Jump ahead thirty years. Will you still see your favourite birds in your local national park? Parks Canada and its partners have collaborated on a nationwide study to understand the effects of climate change on bird populations.


Birds have an amazing ability to evoke moods, landscapes and seasons. A loon’s call conjures up a wilderness lake. A V-shaped flock of honking geese signals the end of summer. On a freezing January day, when the leafless woods around you seem mineralized with the cold, the distant tapping of a woodpecker is a reminder that life continues even in the dead of winter.

Birds enrich our experience of nature through their colours, songs and flight patterns. But how will our experience change in the next thirty years, as bird populations shift with climate change?

As baseball great Yogi Berra said, predictions are hard—especially about the future. The big picture on climate change doesn’t appear instantly, like a selfie; we build it up over time as more data is analyzed and models are revised. 

And although uncertainty exists, we know protected areas will continue to serve as a cornerstone of our conservation efforts, but that even these areas are not invulnerable to the impacts of climate change. Planning and adaptation are therefore essential.

That's why Parks Canada partnered with the National Audubon Society (U.S.), Canadian Wildlife Service and Birds Canada on a national study of birds and climate change. Building on an earlier study on bird populations in U.S. national parks, the partners explored the changes that might occur in Canada’s national parks and national marine conservation areas over the next thirty years.

Parks Canada Ecosystem Scientist Dr. Scott Parker led the Parks Canada team that contributed to the study.

Peregrine falcon in flight.
Peregrine falcon, just one of the 434 species of birds whose future range in Parks Canada’s sites was modelled as part of the study. (Photo: Darroch Whitaker)

The study looked at the rate of “turnover” in the bird species assemblage—that is, the change in species composition—for each site. Averaged across all sites, the team projects a 25 per cent turnover in species for the summer and a 30 per cent turnover in species for the winter, by the 2050’s. (That’s assuming our current high rate of greenhouse gas emissions continues.)

The highest rate of species change is expected to be in sites in the Atlantic and Arctic regions.

For example, as current species move out and new ones move in, Torngat Mountains National Park in Newfoundland and Labrador is projected to experience a 50 per cent turnover of the summer species assemblage and 70 per cent of the winter species assemblage.

Climate change – a bird’s eye view

Every bird species has its own unique set of environmental tolerances—requirements in terms of seasonal temperatures, patterns of precipitation, nesting and feeding areas, timing of breeding and so on. As these conditions change, birds will have to adapt to survive.

Many species will shift their range and, as this occurs, all of Parks Canada’s sites are projected to experience some change in species composition – both in terms of colonization, as some new species move in, and extirpation as some of the existing species can no longer persist in the area.

This is already happening in such places as Torngat Mountains National Park. Field observations by park staff have shown that northern boreal “treeline” birds are expanding their ranges northward into the park (which falls within the Arctic Cordillera ecozone).

blackpoll warbler
The blackpoll warbler, a common songbird in the northern boreal forest, is now a regular breeding species at many locations in Torngat Mountains National Park. (Photo: Darroch Whitaker)

But other birds may find it difficult to shift their ranges. They have a very precise combination of habitat requirements that may not be met in a changing climate—because (for example) there may be lags of many decades or even centuries before their preferred habitat can catch up with the shifting climate.

An example is Harris’s Sparrow. It breeds principally near the treeline in northern Canada and is the only songbird that breeds exclusively in this country. The Audubon Society projects that it will lose 99 per cent of its summer range, since the tundra-forest margin is particularly vulnerable to climate change. The bird could thus disappear in the summer months from Wapusk National Park in Manitoba.

What’s in store for the birds we love?

Common loon – As it shifts its range northward, the common loon could potentially disappear in the summer months from mid-latitude national parks in central and eastern Canada, including Rouge, Thousand Islands, Kouchibouguac and Cape Breton Highlands.

Ruffed grouse – Known for its courtship “drumming,” where the male rapidly beats its wings, the ruffed grouse could similarly shift its range northward and disappear from mid-latitude parks in Ontario.

