Mount Temple is the prominent triangular-shaped peak capped with ice and snow that towers above the village of Lake Louise. While there are technical routes up the main face, a moderate scramble is hidden from view on the southwest side of the mountain.

Mount Temple is popular because it is one of the highest peaks in the Lake Louise area and number of accidents have occurred here in the past. See the detailed route information and important safety tips.

Important! Mount Temple is a summer climb.

Route conditions are best after the winter snow has melted completely off the peak, usually by mid-July. Unfortunately, the route can only be viewed from Larch Valley. For comparison, consider how much snow remains on neighbouring high-elevation peaks; otherwise, contact or visit a Banff, Lake Louise or Field Parks Canada visitor centre to check on route conditions.
Special Climbing and Safety Tips

Human-triggered rockfall is one of the leading causes of accidents on this route. To minimize exposure to this hazard:

  • Travel in a cluster with other scramblers so any dislodged rocks do not gather speed and hit people below, or wait until other parties are no longer directly below/above you.
  • Travel more slowly on the descent to avoid causing rockfall.
  • Tell others if there are people below so everyone can be extra diligent and not cause rockfall.
  • If a rock is dislodged, yell “Rock!” so people below move out of the way.
  • Protect yourself:
    • Plan for short rests behind rock bluffs or faces, and longer rests near the ridge.
    • Cross gullies quickly and avoid travelling any distance in them.
    • Wear a helmet! (Available to rent locally).
Trailhead

Attention!

Parking is very limited at Moraine Lake. Parks Canada shuttles are available during the summer. 
The trailhead for Mount Temple is located at Moraine Lake, near the Village of Lake Louise. Walk along the northwest shore of Moraine Lake past the lodge and take the trail leading up to Larch Valley. Then follow the route description describe below. 

 

Route Description

This route description is aimed at strong hikers and scramblers. Mount Temple is not a good choice for a first-time scramble ascent.

Summit: 3 543 m (11 621 ft.)
Elevation gain of climb:
1 690 m (5 543 ft.)
Distance:
approx. 16 km round trip
Average round-trip time:
7-12 hours

Rockfall

Most of the climb is a steep, strenuous hike on loose scree or worn, intermittent footpaths. Careful routefinding minimizes exposure to mountain hazards (rockfall, cornices, etc.) and leads through weaknesses in three cliff bands that require scrambling up short steps of rock, using hands as needed for balance or climbing. Cairns along the route help as a guide, but not all cairns mark the safest ascent/descent line. Route-finding decisions are required. Crampons and an ice axe are likely required if the summit is snow-covered. Human-triggered rockfall is one of the leading causes of accidents on this route—see “Special Climbing and Safety Tips”. Wear a helmet (available to rent locally).

Restricted Access and Bears

Trail restrictions for the Larch Valley/Sentinel Pass trails are often in place during the summer to protect resident grizzly bears and visitors. When in place, people must hike on these trails in a tight group of four or more. Check with Lake Louise Visitor Centre or call 403-522-1264. The Mount Temple scramble route above Sentinel Pass is not included in this restriction. The trails are busy, but it may be difficult to find others to hike with if you start early at the trailhead or arrive late back at the pass. For your convenience, plan this trip with four people. 

The route description to the summit of Mount Temple begins at the Moraine Lake parking lot. The following description matches the numbers on the photos below. Round trip time is 7-12 hours.

1. Moraine Lake to Larch Valley

Follow the lakeshore trail, past the Moraine Lodge (1 888 m), for 35 m to the trail junction for Larch Valley/Sentinel Pass. Thirteen gentle switchbacks lead up 352 m through 2.5 km of forest to another trail junction near a bench. Take the right (north) fork towards Larch Valley/Sentinel Pass/ Paradise Valley (the left fork leads to Eiffel Lake).

2. Larch Valley to Sentinel Pass

As Sentinel Pass (2 611 m) comes into view, take time to look at the route and conditions from a distance. If there is any snow on the upper mountain, ice axes and crampons are likely required; this may mean turning around. Ascend the switchbacks to Sentinel Pass between Pinnacle and Mount Temple. This is a good spot to put on helmets.

3. Up the scree from Sentinel Pass (2 611 m)

A worn scree path dotted with cairns leads up and just right of the ridge. To avoid loose scree and rockfall from parties above, stay to the left of the broad gully where the footing is more secure. At the top of the gully, a long diagonal path leads up and to the right, past a yellow rock wall and below two large gullies to the first grey rock band. Two prominent scree paths should be visible below—an important landmark.

