu historique national du Col-Howse a été créé en 1978. Il souligne l’importance de ce col de montagne comme couloir de transport pour les Ktunaxas, qui l’utilisaient pour rejoindre les hardes de bisons à l’est des Rocheuses, et comme passage emprunté par David Thompson, de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, pour se rendre à l’ouest des Rocheuses et fonder son premier poste de traite dans le bassin du fleuve Columbia. Le lieu historique consiste en une large bande de terrain sauvage de 30 km de longueur qui part du confluent des rivières Howse et Saskatchewan Nord, dans le parc national Banff (Alberta), et traverse la ligne continentale de partage des eaux pour rejoindre le confluent de la rivière Blaeberry et du ruisseau Cairnes (Colombie-Britannique). Le lieu désigné est délimité par la courbe de niveau de 1 640 m, dans le parc national Banff, et englobe une bande de 200 m de largeur de part et d’autre du sentier du Col-Howse, en Colombie-Britannique. La plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques se trouve dans le col même, à côté d’un panneau en bois vieillissant qui relate la traversée de ce secteur par Thompson en 1807. La principale exposition d’interprétation a été montée à distance, près de Saskatchewan Crossing, dans un secteur qui offre une vue évocatrice sur la vallée de la Howse. Cette exposition décrit l’importance historique du col et contient de l’information en ktunaxa, en stoney et en piikani sur l’importance de ce lieu pour les collectivités autochtones locales. Des fouilles archéologiques ont révélé la présence de vestiges de campements autochtones près du col, mais les liens entre ces campements et l’objectif de commémoration du lieu historique ne sont pas bien compris. 

Le col se trouve dans un secteur reculé qui dégage un puissant esprit des lieux. Il est accessible par un sentier long et difficile qui permet aux excursionnistes autosuffisants de découvrir cette route historique dans des conditions qui ont peu changé par rapport au passé. Parcs Canada a cessé d’entretenir régulièrement le sentier du Col-Howse entre l’intersection avec le sentier du Lac-Glacier et le col. Le sentier en Colombie-Britannique n’a fait l’objet d’aucun entretien ces dernières années. Il est difficile d’accès en raison de la détérioration du chemin forestier Blaeberry. 

Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer le lieu historique national du Col-Howse en tant que paysage sauvage sans infrastructure majeure. Le sentier sera géré comme parcours sauvage et ne fera l’objet d’aucun entretien régulier. Parcs Canada pourrait envisager des possibilités de collaboration, notamment avec le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et la Great Divide Trail Association, pour assurer un entretien de base du sentier. L’exposition d’interprétation près de Saskatchewan Crossing demeurera le centre névralgique des efforts de communications dans le parc, car les messages clés peuvent être diffusés à un nombre accru de visiteurs circulant sur la promenade des Glaciers. Parcs Canada communiquera également l’importance du col Howse en tirant parti de liens établis avec des lieux historiques véhiculant les mêmes thèmes, en particulier les lieux historiques nationaux Rocky Mountain House et Kootenae House, et en recourant aux médias numériques.   

Objectifs de gestion

Collaboration : Par ses liens de collaboration avec divers intervenants, dont les collectivités autochtones, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et la Great Divide Trail Association, Parcs Canada accroît la portée de ses efforts pour faire connaître l’histoire du col Howse et pour créer des possibilités d’expérience. 

Conservation des ressources et expérience du visiteur : Le paysage culturel du col Howse conserve son caractère sauvage et son esprit des lieux, et les ressources culturelles qui se trouvent sur place ne sont aucunement altérées. 

Compréhension et appréciation du public : Des messages clés qui reflètent bien l’importance culturelle du col Howse, telle qu’elle est attestée par les recherches historiques et le savoir traditionnel des collectivités autochtones, sont communiqués aux visiteurs du parc et à d’autres publics par les médias numériques. 

 

Informations pour le lieu historique national du Col-Howse


Renseignements : Parc national Banff, Lake Louise (Alberta)  T0L 1E0