Icefields Parkway | Bow Valley ParkwayLake Minnewanka Loop | Vermilion Lakes Drive

A network of paved parkways brings visitors up close with high-mountain scenery, turquoise lakes, glaciers and wildlife.

The world-famous Icefields Parkway stretches 232 kilometres along the Continental Divide, climbing from valley bottoms to alpine passes. Drive alongside tumbling glaciers, waterfalls and wildlife viewing areas.

Between the town of Banff and the village of Lake Louise, the 48-kilometre Bow Valley Parkway follows a lower elevation valley bottom. As the richest eco-zone in the park, it offers the best wildlife viewing. Along the way, stretch your legs and explore the cataracts of Johnston Canyon along a system of catwalks.

On the town of Banff’s doorstep, the 24-kilometre Lake Minnewanka Loop offers excellent wildlife viewing, especially at dawn and dusk. Montane meadows, family-friendly lakeside strolls, and excellent picnic spots make this a local favourite.

Finally, for a quick glimpse of Banff’s rich wetlands, travel on the 4.3-kilometre Vermilion Lakes Drive. Enjoy views of Mount Rundle, abundant birdlife and rich foliage in autumn.

La promenade des Glaciers | Promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow | Boucle lac Minnewanka | Lacs Vermilion

Un large réseau de routes asphaltées permet aux visiteurs de se rapprocher des montagnes, des glaciers, des lacs aux eaux turquoise et des animaux sauvages.

La célèbre promenade des Glaciers, qui s’étend sur 232 kilomètres le long de la ligne continentale de partage des eaux, s’élance du fond des vallées aux cols montagneux. En conduisant le long des glaciers suspendus et des cascades, des aires d'arrêt sont prévues pour l'observation de la faune.

Entre Banff et Lake Louise, la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow suit le fond de la vallée sur 48 km. Cette zone naturelle, connue pour être la plus abondante du parc en termes de faune sauvage, est le meilleur endroit pour observer des animaux. Sur la route, faites une halte pour vous dégourdir les jambes et découvrir les cascades du canyon Johnston depuis des passerelles aménagées.

Aux portes de Banff, la route du lac Minnewanka, longue de 24 kilomètres, offre d'excellents points d'observation des animaux, surtout à l'aube et au crépuscule. Les prés alpestres, les aménagements autour des lacs et les attrayantes aires de pique-nique en font une destination de choix pour les résidents.

Enfin, la promenade des Lacs-Vermilion donne un aperçu des riches terres humides de Banff. Le long de ses 4,3 kilomètres, vous pourrez admirer le mont Rundle, ainsi que de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux et le feuillage des arbres en automne.