Some of the best-known species found in Canada’s national parks are citizens of the world. They migrate across oceans and continents to escape bad weather, find food and breed.

To protect these long-distance travellers, we have to range as far as they do. They need networks of protected areas to keep them safe throughout their migration and at all stages of their lives.

Here’s a selection of our champion travellers—insects, mammals, reptiles and birds. Parks Canada is going the distance to make sure they keep going the distance.

1. Arctic tern – 71,000 kilometres round trip

Arctic tern on its nest.

If the Arctic tern had a family motto, it might be “To the ends of the Earth!”

This modest-sized bird with its black cap and forked tail is the longest-migrating animal in the world. Breeding in the Arctic, sub-Arctic and Atlantic regions in the summer, it makes a long zigzagging trip down to Antarctica for the winter… and then retraces its route in the spring.

Over its lifetime, this champion traveller might migrate over 2 million kilometres—equivalent to flying to the moon and back two and a half times

Where you might see Arctic terns:

Terra Nova and Gros Morne National Parks (Newfoundland); Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve (Quebec), Prince Edward Island National Park, and of course northern National Parks such as Quttinirpaaq (Nunavut) and Wapusk (Manitoba).

2. Leatherback sea turtle – 18,000 kilometres round trip

Leatherback sea turtle swimming.
© Canadian Sea Turtle Network (info@seaturtle.ca)

Seeing this endangered giant drifting in sunlit seas, its long fore-flippers spread like wings, is a sight to remember.

One of the world’s largest reptiles, the leatherback can weigh as much as a small car. Leatherbacks are true world travellers, laying their eggs on the southern shores of the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian oceans and migrating north to feed (they love jellyfish). In the summer, Canada’s East Coast is home to one of the largest densities of leatherbacks in the North Atlantic.

Leatherbacks are at risk of entanglement in fishing gear and from ocean pollution, particularly plastic. One way to help sea turtles is to use as little plastic as you can—and to refuse single-use plastics like straws and bags.

Where you might see leatherback sea turtles:

Leatherbacks are hard to spot and, as an endangered species, are best given lots of space.

Atlantic population: Cape Breton Highlands National Park (Nova Scotia), Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve (Quebec) and Terra Nova National Park (Newfoundland).

Pacific population: Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site (in British Columbia).

3. Humpback whale – 10,000 kilometres round trip

Humpback whale jumping

Humpback whales excel in two skills that most of us grow out of—jumping and singing.

Their eerie, complex songs can be heard at a distance of thirty kilometres underwater. As acrobats they are equally impressive, sometimes leaping clear of the waves or slapping the surface with their fins or tail flukes.

The North Pacific population of humpbacks passes through Canadian waters twice a year, calving in the warm waters of Hawaii and then heading north to Alaska to feed. Atlantic humpbacks migrate between the Caribbean and the Arctic.

While North Atlantic humpbacks are not considered at risk, the North Pacific population is classified as a species “of special concern” under Canada’s Species at Risk Act. In addition to such threats as vessel strikes and sound pollution, humpbacks must also cope with climate change, which could alter ocean circulation patterns and affect the distribution of their prey.

Where you might see humpback whales :

North Pacific population: Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve and Gulf Islands National Park Reserve.

North Atlantic population: Various protected areas such as Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park and Forillon National Park (both in Quebec) and Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site and Terra Nova National Park (Newfoundland).

4. Whooping crane – 7000 kilometres round trip

A pair of whooping cranes in flight.
Photo: Klaus Nigge

 

North America’s tallest bird, the whooping crane nests in a single remote corner of Canada—the boggy reaches of Wood Buffalo National Park. In autumn, the population migrates 3500 kilometres south to the Aransas National Wildlife Refuge in Texas.

The story of the whooping crane is one of the great species-recovery sagas in the world. In 1941, the population was at an all-time low of 21 birds. Through joint American–Canadian efforts, that number has risen to roughly 800 worldwide (including captive birds).

Parks Canada continues to work with the United States Fish and Wildlife Service to monitor crane habitat and identify important stopover points for migrating whoopers.

Where you might see whooping cranes:

Wood Buffalo National Park (Alberta/Northwest Territories), Grasslands National Park (Saskatchewan).

5. Monarch butterfly – 6000 kilometres round trip

Monarch butterfly.

If you weigh just half a gram, flying all the way to Mexico takes everything you’ve got.

This trip is reserved for a special generation of monarchs in Canada—those that emerge in late August and September every year. This generation lives six times longer than other monarchs (whose lifespans average around a month). The long-lived monarchs don’t have the urge to reproduce; all their energy is put into creating fat stores. This allows them to make the incredible journey south to a mountainous forest in central Mexico.