4. First grey rock band

Climb the left side of the shallow gully; look for a cairn marking the ascent line. Don’t be lured by the beaten path that leads away on a big traverse to the right, passing the two scree paths below, to where the cliff band becomes more difficult to ascend. Scramble up a series of rock steps. Paths and cairns lead up through the grey/black steps towards the second grey rock band. [Look back] and landmark the correct descent so you are not lured to the wrong feature when you descend.

5. Second grey rock band (considered the crux of the route)

Traverse under two gullies closest to the ridge and climb two steep blocky steps just to the right of the second gully. Both the five-and three-metre steps involve some exposed climbing. Be careful at the start, as there are some polished holds, and consider the security of a rope and solid belay here, especially on the way down. There is a 2 bolt anchor at the top of this section. It’s not recommended to follow the beaten paths up the gully, as they expose climbers to the large bowls above where both natural and human-triggered rockfall may occur. After the step, follow the cairned path zigzagging over the gravel–covered rock slabs/steps (take extra caution here during the descent), then angle left, back to the ridge to find the break in the next band of light brown rock. [Look back] — note the way to the step for the descent.

6. Light brown rock step

Follow the cairned trail to the ridge crest and ascend the rock steps just right of the ridge. Make every attempt to stay to the side of the gully, especially if there are people above. Gentle rock steps lead left out of the light brown rock onto black scree. Follow cairns and switchbacks slightly right through dark rock to regain the ridge. The summit ridge comes into view.

7. The Summit

Follow the switch-backing trail in the scree towards the summit. CAUTION – if snow remains on the upper mountain, expect to have unstable cornices on the ridgeline on the climber’s right. Be sure to stay on the rock well back from the edge. This hazard can be especially difficult to avoid in poor visibility and fresh snow. Also, in early season this ridge can be a mix of snow and ice that requires crampons and an ice axe to negotiate. Check conditions before starting and be prepared to turn back if necessary.

The Descent

Descend by the same route you climbed. Retrace your steps. No shortcuts! Be very careful on the descent not to dislodge rocks, which can injure people below. Other gullies or routes may look inviting (there may even be cairns!) when looking down from above, but any other route will lead to larger cliffs or looser rock.

After descending the last rock band, it may look tempting and even shorter to plunge down one of the two scree paths leading well away from the ridge into the middle of the amphitheater. On a busy day, these routes leave scramblers exposed to rockfall from above. There have been several rescues of people hit by rocks in the lower section of this route.

Le mont Temple est le pic triangulaire coiffé de glace et de neige qui trône au-dessus de Lake Louise. Il est possible d’accéder au sommet par des parcours de haut niveau sur la paroi principale, mais le flanc sud-ouest de la montagne cache aussi un parcours de difficulté moyenne.

Le mont Temple est une destination courue, parce qu’il figure parmi les sommets les plus élevés des environs de Lake Louise. Un grand nombre d’accidents sont survenus sur cette montagne. Consultez les renseignements détaillés sur le parcours et les conseils de sécurité importants.

Important! Le mont Temple s’escalade en été.

Le parcours n’atteint son état optimal qu’après la fonte complète des neiges sur le pic, généralement à la mi-juillet. Malheureusement, le parcours ne peut être vu en entier que de la vallée Larch. Pour comparer, évaluez la quantité de neige qui reste sur les pics avoisinants. Sinon, téléphonez ou rendez-vous à un centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada à Banff, à Lake Louise ou à Field  pour obtenir des renseignements sur l’état du parcours. 
Consignes spéciales de sécurité

Les éboulements causés par des excursionnistes sont l’une des principales causes d’accidents sur ce parcours. Pour limiter le plus possible votre exposition à ce danger :

  • Déplacez-vous en groupe serré pour éviter que les roches délogées ne gagnent de la vitesse et ne frappent d’autres grimpeurs en contrebas ou avancez uniquement lorsqu’il n’y a personne directement au-dessus ou au-dessous de vous.
  • Ralentissez à la descente pour éviter de causer un éboulement.
  • Si vous voyez des grimpeurs en contrebas, dites-le aux autres membres de votre groupe pour que chacun redouble de prudence.
  • Si vous délogez une roche, criez « roche! » à l’intention des grimpeurs en contrebas pour qu’ils puissent s’éloigner.
  • Protégez-vous :
    • Prévoyez de courtes pauses derrière les promontoires ou les parois rocheuses et des pauses plus longues près de la crête.
    • Évitez de circuler dans les ravines et traversez-les rapidement.
    • Portez un casque! (Vous pouvez en louer un localement.)
Point de départ

Attention!