Peregrine falcon – Although a few southern sites may no longer be climatically suitable for this species, the majority of Parks Canada sites will experience stable or improving conditions in summer. Notably, twelve sites are projected to experience potential colonization by this species in winter.

Climate refugia

As birds inhabit protected areas across North America, such areas will become increasing vital as “climate refugia.” These are places where the effects of climate change are tempered by certain natural features, allowing vulnerable species to persist.

For example, mountains may allow temperate species to shift upslope to cooler climatic zones. Lakes can absorb heat and produce cooling breezes. Islands within protected areas often lie beyond the reach of wildfires (which are projected to become more frequent with climate change). North-facing slopes are often cooler than south-facing ones.

A  group of birdwatchers.
Data provided by amateur birders can contribute to scientific research.

With such environmental features, climate refugia become a kind of backwater (in the positive sense) where the effects of climate change are buffered and not so immediate.

Habitats and conditions may remain suitable for longer periods of time.

Wildlife then has some breathing space to survive and even adapt in a place that is relatively free from the other stressors it faces, such as human development and loss of habitat.

Parks Canada actively manages and restores ecosystems, and each site will have to respond to species turnover in its own way.

This might mean creating suitable habitat for newcomer species (for example, by assisting the migration of plants and trees so that habitat change can keep up with climate), or lessening disturbance around nesting areas, or better connecting landscapes inside and outside parks.

Regardless, simultaneously managing for persistence and change will become an increasing challenge for parks.

This study on birds and climate change brings home to all bird lovers the need for action on climate change. Scientists estimate that we have a ten-year window to curb greenhouse gas emissions and hold the global temperature rise to 1.5 degrees. If we don’t act now, says Parks Canada’s Dr. Scott Parker, “we’re locking into a change, a trajectory, that will have profound consequences for the species and ecosystems we so deeply care about and strive to protect.”

What you can do

  • Large-scale studies such as the one described here depend on data contributed by amateur birders. While some parks such as Point Pelee National Park boast a comprehensive inventory of species, others have very limited lists. You can support scientific research by contributing to databases such as iNaturalist.
  • Find out how you can take climate action. For some tips on reducing your carbon footprint, see Parks Canada’s T-Shirt Wisdom on Climate Change. Check out the Government of Canada’s Protect Nature Challenge and discover more ways to fight climate change.

Projetez-vous dans trente ans. Aurez-vous encore l’occasion d’observer vos oiseaux préférés dans votre parc national local? Parcs Canada et ses partenaires ont collaboré à une étude nationale visant à comprendre les effets des changements climatiques sur les populations d’oiseaux.


Les oiseaux ont une capacité étonnante à évoquer les humeurs, les paysages et les saisons. Le cri d’un huard évoque un lac sauvage. Le cri d’une volée d’oies volant en formant un V signale la fin de l’été. Par une journée glaciale de janvier, alors que les bois dénudés qui vous entourent semblent minéralisés par le froid, le tapotement lointain d’un pic rappelle que la vie continue même au cœur de l’hiver.

Les oiseaux enrichissent notre expérience de la nature par leurs couleurs, leurs chants et leurs modes de vol. Mais comment notre expérience va-t-elle évoluer au cours des trente prochaines années, alors que les populations d’oiseaux se déplacent en fonction des changements climatiques?

Comme le disait le grand joueur de baseball Yogi Berra, il est difficile de faire des prévisions, surtout en ce qui concerne l’avenir. La vue d’ensemble sur les changements climatiques n’apparaît pas instantanément, comme une autophoto; nous la construisons au fil du temps, à mesure qu’une plus grande quantité de données est analysée et que les modèles sont révisés.

Bien que nous ne puissions pas prédire exactement les impacts futurs du changement climatique, nous savons que les aires protégées continueront d’être la pierre angulaire de nos efforts de conservation dans des conditions climatiques changeantes en protégeant les habitats, aujourd’hui et à l'avenir. La planification et l'adaptation sont donc essentielles.