Monarchs are listed as endangered under Canada’s Species at Risk Act. You can help them by planting milkweed, the only plant that monarch caterpillars can eat.

Where you might see monarch butterflies:

An excellent place to see migrating flocks is Point Pelee National Park (Ontario), which marks one of shortest traverses of the Great Lakes. Point Pelee is working hard to preserve the monarch’s home—the park’s savannah habitat.

6. Barren-ground caribou (Porcupine herd) – 4,800 kilometres round trip

A barren-ground caribou.

The Porcupine herd is one of eight major populations of barren-ground caribou that inhabit Canada’s North. This herd ranges across northern Yukon, northeastern Alaska and part of the Northwest Territories, traversing Yukon’s Vuntut and Ivvavik national parks. The traditional calving grounds for the Porcupine herd are the coastal ranges of Alaska’s Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.

Caribou are not only an important prey species for wolves and bears but are vital to the cultures of Indigenous people. For thousands of years, Yukon’s Gwitchin and Inuvialuit peoples have depended on the Porcupine herd for food, clothing and tools.

Where you might see he Porcupine Caribou Herd:

Vuntut and Ivvavik national parks, Yukon.

Certains des animaux les plus connus vivant dans les parcs nationaux du Canada sont des citoyens du monde. Ils traversent les océans et les continents pour échapper au mauvais temps, trouver de la nourriture et se reproduire.

Pour protéger ces voyageurs qui parcourent de longues distances, nous devons aller aussi loin qu’eux. Ils ont besoin de réseaux d’aires protégées pour assurer leur sécurité tout au long de leur migration et durant toutes les étapes de leur vie.

Voici une sélection de nos grands voyageurs : insectes, mammifères, reptiles et oiseaux. Parcs Canada fait le nécessaire pour s’assurer qu’ils poursuivent leur migration sans encombre.


1. La sterne arctique — 71 000 kilomètres aller-retour

sterne arctique dans son nid .

« Allons aux extrémités de la Terre! » pourrait être la devise familiale de la sterne arctique.

Cet oiseau de taille modeste, avec sa calotte noire et sa queue fourchue, est l’animal effectuant la plus longue migration au monde. Se reproduisant en été dans les régions arctique, subarctique et atlantique, il fait un long voyage en zigzag vers l’Antarctique pour l’hiver... puis il se remet en route au printemps.

Au cours de sa vie, ce grand voyageur pourrait parcourir plus de 2 millions de kilomètres, ce qui équivaut à deux allers-retours et demi entre la terre et la lune.

Les endroits où il est possible d’observer des sternes arctiques :

Les parcs nationaux Terra Nova et du Gros-Morne (Terre-Neuve); la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan (Québec), le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et, bien sûr, les parcs nationaux du Nord comme Quttinirpaaq (Nunavut) et Wapusk (Manitoba).

2. La tortue luth — 18 000 kilomètres aller-retour

Tortue luth nageant .
© Canadian Sea Turtle Network (info@seaturtle.ca)

Voir cet animal géant en voie de disparition dériver dans les mers ensoleillées, ses longues nageoires avant se déployant comme des ailes, est un spectacle inoubliable.

La tortue luth, l’un des plus grands reptiles au monde, peut peser aussi lourd qu’une petite voiture. Les tortues luths sont de véritables voyageurs du monde, pondant leurs œufs sur les côtes sud des océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Indien et migrant vers le nord pour se nourrir (elles raffolent des méduses). En été, la côte Est du Canada abrite l’une des plus fortes densités de tortues luths en Atlantique Nord.

Les tortues luths peuvent s’enchevêtrer dans les engins de pêche et souffrir de la pollution de l’océan, en particulier du plastique. Pour aider les tortues de mer, l’une des solutions consiste à utiliser le moins de matière plastique possible et de refuser les plastiques à usage unique comme les pailles et les sacs.

Les endroits où il est possible d’observer des tortues luths :

Les tortues luths sont difficiles à repérer et, en raison de leur classification « espèce en voie de disparition », il est préférable de leur laisser beaucoup d’espace.

Population de l’Atlantique : parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton (Nouvelle-Écosse), réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan (Québec) et parc national Terra-Nova (Terre-Neuve)

Population du Pacifique : réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas (en Colombie-Britannique).

3. Le rorqual à bosse — 10 000 kilomètres aller-retour

Baleine à bosse sautant hors de l’eau

Les rorquals à bosse excellent dans deux disciplines qui ne sont plus de notre âge pour la plupart d’entre nous : le saut et le chant.

