Table of contents

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2020

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki, 2020

For more information about the management statement or about Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada:


Mailing address:
   Location: Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site - Lake Louise, Yoho, and Kootenay Field Unit
     P.O. Box 213
     Lake Louise, AB T0L 1E0
     Canada

Telephone:

Fax:
   Fax number: 403-762-1551



Approval

Approved by:

Rick Kubian
Field Unit Superintendent
Lake Louise, Yoho and Kootenay
Parks Canada


Introduction and overview

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site.

Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site was designated in 1992. Skoki Lodge was designated because it provides a good representation of the Rustic Design Tradition, and because it is associated with outdoor recreation in the national parks. The site consists of six buildings that are of national historic significance, including the main lodge and five cabins arranged in a semi-circle around it. The main lodge was constructed in 1930 to serve as overnight accommodation for backcountry skiers. Additions to the main lodge were completed in 1932 and 1935. Two cabins were constructed in 1932, and the remaining heritage buildings were completed in 1936. Over time the mountain environment has caused some deterioration of the log buildings, and restoration work to repair the main lodge was undertaken between 2001 and 2005. Restoration work on two of the cabins was completed in 2017. Restoration of the remaining heritage buildings is scheduled for completion by 2020.

Skoki Ski Lodge is situated amid subalpine forest on a bench above Little Pipestone Creek, approximately 14.5 km from the trailhead at Lake Louise, in Banff National Park. The lodge is a well-preserved example of rustic log building design and construction, and it continues to be a popular destination for winter ski touring and summer hiking. The lodge is operated as a commercial backcountry heritage attraction by the Lake Louise Ski Area under the authority of a Licence of Occupation that expired on September 30, 2011. Several one-year notices of extension have been granted until a new Licence of Occupation is negotiated.

The Skoki area is one of four known core reproductive areas for female grizzly bears in Banff National Park. Careful management of lodge operations and human use in the Skoki area and surrounding valleys is important to maintaining grizzly bear habitat security, and to reducing the potential for human wildlife conflict.


Management approach

Parks Canada will prepare a new Licence of Occupation that will provide for the continued management of Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site by the Lake Louise Ski Area for the purpose of commercial backcountry accommodation. Building maintenance and restoration will respect the heritage values of the site, and previous interventions that are inconsistent with cultural resource management principles will be remedied. Forest vegetation surrounding the site will be carefully managed to reduce the risk of wildfire to the heritage buildings using FireSmart guidelines and strategies. Key messages reflecting the cultural importance of the log buildings and history of the site will be provided by the operator and Parks Canada through various media.


Management objectives

Collaboration with others

Parks Canada and the third-party operator work together to address maintenance requirements and implement operational practices that maintain or enhance cultural resources and ecosystems in the Skoki area.

Resource conservation

Heritage restoration work, regular inspection and maintenance, and FireSmart vegetation management actions help to ensure the heritage buildings of Skoki Ski Lodge are protected and maintained in good condition. Potential for human-wildlife conflict is reduced through sound operational practices and visitor education on co-existing with wildlife in wilderness landscapes.

Visitor experience, public appreciation and understanding

Lodge guests and other backcountry users of the Skoki area feel welcome to explore the area surrounding the main lodge, and appreciate the heritage architecture and natural setting of the site. Key messages describing the cultural significance of the site are available to on-site visitors, as well as to others through interpretive signage, the park website and social media.


Links

Tables des matières

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2020.

Issued also in English under the title:
Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement, 2020

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes lieu historique national de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki :


Addresse postale :
   Location: Lieu historique national de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki - Unité de gestion Lake Louise, Yoho et Kootenay
     B.P. 213
     Lake Louise, (Alberta) T0L 1E0
     Canada

Téléphone :

Télécopieur :
   Télécopieur : 403-762-1551



Approval

Approuvé par :

Rick Kubian
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Lake Louise, Yoho et Kootenay
Parcs Canada


Introduction et aperçu

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires historiques et naturelles protégées de la planète. Il a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces trésors patrimoniaux dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures, tant pour leur agrément que pour l’enrichissement de leurs connaissances. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche et les objectifs adoptés par Parcs Canada pour la gestion du lieu historique national de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki.

