Removing industrial waste in Qausuittuq National Park will restore habitat for the endangered Peary caribou.


For a good part of the year, Qausuittuq National Park is a world without dawn or sunset. Here the sun stays below the horizon for several months in winter. (Qausuittuq—pronounced “Kow-soo-ee-took”—means “place where the sun doesn't rise” in Inuktitut).

But in the summer, the landscape is correspondingly flooded with seemingly endless sunlight.

Covering much of the northern half of Bathurst Island, as well as a number of smaller nearby islands, Qausuittuq is one of the Arctic’s most austerely beautiful areas. The landscape seems to have been distilled down to its essentials—ice, sky, rock and brilliant wildflowers such as the yellow Arctic poppy.

Bathurst Island is part of the range of the iconic Peary caribou, a vital source of food, clothing, and tools for local Inuit. A key reason for creating the park was to protect the caribou habitat found on the island.


Tundra landscape with the sea in the background
Qausuittuq National Park (photo: Jovan Simic)

The population of Peary caribou, found mainly in the Arctic Archipelago islands of Nunavut and the NWT, was once over 50,000 strong in the 1960s. But it went into a steep decline in the mid-1990s and is still recovering overall.

In the 1970’s and 1980’s, Bathurst Island and the surrounding area experienced a significant amount of oil and gas exploration, which has left a legacy of industrial waste.

The waste includes metal debris such as empty fuel drums as well as concrete and wood waste. Some of the waste is a source of heavy metals and other contaminants.

During negotiations to establish the park, local Inuit raised concerns about the waste and how it was affecting wildlife, including Peary caribou. Parks Canada shared these concerns and committed to cleaning up the waste.


Qausuittuq: protecting a way of life

Qausuittuq National Park is cooperatively managed by Parks Canada and Inuit through the Qausuittuq Park Management Committee. This committee consists of community members from nearby Resolute Bay, appointed by the Qikiqtani Inuit Association and by the Government of Canada.

Parks Canada works closely with the committee and residents of Resolute Bay to develop visitor experiences for one of Canada’s newest parks, while protecting it. As such, visitation to the park is limited while these experiences are still being developed.

As part of the Inuit Impact and Benefits Agreement negotiated with the community, traditional harvesting rights are guaranteed. The park also provides employment and economic opportunities for local people.

Removing scars from the land

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC), through the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP), is responsible for removing the hazardous waste associated with these oil and gas exploration camps in Qausuittuq. Parks Canada is responsible for removing non-hazardous waste, which is not covered by the FCSAP.

The first step was to remove empty fuel barrels. It was no easy task given the unpredictable weather of the region. To make matters worse, a reconnaissance mission revealed that many supposedly empty barrels did in fact contain waste. Parks Canada was able to rely on the community’s help and expertise to locate the drums and remove them.

Parks Canada staff brought in a helicopter to collect empty barrels from five registered contaminated sites and two non-registered sites within the park. The barrels were then deposited at locations accessible to a Twin Otter plane, which brought the containers to Resolute Bay.

Altogether, the team removed 194 barrels over two summers, exceeding their target by four.

Two people moving empty fuel drums beside a plane
Jane Chisholm, Ecologist Team Leader (left) and Angela Piercey, Qausuittuq National Park Manager Trainee, shifting barrels (photo: Jovan Simic).

Working in collaboration with CIRNAC (for the 2019 work), the team has also begun removing the remaining non-hazardous waste—a multi-year venture that includes an abandoned trailer camp that staff members discovered on their own.

All this is good news for Peary caribou, a species at risk. The smallest of Canada’s caribou, it is already facing threats from climate change, including more severe weather events. The clean-up of the barrels makes the sites more useable for the animals and reduces their risk of exposure to contaminants.

And it removes a scar from this land of raw beauty.

“It was great to help lead such a positive initiative within the park that so many residents of Resolute Bay had been calling for prior to Qausuittuq’s establishment in 2015,” says Angela Piercey, park manager trainee for Qausuittuq National Park.

“The work done through Tidy Tundra = Healthy Herd will help remove any human obstructions along Peary caribou migration paths within the park, and in turn contribute to the survival of caribou relied upon by local Inuit.”

L’enlèvement des déchets industriels dans le parc national Qausuittuq permettra de restaurer l’habitat du caribou de Peary, une espèce menacée.


Pendant une bonne partie de l’année, le parc national Qausuittuq   est un monde sans aurore ni coucher de soleil. Ici, le soleil reste sous l’horizon pendant plusieurs mois en hiver. (Qausuittuq—prononcer « Kow-soo-ee-took » – signifie « lieu où le soleil ne se lève pas » en Inuktitut).

Mais en été, le paysage est inondé d’une lumière solaire qui semble éternelle.