C’est pourquoi Parcs Canada s’est associé à la National Audubon Society (États-Unis), au Service canadien de la faune et à Oiseaux Canada dans le cadre d’une étude nationale sur les oiseaux et les changements climatiques. S’appuyant sur une étude antérieure visant les populations d’oiseaux dans les parcs nationaux américains, les partenaires ont exploré les changements qui pourraient survenir dans les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada au cours des trente prochaines années.

M. Scott Parker (Ph.D.), scientifique de l’écosystème de Parcs Canada, a dirigé l’équipe de Parcs Canada qui a contribué à l’étude.

Faucon pèlerin en vol.
Le Faucon pèlerin, l’une des 434 espèces d’oiseaux dont l’aire de répartition future dans les sites de Parcs Canada a été modélisée dans le cadre de l’étude. (Photo : Darroch Whitaker)

L’étude a porté sur le taux de « renouvellement » de l’assemblage d’espèces d’oiseaux—c’est-à-dire le changement dans la composition des espèces—pour chaque site. Si l’on fait la moyenne de tous les sites, l’équipe prévoit un renouvellement de 25 % des espèces en été et de 30 % en hiver d’ici 2050 (en supposant que le taux actuel élevé d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre se maintienne).

Le taux le plus élevé de changement d’espèces devrait se trouver dans les sites des régions de l’Atlantique et de l’Arctique.

Par exemple, alors des espèces actuelles s’en vont et que de nouvelles espèces arrivent, le Parc national des Monts-Torngat à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador devrait connaître un renouvellement de 50 % de l’assemblage des espèces estivales et de 70 % de l’assemblage des espèces hivernales.

Changements climatiques – vue d’ensemble

Chaque espèce d’oiseau possède un ensemble unique de tolérances environnementales—exigences en termes de températures saisonnières, de régimes de précipitations, de zones de nidification et d’alimentation, de périodes de reproduction, etc. Lorsque ces conditions changeront, les oiseaux devront s’adapter pour survivre.

De nombreuses espèces déplaceront leur aire de répartition et, à mesure que cela se produira, tous les sites de Parcs Canada devraient connaître des changements dans la composition des espèces – tant sur le plan de la colonisation, lorsque de nouvelles espèces s’installeront, que sur celui de la disparition, lorsque certaines des espèces existantes ne pourront plus survivre dans la région.

C’est déjà le cas dans des endroits comme le parc national des Monts-Torngat. Les observations sur le terrain effectuées par le personnel du parc ont montré que les oiseaux à la limite de la zone arborée boréale septentrionale étendent leur aire de répartition vers le nord dans le parc (qui fait partie de l’écozone de la Cordillère arctique).

Paruline rayée.
La Paruline rayée, un oiseau chanteur commun dans la forêt boréale septentrionale, est désormais une espèce nicheuse régulière à plusieurs endroits dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat. (Photo : Darroch Whitaker)

Mais d’autres oiseaux peuvent avoir du mal à modifier leur aire de répartition. Ils ont une combinaison très précise d’exigences en matière d’habitat qui peuvent ne pas être satisfaites dans un climat changeant—parce que (par exemple) il peut y avoir des décalages de plusieurs décennies, voire des siècles, avant que leur habitat privilégié ne puisse s’adapter au climat changeant.

Le Bruant à face noire en est un exemple. Il se reproduit principalement près de la limite de la zone arborée dans le nord du Canada et est le seul oiseau chanteur qui se reproduit exclusivement dans ce pays. Selon les prévisions de la National Audubon Society, il perdra 99 % de son aire de répartition estivale, la marge entre la toundra et la forêt étant particulièrement vulnérable aux changements climatiques. L’oiseau pourrait ainsi disparaître du parc national Wapusk au Manitoba pendant les mois d’été.

Que réserve l’avenir aux oiseaux que nous aimons?