Les possibilités de stationnement sont très limitées au lac Moraine. Veuillez noter qu’il y a des navettes de Parcs Canada durant la saison estivale. 

L’excursion débute au lac Moraine, près de Lake Louise. Longez la rive nord-ouest du lac, dépassez l’hôtel, puis prenez le sentier qui mène à la vallée Larch. Suivez ensuite le parcours décrit ci-dessous. 

  

Description du parcours

La description qui suit s’adresse aux grimpeurs et aux randonneurs robustes. Le mont Temple n’est pas un bon choix pour les novices.

Altitude : 3 543 m
Gain d’altitude : 1 690 m
Distance : 16 km aller-retour
Durée moyenne de l’excursion : De 7 à 12 heures

Attention aux éboulements!

La majeure partie du parcours est exigeante; vous devez gravir une pente raide sur des talus d’éboulis instables ou des sentiers qui ne sont visibles que par intermittence. Choisissez prudemment votre parcours pour réduire au minimum votre exposition aux dangers de la montagne (éboulements, corniches, etc.). Le parcours décrit franchit trois barres rocheuses où vous devrez escalader des ressauts peu élevés en vous servant de vos mains, au besoin, pour garder l’équilibre ou pour vous aider à monter. Les cairns placés le long du parcours peuvent vous guider, mais ils ne marquent pas tous l’emplacement le plus sûr pour la montée ou la descente. Il vous faudra décider du parcours à suivre. Vous aurez probablement besoin de crampons et d’un piolet si le sommet est enneigé. Les éboulements provoqués par des grimpeurs figurent parmi les principales causes d’accidents sur ce parcours—voir la section « Consignes spéciales de sécurité ». Portez un casque (vous pouvez en louer un localement).

Présence d’ours et restriction de l’accès

En été, Parcs Canada émet souvent des ordonnances de restriction d’accès pour les sentiers de la Vallée-Larch et du Col-Sentinel afin de protéger les grizzlis et les visiteurs. En période de restrictions, vous devez former des groupes serrés d’au moins quatre personnes sur ces sentiers. Consultez le Centre d’accueil de Lake Louise ou composez le 403-522-1264. Le parcours de grimpe situé en amont du col Sentinel n’est pas visé par ces restrictions. Les sentiers sont passablement fréquentés, mais il pourrait être difficile de trouver d’autres compagnons de voyage si vous partez tôt ou si vous regagnez le col tard. Pour votre commodité, prévoyez cette excursion avec quatre personnes. 

Le parcours débute au terrain de stationnement du lac Moraine. Les chiffres de la description correspondent aux numéros figurant sur les photos. Prévoyez de 7 à 12 heures pour l’aller-retour.

1. Du lac Moraine à la vallée Larch

Suivez le sentier qui longe le lac sur 35 m, en passant devant le Moraine Lodge (1 888 m), et rendez-vous jusqu’à l’intersection du sentier menant à la vallée Larch et au col Sentinel. Une série de 13 lacets en pente douce vous font gagner 352 m d’altitude à travers 2,5 km de forêt jusqu’à une autre intersection située près d’une terrasse. Prenez le tronçon de droite (nord) en direction de la vallée Larch, du col Sentinel et de la vallée du Paradise (le tronçon de gauche aboutit au lac Eiffel).

2. De la vallée Larch au col Sentinel

Lorsque le col Sentinel (2 611 m) devient visible, prenez quelques instants pour examiner le parcours et les conditions de loin. Si les flancs supérieurs de la montagne sont enneigés, vous aurez sans doute besoin d’un piolet et de crampons. Il se peut que vous ayez à rebrousser chemin. Suivez les lacets jusqu’au col Sentinel, entre les monts Pinnacle et Temple. Il s’agit d’un bon endroit pour mettre votre casque.

3. Ascension du talus d’éboulis (2 611 m)

Un sentier battu et jalonné de cairns dans le talus d’éboulis vous fait monter juste à droite de la crête. Afin d’éviter les roches instables et les éboulements provoqués par les groupes circulant au-dessus de vous, restez à la gauche de la grande ravine, où la prise au sol est meilleure. Au sommet de la ravine, enfilez un long sentier diagonal qui vous fera grimper vers la droite, au-delà d’une paroi rocheuse jaune et en dessous de deux grandes ravines, jusqu’à la première barre rocheuse grise. Vous devriez maintenant voir en aval deux couloirs d’éboulis bien évidents, un point de repère important.