L’auberge de ski Skoki a été désignée lieu historique national en 1992 pour deux raisons : d’une part, elle représente bien la tradition architecturale rustique et, d’autre part, elle est associée aux loisirs de plein air dans les parcs nationaux. La propriété compte six bâtiments d’importance historique nationale : le pavillon principal et les cinq chalets qui l’entourent en formant un demi-cercle. Le pavillon principal a été construit en 1930 pour l’hébergement des skieurs de randonnée. Deux annexes sont venues s’y ajouter, l’une en 1932 et l’autre en 1935. Les deux premiers chalets ont été bâtis en 1932, et les autres bâtiments patrimoniaux, en 1936. Au fil des ans, l’environnement de montagne a causé une certaine détérioration des bâtiments en rondins, et des travaux de réparation du pavillon principal ont été entrepris entre 2001 et 2005. Deux des chalets ont été restaurés en 2017. Les travaux de remise à neuf des autres bâtiments patrimoniaux devraient se terminer en 2020.

L’auberge de ski Skoki a été construite dans une forêt subalpine, sur une terrasse située en amont du Petit ruisseau Pipestone, à environ 14,5 km du point de départ du sentier, à Lake Louise, dans le parc national Banff. L’auberge est un exemple bien préservé de bâtiment en rondins de conception et de construction rustiques, et elle jouit toujours d’une grande popularité auprès des skieurs en hiver et des randonneurs en été. Elle est exploitée en tant qu’attraction patrimoniale commerciale de l’arrière-pays par la station de ski Lake Louise en vertu d’un permis d’occupation qui a pris fin le 30 septembre 2011. Plusieurs prolongations d’une année chacune ont été accordées jusqu’à ce qu’un nouveau permis d’occupation soit négocié.

Le secteur Skoki se trouve dans l’une des quatre aires de reproduction connues du grizzli dans le parc national Banff. Il est important de gérer soigneusement les activités de l’auberge et l’affluence humaine dans le secteur Skoki et les vallées environnantes pour préserver la sûreté de l’habitat du grizzli et réduire les risques de conflits humains-animaux.


Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada préparera un nouveau permis d’occupation qui permettra à la station de ski Lake Louise de continuer à gérer le lieu historique national de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki comme établissement d’hébergement commercial de l’arrière-pays. L’entretien et la restauration des bâtiments se feront dans le respect des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu historique, et les interventions antérieures qui dérogent aux principes de gestion des ressources culturelles seront corrigées. La forêt qui entoure la propriété sera soigneusement gérée selon les lignes directrices et les stratégies du programme Intelli-feu, de manière à réduire les risques d’incendie pour les bâtiments patrimoniaux. L’exploitant et Parcs Canada diffuseront des messages clés sur l’importance culturelle des bâtiments en rondins et l’histoire de l’auberge par différents moyens de communication.


Objectifs de gestion

Collaboration

Travailler de concert avec l’exploitant afin de répondre aux besoins en matière d’entretien et d’instaurer des pratiques de fonctionnement qui permettent de préserver ou d’améliorer les ressources culturelles et les écosystèmes du secteur Skoki.

Conservation des ressources

Réaliser des travaux de restauration patrimoniale, procéder régulièrement à des inspections et à des travaux d’entretien et gérer la végétation conformément aux principes du programme Intelli-feu, afin de protéger les bâtiments patrimoniaux de l’auberge de ski Skoki et de les maintenir en bon état. Réduire les risques de conflits humains-animaux en adoptant de saines pratiques de fonctionnement et en sensibilisant les visiteurs à la coexistence avec la faune en milieu sauvage.

Expérience du visiteur, appréciation et compréhension du public

Créer un cadre accueillant pour les clients de l’auberge et les autres usagers de l’arrière-pays qui veulent explorer le secteur entourant le pavillon principal et leur faire apprécier l’architecture patrimoniale et le cadre naturel de la propriété. Faire valoir l’importance culturelle du lieu historique en diffusant des messages clés sur place et à distance, par des panneaux d’interprétation, par le site Web du parc et par les médias sociaux.


Liens