Couvrant une grande partie de la moitié nord de l’île Bathurst, ainsi qu’un certain nombre de petites îles voisines, Qausuittuq est l’une des régions de l’Arctique dont la beauté austère est pratiquement sans égale. Le paysage semble avoir été distillé jusqu’à ses éléments essentiels : la glace, le ciel, le roc et de brillantes fleurs jaunes sauvages comme le pavot Arctique.

L’île Bathurst fait partie du territoire de l’emblématique caribou de Peary, source vitale de nourriture, de vêtements et d’outils pour les Inuits de la région. L’une des principales raisons de la création du parc était de protéger l’habitat du caribou sur l’île.


Paysage de la toundra avec la mer en arrière-plan
Parc national Qausuittuq (photo : Jovan Simic)

Dans les années 1960, la population de caribous de Peary, qu’on trouve surtout dans les îles de l’archipel Arctique du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, était de plus de 50 000 individus. Mais il a connu un déclin marqué au milieu des années 1990 et il est encore en voie de rétablissement.

Dans les années 1970 et 1980, l’île Bathurst et ses environs ont fait l’objet d’importantes activités d’exploration pétrolière et gazière qui ont généré des déchets industriels qu’on a laissés sur place.

Ces déchets comprennent des débris métalliques comme des barils de carburant vides ainsi que des déchets de béton et de bois. Une partie de ces déchets est une source de métaux lourds et d’autres contaminants.

Au cours des négociations en vue de l’établissement du parc, les Inuits de la région ont exprimé leurs préoccupations au sujet des déchets et de leur incidence sur la faune, y compris le caribou de Peary. Parcs Canada partageait ces préoccupations et s’est engagé à nettoyer les déchets.


Qausuittuq : protéger un mode de vie

Le parc national Qausuittuq est géré en collaboration par Parcs Canada et les Inuits par l’entremise du Comité de gestion du parc Qausuittuq. Ce comité est composé de membres de la collectivité de Resolute Bay, située à proximité, nommés par la Qikiqtani Inuit Association et par le gouvernement du Canada.

Parcs Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec le comité et les résidents de Resolute Bay pour développer des expériences touristiques tout en protégeant ce parc qui figure parmi les plus récents du Canada. Par conséquent, la fréquentation du parc est limitée pendant l’élaboration de ces expériences.

Dans le cadre de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits négociée avec la collectivité, les droits de récolte traditionnels sont garantis. Le parc offre également des emplois et des possibilités économiques aux gens de la région.

Effacer les cicatrices de la terre

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC), par l’entremise du Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF), est responsable de l’enlèvement des déchets dangereux associés à ces camps d’exploration pétrolière et gazière à Qausuittuq. Parcs Canada est responsable de l’élimination des déchets non dangereux qui ne sont pas visés par le PASCF.

La première étape consistait à retirer les barils de carburant vides. Ce n’était pas une tâche facile, compte tenu du climat imprévisible de la région. Pis encore, une mission de reconnaissance a révélé que de nombreux barils qu’on avait supposés vides contenaient des déchets. Parcs Canada a pu compter sur l’aide et l’expertise des membres de la collectivité pour trouver les barils et les enlever.

Le personnel de Parcs Canada a fait venir un hélicoptère pour recueillir les barils vides de cinq sites contaminés enregistrés et de deux sites non enregistrés dans le parc. Les barils ont ensuite été déposés à des endroits accessibles à un avion Twin Otter, qui a amené les conteneurs à Resolute Bay.

Au total, l’équipe a retiré 194 barils au cours de deux étés, récupérant ainsi quatre barils de plus que prévu.

Deux personnes en train de déplacer des barils de carburant vides à côté d’un avion.
Jane Chisholm, chef d’équipe écologiste (à gauche) et Angela Piercey, gestionnaire en formation du parc national Qausuittuq, en train de manipuler des barils (photo : Jovan Simic)

En collaboration avec RCAANC (pour le travail de 2019), l’équipe a également commencé à éliminer les déchets non dangereux restants. C’est une entreprise pluriannuelle qui comprend l’élimination d’un camp de roulottes abandonné que les membres du personnel ont découvert en explorant les environs.

Tout cela est une bonne nouvelle pour le caribou de Peary, une espèce en péril. Le plus petit des caribous du Canada fait déjà face à des menaces liées aux changements climatiques, y compris d’autres phénomènes météorologiques violents. L’élimination des barils rend les sites plus utilisables pour les animaux et réduit leur risque d’exposition à des contaminants.

Et il efface une cicatrice de cette terre d’une beauté brute.

« C’était formidable d’aider à diriger une initiative si positive dans ce parc que tant de résidents de Resolute Bay réclamaient avant la création de Qausuittuq en 2015 », explique Angela Piercey, gestionnaire en formation du parc national Qausuittuq.

« Le travail effectué dans le cadre du projet Toundra nettoyée = caribous en santé aidera à éliminer tout obstacle d’origine humaine le long des voies de migration du caribou de Peary dans le parc. Il contribuera également à la survie du caribou, essentiel au mode de vie des Inuits de la région. »