Important reminders:


Road rides in the Banff area:

Trail Distance
 Sundance 3.7 km one way
 Tunnel Campground Loop 6.4 km loop
 Banff Legacy Trail 29 km one way
 Golf Course Drive 10,9 km loop
  Vermilion Lakes Drive  4,3 km one way
 Lake Minnewanka Road  13,1 km one way
 Tunnel Mountain Drive/Road  10,7 km loop
 Bow Valley Parkway (Banff to Lake Louise)  57,5 km one way
 Norquay Road  6,1 km one way
 Mountain Avenue  3,4 km one way
 Sunshine Road (Trans-Canada Highway to Sunshine Village parking lot)  8,2 km one way

Elevations are an approximate to give riders an idea of what to expect on each route. Elevations are calculated as the total amount of elevation gained and the total amount of elevation lost (all the ups and downs) over the entire distance of an out-and-back trail or a loop. 

 Family Friendly Rides 

Sundance

3.7 km one way
Elevation gain 75 m, elevation loss 60 m
Starting Point: Cave and Basin National Historic Site

This paved trail is perfect for families with kids and bike trailers as it winds along the Bow River and climbs gently to the Sundance Canyon picnic area where you can explore a lovely creekside hiking trail. To experience the canyon, bring a bike lock.
Tunnel Campground Loop

6.4 km loop
Elevation gain 70 m
Starting Point: Tunnel Mountain Campground

Perfect for beginners and children, this simple trail forms a large loop around Tunnel Mountain Campground. Wider tires are best for this loose gravel trail and there are many places to stop and rest. Be sure to watch out for strolling campers, elk, deer and coyotes.

Banff Legacy Trail

29 km one way
Elevation gain 24 m, elevation loss 113 m
Starting Points: Valleyview, Cascade Ponds, Vermilion Lakes and Fireside day-use areas or east end of Banff Avenue

The Banff Legacy Trail offers cyclists, runners, roller skiers and other outdoor enthusiasts 29 km of paved trails and roadways with breathtaking views, rest stops and picnic areas. The trail connects the Bow Valley Parkway with the Town of Banff, Cascade Ponds, the Banff East Gate and the Town of Canmore. This three-season trail is typically snow-free and ridable from April to October. An absolute must.

 Easy Rides

Golf Course Drive

10.9 km loop
Elevation gain 68 m, elevation loss 68 m
Starting Point: Bow Falls parking area

Cross the bridge over the Spray River at the end of the parking area, and you’re off. Perfect for a family outing, this road winds gently along the golf course before it loops back. This is a peaceful road with lovely views over the Bow River and surrounding peaks. While close to town, be alert – wildlife also enjoy this area. 

Vermilion Lakes Drive

4.3 km one way
Mostly flat
Starting Point: Fenland day-use area, paved trail to Vermilion Lakes Drive

Vermilion Lakes are a series of three shallow lakes surrounded by marshland – a rich oasis for wildlife. The ride along this narrow road provides classic views of Banff’s signature peak, Mount Rundle. There are benches, bike racks and small docks where you can relax with a snack and enjoy the view. Connector: Banff Legacy Trail to the Bow Valley Parkway.

 Moderate Rides

Lake Minnewanka Road

13.1 km loop
Elevation gain 160 m, elevation loss 160 m
Starting Points: Cascade Ponds and Lake Minnewanka day-use area or the Banff Legacy Trail

Lake Minnewanka Road is popular with cyclists and offers a pleasant ride through varied terrain, with panoramic views and many attractions including Cascade Ponds, Bankhead, Lake Minnewanka and Two Jack Lake. This narrow road can be busy, so ride with caution and be on the lookout for bighorn sheep on the slopes above Two Jack Lake. Connector: Banff Legacy Trail.

