Two steps are involved in managing any system:

  • knowing what’s there
  • checking on its status from time to time

…In other words, inventory and monitoring.

Inventory

Each park has a list of the plant and animal species that occur there, and these species are tracked using the Biotics Web Explorer. Specialized inventories take place to keep track of species at risk as well as hard-to-identify groups like insects.

Parks Canada also uses satellites and drones to update maps of plants and landforms. In addition, citizen science activities provide valuable species information that supports inventory work.

Bear and three cubs
A grizzly bear and three cubs, Glacier National Park

Monitoring

Ecosystem monitoring measures changes in ecosystems over time. At Parks Canada, we manage ecosystems to maintain or restore ecological integrity (EI). The Agency reports on ecological integrity in each park to show where more effort is required.

Each park identifies 2–4 ecosystems (e.g. forest, freshwater, tundra) and selects 5 of the best indicators of how each ecosystem is doing. Each ecosystem must have at least:

  • one species indicator (e.g. number of songbirds)
  • one process indicator (e.g. fire frequency)
  • one indicator of a stress on the ecosystem (e.g. water quality)

Most indicators are measured every year, though some, like forest cover, change slowly and are only revisited every decade.

Close-up of snake
Eastern hognose snake, Georgian Bay Islands National Park.

Each indicator is judged to be in good, fair or poor condition by comparing it to the relevant feature of a healthy ecosystem. For example, in assessing their species indicator, parks staff might find far fewer songbirds than would be expected for a healthy ecosystem of that region. In that case, the indicator would get a “poor” ranking. The same comparison is done for all indicators, from water quality to fire frequency. Each monitored ecosystem is judged to be in good, fair or poor condition based on the average of its indicators.

Ecosystems that are in better condition than 5 years ago are considered to be improving, while those that are in the same condition are considered maintained. Parks Canada is working to maintain or improve 92% of its ecosystems by 2023.

La gestion d’un système comporte deux étapes :

  • savoir ce qu’il y a là
  • vérifier son état de temps à autre

…autrement dit, inventaire et surveillance.

Inventaire

Chaque parc a une liste des espèces végétales et animales qui y sont présentes, et ces espèces font l’objet d’un suivi à l’aide de l’Explorateur Web Biotics. Des inventaires spécialisés sont faits pour suivre les espèces en péril et les groupes difficiles à identifier comme les insectes.

Parcs Canada utilise également des satellites et des drones pour mettre à jour les cartes des plantes et du relief. De plus, les activités de science citoyenne fournissent des renseignements précieux qui appuient le travail d’inventaire des espèces.

Ours et trois oursons
Un grizzli et trois oursons, parc national des Glaciers

Surveillance

La surveillance des écosystèmes permet de mesurer l’ampleur des changements dans les écosystèmes au fil du temps. À Parcs Canada, nous gérons les écosystèmes pour maintenir ou restaurer l’intégrité écologique (IE). L’Agence rend compte de l’intégrité écologique de chaque parc pour montrer où il faut déployer plus d’efforts :

Chaque parc identifie de deux à quatre écosystèmes (p. ex., forêt, eau douce, toundra) et choisit cinq des meilleurs indicateurs de l’état de chaque écosystème. Chaque écosystème doit avoir au moins :

  • un indicateur d’espèce (p. ex., nombre d’oiseaux chanteurs)
  • un indicateur de processus (p. ex., fréquence des incendies)
  • un indicateur d’un facteur de stress sur l’écosystème (p. ex., qualité de l’eau).

La plupart des indicateurs sont mesurés chaque année, bien que certains, comme le couvert forestier, changent lentement et ne sont réexaminés que tous les dix ans.

Gros plan du serpent
Couleuvre à nez plat, parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne.

On juge que chaque indicateur montre un état bon, moyen ou mauvais en le comparant à la caractéristique correspondante d’un écosystème sain. Par exemple, en évaluant l’indicateur des espèces, le personnel des parcs pourrait trouver beaucoup moins d’oiseaux chanteurs que ce à quoi on pourrait s’attendre pour un écosystème sain de cette région. Dans ce cas, l’indicateur obtiendrait un classement « faible ». La même comparaison est faite pour tous les indicateurs, de la qualité de l’eau à la fréquence des incendies.

Chaque écosystème surveillé est jugé en bon état, en état passable ou en mauvais état en faisant la moyenne de ses indicateurs.

Les écosystèmes qui sont en meilleur état qu’il y a cinq ans sont considérés en voie d’amélioration, tandis que ceux qui sont dans le même état sont considérés maintenus. Parcs Canada s’emploie à maintenir ou à améliorer 92 % de ses écosystèmes d’ici 2023.