4. Première barre rocheuse grise

Escaladez le côté gauche de la ravine peu profonde et cherchez un cairn indiquant le tracé à suivre pour la montée. Ne vous laissez pas tenter par le sentier battu qui s’éloigne vers une grande traversée à la droite. Il passe par les deux couloirs d’éboulis qui se trouvent en aval pour déboucher sur un endroit où la barre rocheuse est difficile à escalader. Gravissez une série de ressauts de roche. Des sentiers et des cairns guident votre traversée des ressauts gris-noir pour vous amener à la deuxième barre rocheuse grise. [Regardez derrière vous] et mémorisez le parcours que vous devrez emprunter à la descente pour éviter d’être attiré vers la mauvaise caractéristique du relief sur le chemin du retour.

5. Deuxième barre rocheuse grise (considérée comme la partie la plus difficile)

Passez sous les deux ravines les plus rapprochées de la crête et escaladez deux blocs rocheux escarpés juste à la droite de la seconde ravine. Les deux ressauts, l’un de 5 m et l’autre de 3 m, vous forcent à grimper à découvert. Soyez prudent au début, car certaines prises ont été polies par l’usage. Vous apprécierez peut-être la sécurité d’une corde et d’un solide assurage, surtout à la descente. Il y a un ancrage à deux points au sommet de cette section. Il n’est pas recommandé de suivre les sentiers battus jusqu’au sommet de la ravine, car ils vous laissent sans protection en aval des grandes cuvettes, où des éboulements provoqués par la nature ou par d’autres grimpeurs pourraient survenir. Après le ressaut, suivez le sentier balisé par des cairns qui zigzague sur des blocs de roche ou des ressauts couverts de gravillons (redoublez de prudence à cet endroit pendant la descente), puis bifurquez vers la gauche, en direction de la crête, pour trouver la brèche dans la prochaine barre rocheuse de couleur brun pâle. [Regardez derrière vous] pour mémoriser le parcours à emprunter jusqu’au ressaut à la descente.

6. Ressaut de roche brun pâle

Suivez le sentier jalonné de cairns jusqu’au sommet de la crête et grimpez sur les ressauts de roche juste à la droite de la crête. Efforcez-vous le plus possible de rester sur le côté de la ravine, surtout s’il y a des grimpeurs au-dessus de vous. Une série de ressauts peu élevés vous mèneront vers la gauche et vous permettront d’émerger de la roche brun pâle. Vous vous trouverez alors sur un talus d’éboulis noir. Suivez les cairns et les lacets, légèrement à la droite, sur de la roche de couleur foncée, afin de regagner la crête. La crête du sommet est maintenant visible.

7. Sommet

Suivez le sentier en lacets dans le talus d’éboulis en direction du sommet. ATTENTION – Si le haut de la montagne est encore enneigé, attendez-vous à des corniches instables sur la crête à votre droite. Restez sur la roche, bien à l’écart du bord. Ce danger peut être particulièrement difficile à éviter dans des conditions de faible visibilité ou en présence de neige fraîche. Au début de la saison, la crête peut être couverte d’un mélange de neige et de glace qui nécessitera l’usage de crampons et d’un piolet. Vérifiez les conditions avant de partir et soyez prêt à faire demi-tour au besoin.

Descente

Pour la descente, tenez-vous-en au parcours emprunté pour l’ascension. Retracez vos pas et évitez les raccourcis! Descendez avec grande prudence pour éviter de déloger des roches qui pourraient blesser des grimpeurs en contrebas. Vus d’en haut, certains autres parcours ou ravines pourraient paraître invitants (il se peut même qu’ils soient jalonnés de cairns!), mais sachez qu’ils mènent tous à de grands escarpements rocheux ou à de la roche instable.

Après avoir franchi la dernière barre rocheuse, vous serez peut-être tenté d’accélérer votre descente en empruntant l’un des deux couloirs d’éboulis pour passer bien à l’écart de la crête et vous rendre au milieu de la cuvette. Les jours de forte affluence, ces parcours vous exposent à des éboulements. Il a déjà fallu sauver des grimpeurs frappés par des roches dans la section inférieure de ce parcours.