Tunnel Mountain Drive/Road

10.7 km loop
Elevation gain 180 m, elevation loss 180 m
Starting Point: Central Park parking area, West end of Buffalo Street

Start by heading east on Buffalo Street, rising gently past Surprise Corner with its extraordinary view over Bow Falls and the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs. Continue climbing and bending around its lower slopes to join the Tunnel Mountain Road. Turn right (East) and pass the campgrounds for incredible viewpoints before you drop back down to the Banff Legacy Trail. Go left into town, or right towards Lake Minnewanka. Elk and deer are common along this narrow roadway.

Bow Valley Parkway

57.5 km one way (Banff to Lake Louise)
Elevation gain 340 m, elevation loss 177 m
Starting Points: From downtown Banff, access the trail via Vermillion Lakes Drive and the Banff Legacy Trail or begin at Fireside (49 km one way).

The Bow Valley Parkway (Hwy 1A) ride is a classic, gently rising and falling as it meanders through the Bow Valley to Castle Junction, and beyond to Lake Louise. On your trip, stop and enjoy the many picnic areas and rest stops along the way. This narrow road ride is often done from Banff, return, for a solid 115 km round trip, and can also be done as shorter trips. From Banff, ride to Johnson Canyon (50 km return), Castle Junction (65 km return), or Baker Creek (90 km return). For a multi-day trip, consider a guided or self-guided ride to Jasper (290 km one way). Whatever your route, wildlife sightings are common, so keep a look out and be prepared.

 Difficult Rides

Norquay Road

6.1 km one way
Elevation gain 327 m, elevation loss 12 m
Starting Point: Norquay Road, on the North side of the Trans-Canada Highway

This challenging climb up the mountain rewards riders with a spectacular panoramic view of the Banff townsite and surrounding Bow Valley. The Norquay Green Spot Viewpoint opens onto a grassy slope – a great place to stop for a picnic lunch or for photos. From the viewpoint, the road continues up to the Norquay ski area. Watch out for Bighorn Sheep on or near the road and the sharp turns, especially on the way down.

Mountain Avenue

3.4 km one way
Elevation gain 214 m, elevation loss 32 m
Starting Point: Mountain Avenue, on the South side of the Banff Avenue Bridge

This route is a gradual, but continuous climb ending at the Banff Upper Hot Springs. Gains in elevation from the valley bottom provide riders with exceptional views of the Bow Valley and the rugged profile of Mount Rundle. Mountain Avenue offers ample width for riders, however, vehicular traffic can be heavier during the summer.

Sunshine Road

8.2 km one way
Elevation gain 271 m, no elevation loss
Starting Point: Sunshine Ski Area Road, 7 km West of Banff on the Trans-Canada Highway

The Sunshine Road begins its steady rise almost immediately, and offers a few steep ramps along the way to its termination at the ski area parking at the base of the Sunshine gondola. Vehicular traffic is moderate in the summer months, but be aware as the road is narrow throughout its length. Watch for wildlife along this twisty mountain road.

Renseignements importants :


Sentiers de vélo de route dans le secteur de Banff :

Sentier Distance
 Sentier Sundance   3,7 km aller seulement
 Boucle du Camping-du-Mont-Tunnel Boucle de 6,4 km
 Sentier de l’Héritage  29 km aller seulement
 Promenade du Terrain-de-Golf Boucle de 10,9 km
 Promenade des Lacs-Vermilion  4,3 km aller seulement
 Route du Lac-Minnewanka Boucle de 13,1 km
 Promenade et route du Mont-Tunnel Boucle de 10,7 km
 Promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow (de Banff à Lake Louise)  57,5 km aller seulement
 Route du Mont-Norquay  6,1 km aller seulement
 Avenue Mountain  3,4 km aller seulement
 Route d’accès à Sunshine Village (de la Transcanadienne au stationnement de Sunshine Village)  8,2 km aller seulement
Toutes les altitudes sont approximatives et visent simplement à donner aux cyclistes un aperçu du degré de difficulté de chaque parcours. Note concernant les gains et les pertes d’altitude : Les chiffres indiqués correspondent aux gains et aux pertes totaux (l’ensemble des montées et des descentes) sur toute la longueur de la piste.