Plongeon huard – Comme il déplace son aire de répartition vers le nord, le Plongeon huard pourrait disparaître pendant les mois d’été des parcs nationaux des latitudes moyennes du centre et de l’est du Canada, notamment le parc urbain national de la Rouge, le parc national des Mille-Îles, le parc national Kouchibouguac et le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

Gélinotte huppée – Connue pour son « tambourinage » de parade nuptiale, où le mâle bat rapidement des ailes, la Gélinotte huppée pourrait également déplacer son aire de répartition vers le nord et disparaître des parcs des latitudes moyennes en Ontario.

Faucon pèlerin – Bien que le climat de quelques sites du sud ne convienne plus à cette espèce, la majorité des sites de Parcs Canada connaîtront des conditions stables ou en amélioration en été. Plus précisément, douze sites devraient connaître une colonisation potentielle par cette espèce en hiver.

Refuges climatiques

À mesure que les oiseaux s’installent dans les aires protégées d’Amérique du Nord, ces dernières deviendront de plus en plus vitales en tant que « refuges climatiques ». Il s’agit de lieux où les effets des changements climatiques sont tempérés par certaines caractéristiques naturelles, permettant aux espèces vulnérables de survivre.

Par exemple, les montagnes permettent aux espèces tempérées de se déplacer vers le haut des pentes, vers des zones climatiques plus fraîches. Les lacs peuvent absorber la chaleur et produire des brises rafraîchissantes. Les îles situées dans des aires protégées se trouvent souvent hors de portée des incendies de forêt (dont la fréquence devrait augmenter avec les changements climatiques). Les pentes orientées au nord sont souvent plus fraîches que celles orientées au sud.

Un groupe d'ornithologues.
Les données fournies par les ornithologues amateurs peuvent contribuer à la recherche scientifique.

Avec de telles caractéristiques environnementales, les refuges climatiques deviennent une sorte de marigot (au sens positif du terme) où les effets des changements climatiques sont atténués et moins immédiats.

Les habitats et les conditions peuvent rester appropriés pendant des périodes plus longues. La faune dispose alors d’un peu de temps pour survivre et même s’adapter dans un endroit relativement exempt des autres facteurs de stress auxquels elle est confrontée, tels que le développement humain et la perte d’habitat.

Parcs Canada gère et restaure activement les écosystèmes, et chaque site devra réagir à sa façon au renouvellement des espèces.

Des recherches et des analyses supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour déterminer où les refuges climatiques profiteraient aux espèces les plus touchées par le changement climatique. La protection et la restauration des refuges climatiques pourraient réduire le renouvellement des espèces d'oiseaux et fournir des habitats «tremplin» à travers le paysage pour aider les espèces à élargir leur aire de répartition. Réduire les perturbations autour des zones de nidification, ou une meilleure connexion des paysages à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des parcs, pourraient également aider les espèces d'oiseaux au fil du temps.

Quoi qu’il en soit, la gestion simultanée de la persistance et du changement deviendra un défi croissant pour les parcs.

Cette étude sur les oiseaux et les changements climatiques fait prendre conscience à tous les amateurs d’oiseaux de la nécessité d’agir sur les changements climatiques. Les scientifiques estiment que nous disposons d’une période de dix ans pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et limiter la hausse de la température mondiale à 1,5 degré. Si nous n’agissons pas maintenant, dit M. Scott Parker de Parcs Canada, « nous seront bloqués dans un changement, une trajectoire, qui auront de profondes conséquences pour les espèces et les écosystèmes qui nous tiennent tant à cœur et que nous nous efforçons de protéger ».

Ce que vous pouvez faire

  • Les études à grande échelle telles que celle décrite ici dépendent des données fournies par les ornithologues amateurs. Si certains parcs, comme le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, disposent d’un inventaire complet des espèces, d’autres ont des listes très limitées. Vous pouvez soutenir la recherche scientifique en contribuant aux bases de données telles que iNaturalist.
  • Découvrez comment vous pouvez participer aux actions pour le climat. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la manière de réduire votre empreinte carbonique, consultez la page de Parcs Canada Des devises sur le thème des changements climatiques pour vos t-shirts. Consultez la page du gouvernement du Canada Défi de protection de la nature et découvrez d’autres moyens de lutter contre les changements climatiques.