Leurs chants étranges et complexes peuvent être entendus à une distance de 30 kilomètres sous l’eau. Leurs acrobaties sont tout aussi impressionnantes : ces baleines sautent dans les vagues ou frappent la surface de leurs nageoires ou avec les pointes de leur queue

La population de rorquals à bosse du Pacifique Nord traverse les eaux canadiennes deux fois par an, pour aller se reproduire dans les eaux chaudes d’Hawaï, puis pour se diriger plus au nord vers l’Alaska pour se nourrir. Les rorquals à bosse migrent entre les Caraïbes et l’Arctique.

Même si les baleines à bosse de l'Atlantique Nord ne sont pas considérées en péril, la population du Pacifique Nord, est classée comme une espèce « préoccupante » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada. En plus des menaces telles que les collisions avec les navires et la pollution sonore, les rorquals à bosse doivent également faire face aux changements climatiques, qui pourraient affecter la configuration de la circulation océanique ainsi que la répartition de leurs proies.

Les endroits où il est possible d’observer des rorquals à bosse :

Population du Pacifique Nord : réserve de parc national et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas, réserve de parc national Pacific Rim et réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf.>

Population de l’Atlantique Nord : plusieurs aires protégées comme le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent et le parc national Forillon (tous deux au Québec), le lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear et le parc national Terra-Nova (Terre-Neuve).

4. La grue blanche — 7 000 kilomètres aller-retour

Deux grues blanches en vol .
Photo: Klaus Nigge

Le plus grand oiseau d’Amérique du Nord, la grue blanche, niche dans un coin isolé du Canada : dans les régions marécageuses éloignées du parc national Wood Buffalo. En automne, la population migre à 3 500 kilomètres au sud en direction de l’Aransas National Wildlife Refuge au Texas.

L’histoire de la grue blanche constitue l’une des grandes épopées en matière de rétablissement des espèces dans le monde. En 1941, la population a atteint son plus bas niveau historique : 21 oiseaux. Grâce aux efforts conjoints des États-Unis et du Canada, ce nombre est passé à environ 800 dans le monde entier (les oiseaux en captivité y compris).

Parcs Canada continue de collaborer avec le United States Fish and Wildlife Service pour surveiller l’habitat des grues et déterminer les haltes incontournables dans la migration des grues blanches.

Les endroits où il est possible d’observer des grues blanches

le parc national Wood Buffalo (Alberta/Territoires du Nord-Ouest), parc national des Prairies (Saskatchewan)

5. Le monarque — 6 000 kilomètres aller-retour

Papillon monarque .

Si vous ne pesiez qu’un demi-gramme, aller au Mexique mobiliserait toute votre énergie.

Ce voyage est réservé à une génération spéciale de monarques au Canada : les monarques qui naissent à la fin du mois d’août et en septembre chaque année. Cette génération vit six fois plus longtemps que les autres monarques (dont la durée de vie moyenne est d’environ un mois). Le monarque longévif ne ressent pas l’envie de se reproduire; il consacre toute son énergie à se créer des réserves de graisse lui permettant d’accomplir l’incroyable voyage vers le sud jusqu’à une forêt montagneuse du centre du Mexique.

Les monarques sont inscrits sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada. Vous pouvez les aider en plantant des asclépiades, la seule plante que les chenilles du monarque peuvent manger.

Les endroits où il est possible d’observer des monarques :

Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée (Ontario), qui est l’un des chemins les plus courts pour traverser les Grands Lacs, est un excellent endroit pour voir les papillons en migration. Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée travaille fort pour préserver l’habitat du monarque : l’habitat de savanes.

6. Caribous de la toundra (harde de la Porcupine) — 4 800 kilomètres aller-retour

Caribou de la toundra .

La harde de la Porcupine est l’une des huit principales populations de caribous de la toundra qui se trouvent dans le Nord canadien. Cette harde est présente dans le nord du Yukon, le nord-est de l’Alaska et une partie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, traversant les parcs nationaux Vuntut et Ivvavik du Yukon. Les aires de mise bas traditionnelles de la harde de la Porcupine sont les chaînes côtières de la Réserve faunique nationale de l’Arctique en Alaska.

Les caribous ne sont pas seulement une espèce-proie importante pour les loups et les ours, ils sont également au cœur des cultures des peuples autochtones. Depuis des milliers d’années, les Gwitchin et les Inuvialuits du Yukon dépendent de la harde de la Porcupine pour se nourrir, se vêtir et s’outiller.

Les endroits où il est possible d’observer des caribous de la Porcupine :

Les parcs nationaux Vuntut et Ivvavik, Yukon.