 Promenades en famille

Sentier Sundance

3,7 km aller seulement
Gain d’altitude de 75 m, perte d’altitude de 60 m
Point de départ : Lieu historique national Cave and Basin

Idéal pour les enfants et les bébés en remorquette, ce sentier asphalté longe la Bow tout en montant doucement jusqu’à l’aire de pique-nique du Canyon-Sundance, où vous pouvez explorer un joli sentier de randonnée riverain. Si vous désirez visiter le canyon, apportez un cadenas pour votre vélo.

Boucle du Camping-du-Mont-Tunnel

Boucle de 6,4 km
Gain d’altitude de 70 m
Point de départ : Camping du Mont-Tunnel

Idéale pour les débutants et les enfants, cette piste toute simple décrit une grande boucle autour du camping du Mont-Tunnel. Il est préférable d’avoir des pneus larges pour circuler sur le gravier meuble. Vous trouverez de nombreux endroits où vous arrêter pour un repos. Attention aux promeneurs, aux wapitis, aux chevreuils et aux coyotes. 

Sentier de l’Héritage

29 km aller seulement
Gain d’altitude de 24 m, perte d’altitude de 113 m
Points de départ : Aires de fréquentation diurne de la Vue-sur-la-Vallée, des Étangs-Cascade, des Lacs-Vermilion et Fireside, ou extrémité est de l’avenue Banff

Le sentier de l’Héritage du parc national Banff offre à tous les groupes d’amateurs de plein air – cyclistes, coureurs, adeptes du ski à roulettes et autres – 29 km de routes et de pistes asphaltées agrémentées d’aires de repos et de pique-nique, le tout dans un décor spectaculaire. Cette piste trois-saisons relie la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow à Banff, aux étangs Cascade, au poste d’entrée Est et à Canmore. Elle est généralement exempte de neige et praticable d’avril à octobre. À ne pas manquer.

 Parcours faciles

Promenade du Terrain-de-Golf
Boucle de 10,9 km
Gain d’altitude de 68 m, perte d’altitude de 68 m
Point de départ : Stationnement des chutes Bow

Traversez le pont de la Spray au bout du terrain de stationnement. Idéale pour les sorties en famille, cette route serpente doucement le long du terrain de golf avant de revenir à son point de départ. Il s’agit d’un parcours paisible qui vous donne accès à de belles vues sur la rivière Bow et les pics environnants. Même si vous êtes près de la ville, restez vigilant – ce secteur est très fréquenté par les animaux sauvages. 

Promenade des Lacs-Vermilion

4,3 km aller seulement

Essentiellement plat
Point de départ : Aire de fréquentation diurne Fenland, sentier asphalté menant à la promenade des Lacs-Vermilion

Chaîne de trois bassins d’eau peu profonds, les lacs Vermilion sont entourés de terres humides qui forment une riche oasis pour la faune. Cette route étroite vous donne accès à des vues classiques sur le mont Rundle, emblème du parc national Banff. La piste est jalonnée de bancs, de supports à vélo et de petits quais où vous pouvez vous détendre en prenant une bouchée et en admirant le panorama. Raccordement : Sentier de l’Héritage  jusqu’à la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow.

 Parcours modérés

Route du Lac-Minnewanka

Boucle de 13,1 km
Gain d’altitude de 160 m, perte d’altitude de 160 m
Points de départ : Étangs Cascade, aire de fréquentation diurne du Lac-Minnewanka ou sentier de l’Héritage

La route du Lac-Minnewanka jouit d’une grande popularité auprès des cyclistes. Elle vous propose une balade agréable sur du terrain varié où vous pouvez profiter de vues panoramiques et de nombreuses attractions, dont les étangs Cascade, Bankhead, le lac Minnewanka et le lac Two Jack. Cette route étroite est parfois très fréquentée. Roulez avec prudence et guettez les mouflons d’Amérique sur les pentes dominant le lac Two Jack.
Raccordement : Sentier de l’Héritage.

