Under the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (UNCBD), Canada is committed to protecting biodiversity and conserving at least 17 per cent of land and inland waters, and 10 per cent of coastal and marine waters by 2020, in collaboration with Indigenous partners, stakeholders and other levels of government.

To measure progress on meeting this commitment, Canada must report the number and size of protected areas and ‘’other effective area-based conservation measures’’ that contribute to these targets.


Aerial view of fort walls with a lighthouse beyond.

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites

Protected areas = Geographic spaces recognized, dedicated and managed to achieve long-term conservation of nature. National parks and national marine conservation areas are examples of protected areas.

Other effective area-based conservation measures (OECM) = Geographic spaces governed and managed in ways that achieve sustained results for the conservation of nature even if their primary purpose is not nature conservation.

OECM is not an official designation and does not result in changes in the management of the site. It is rather a reflection of the conservation benefits of the sites under their current management regime. Some of Canada’s national historic sites and historic canals could be examples of OECMs.

Parks Canada and other effective area-based conservation measures


Aerial view of forested island with quay.

Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site

Parks Canada is assessing several national historic sites and canals to determine whether they may qualify as OECMs, and therefore contribute to the conservation targets.

Although their designation as historic sites would not change, these sites could also be internationally recognized for protecting biological diversity within their boundaries.

For more information on other effective area-based conservation measures, including some that have been identified by jurisdictions across Canada, visit:

Dans le cadre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique des Nations Unies, le Canada s’est engagé à protéger la biodiversité et à conserver, d’ici 2020, au moins 17 % des terres et des eaux intérieures, ainsi que 10 % des eaux côtières et marines, du pays en collaboration avec les partenaires autochtones, les intervenants et les autres ordres de gouvernement.

Pour mesurer les progrès accomplis en vue du respect de cet engagement, le Canada doit rendre compte du nombre et de la superficie des aires protégées et des « autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone » qui contribuent à l’atteinte de ces cibles.

Vue aérienne des murs du fort avec un phare au loin.

Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard

Aires protégées = Espaces géographiques reconnus, dédiés et gérés de manière à assurer la conservation de la nature à long terme. Les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation constituent des exemples d’aires protégées.

Autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone (AMCEZ) = Espaces géographiques réglementés et gérés de manière à obtenir des résultats durables pour la conservation de la nature, même si leur principal objectif n’est pas la conservation de la nature.

Une AMCEZ n’est pas une désignation officielle, et l’attribution de ce titre n’entraîne donc aucune modification de la gestion des lieux. Il s’agit plutôt d’une expression des avantages de la conservation des lieux conformément à leur régime de gestion actuel. Certains des lieux historiques et canaux historiques nationaux du Canada pourraient constituer des exemples d’AMCEZ.

Parcs Canada et les autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone

Vue aérienne d’une l'île boisée avec un quai.

Lieu historique national de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais

Parcs Canada évalue plusieurs lieux et canaux historiques nationaux pour déterminer s’ils pourraient entrer dans la catégorie des AMCEZ, et ainsi contribuer à l’atteinte des cibles en matière de conservation.

Malgré le maintien de leur désignation en tant que lieu historique, ces sites pourraient également être reconnus à l’échelle internationale pour la protection de la diversité biologique qui se fait à l’intérieur de leurs limites.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone, notamment certaines qui ont été recensées par des administrations partout au Canada, consultez :