Promenade et route du Mont-Tunnel

Boucle de 10,7 km
Gain d’altitude de 180 m, perte d’altitude de 180 m
Point de départ : Stationnement du parc Central, extrémité ouest de la rue Buffalo

Empruntez la rue Buffalo en direction est et grimpez doucement au-delà de Surprise Corner; vous aurez alors des vues extraordinaires sur les chutes Bow et le célèbre complexe Fairmont Banff Springs. Poursuivez votre ascension tout en zigzaguant au pied de la montagne pour rejoindre la route du Mont-Tunnel. Tournez à droite (est) et dépassez le camping pour admirer des panoramas saisissants avant de redescendre jusqu’au sentier de l’Héritage. Tournez à gauche pour regagner la ville ou à droite pour accéder au lac Minnewanka. Il n’est pas rare de voir des wapitis et des chevreuils sur cette voie de circulation étroite.

Promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow

57,5 km aller seulement (de Banff à Lake Louise)
Gain d’altitude de 340 m, perte d’altitude de 177 m
Points de départ : Du centre-ville de Banff, vous pouvez accéder à la piste par la promenade des Lacs-Vermillion et par le sentier de l’Héritage. L’aire de pique-nique Fireside est aussi un point de départ possible (49 km aller seulement)

La promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow (route 1A) vous offre une série de montées et de descentes en pente douce dans la vallée de la Bow jusqu’à l’échangeur Castle ou jusqu’à Lake Louise. Profitez-en pour vous arrêter dans les nombreuses haltes et aires de piquenique qui jalonnent le parcours. De Banff, parcourez cette route étroite jusqu’au canyon Johnston (50 km aller-retour), jusqu’à l’échangeur Castle (65 km aller-retour) ou jusqu’au ruisseau Baker (90 km aller-retour) ou jusqu’à Lake Louise (115 km aller-retour). Quel que soit votre parcours, vous avez de bonnes chances de voir des animaux sauvages. Restez aux aguets et soyez préparé!

Au printemps et à l’automne, Parcs Canada restreindra la circulation automobile sur un tronçon de 17 km de la partie est de la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow afin d’offrir une expérience enrichie aux cyclistes.

 Parcours difficiles

Route du Mont-Norquay

6,1 km aller seulement
Gain d’altitude de 327 m, perte d’altitude de 12 m
Point de départ : Route du Mont-Norquay, du côté nord de la Transcanadienne

À la fin de cette ascension exigeante, vous serez récompensé de vos efforts par une vue spectaculaire sur Banff et la vallée de la Bow. Le belvédère Norquay Green Spot s’ouvre sur une pente herbeuse – une excellente destination pour un pique-nique ou quelques photos. Du belvédère, poursuivez votre route jusqu’à la station de ski Norquay. Gardez l’oeil ouvert pour les mouflons d’Amérique qui pourraient se trouver sur la route ou en bordure de celle-ci, et attention aux virages serrés, surtout à la descente.

Avenue Mountain

3,4 km aller seulement
Gain d’altitude de 214 m, perte d’altitude de 32 m
Point de départ : Avenue Mountain, du côté sud du pont de l’avenue Banff

Ce parcours décrit une ascension progressive mais soutenue qui se termine aux sources thermales Upper Hot Springs de Banff. Les cyclistes qui partent du fond de la vallée gagnent assez d’altitude pour obtenir des vues exceptionnelles sur la vallée de la Bow et la silhouette du mont Rundle. L’avenue Mountain est large, mais la circulation est dense en été.

Route d’accès à Sunshine Village

8,2 km aller seulement
Gain d’altitude de 271 m, aucune perte d’altitude
Point de départ : Route d’accès à Sunshine Village, à 7 km à l’ouest de Banff sur la Transcanadienne

La route d’accès à Sunshine Village amorce presque immédiatement une ascension soutenue et présente quelques montées abruptes avant de déboucher sur le terrain de stationnement de la station de ski, au terminus inférieur du téléphérique Sunshine. Même si la circulation automobile est modérée en été, il faut rester vigilant : la route demeure étroite et sinueuse sur toute sa longueur. Attention à la faune.