When it comes to tackling the biggest environmental challenge of our time, nature is still the best engineer. Here are eight ways our protected areas serve as natural solutions to climate change.

1. Protected areas preserve clean water, soil and air.

Even if you live far from a protected area, you need its “ecosystem services.” Banff National Park, for example, protects the Bow River Basin watershed—and clean drinking water for 1.2 million people. Such protection becomes even more important during extreme weather events, such as droughts and floods, brought about by climate change.

2. Protected areas store carbon.

Natural areas capture and store carbon dioxide, a major greenhouse gas. Forests and oceans do a great job at this, but they’re not the only carbon “sinks.” Salt marshes on the Pacific coast of Canada appear to be storing as much carbon per hectare as a lot of our forested lands.

3. Conserving and restoring protected areas makes them resilient.

By conserving and restoring protected areas, Parks Canada maintains biodiversity and keeps ecosystems strong. Strong, diverse ecosystems are resilient—that is, better able to cope with the impacts of climate change. A healthy forest with many tree species, for example, can recover better from insect pests.

4. Connecting protected areas makes them even more resilient.

Protected areas, like people, are stronger in a community. Parks Canada is working with its partners to create a network of protected areas that will conserve at least 17% of lands and inland waters, and 10% of coastal and marine areas, by 2020.

5. Protected areas conserve species.

Protected areas are safe harbours for wildlife. They allow plants and animals to adapt as their habitats change with the climate.

6. Protected areas are living laboratories.

Scientists in our national parks can monitor changes in ecosystems—including melting glaciers, shifting migration patterns and trends in wildfires—using over 500 independent scientific measures. Protected areas help give us the big picture on climate change.

7. Indigenous knowledge of protected areas gives us a more complete view of climate change.

The knowledge of Indigenous peoples is a well that runs countless generations deep. Learning from Indigenous peoples strengthens our understanding of climate change and guides us in our choice of adaptation strategies.

8. Protected areas inspire people.

Our national parks inspire us to do something about climate change—and give us the knowledge we need to make a difference.

Protected areas depend on the work of dedicated staff, scientists and volunteers. Find out more about the people behind the scenes at Parks Canada… and how you can help them protect our natural and cultural heritage.

Pour s’attaquer au plus grand défi environnemental de notre époque, la nature demeure le meilleur maître d’œuvre. Voici huit rôles que jouent nos aires protégées comme solutions naturelles au changement climatique.

1. Les aires protégées préservent la qualité de l’eau, le sol et l’air.

Même si vous habitez loin d’une aire protégée, ses « écoservices » vous sont utiles. Le parc national Banff, par exemple, protège le bassin hydrographique du bassin de la rivière Bow – et l’eau potable propre pour 1,2 million de personnes. Une telle protection prend encore plus d’importance pendant les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, comme les sécheresses et les inondations, provoqués par le changement climatique.

2. Les aires protégées stockent le carbone.

Les aires naturelles captent et stockent le dioxyde de carbone, un important gaz à effet de serre. Les forêts et les océans accomplissent un excellent travail, mais ne sont pas les seuls « puits » de carbone. Les marais salés sur la côte du Pacifique du Canada stockeraient autant de carbone par hectare qu’une bonne partie de nos terres forestières.

3. Conserver et restaurer les aires protégées contribue à leur résilience.

En conservant et restaurant les aires protégées, Parcs Canada maintient la biodiversité et assure la santé des écosystèmes. Les écosystèmes forts et diversifiés sont résilients, c’est-à-dire qu’ils peuvent mieux s’adapter aux impacts du changement climatique. Une forêt saine comptant de nombreuses essences, par exemple, peut mieux résister aux insectes nuisibles.

4. Établir un réseau d’aires protégées les rend encore plus résilientes.

Les aires protégées, comme les gens, sont plus fortes en groupe. Parcs Canada collabore avec ses partenaires à la création d’un réseau d’aires protégées qui conservera au moins 17 % des aires terrestres et eaux intérieures et 10 % des zones côtières et marines d’ici 2020.

5. Les aires protégées conservent les espèces.

Les aires protégées sont des refuges pour les espèces sauvages. Elles permettent aux plantes et animaux de s’adapter à leur habitat touché par le changement climatique.

6. Les aires protégées sont des laboratoires vivants.

Les scientifiques dans nos parcs nationaux peuvent surveiller les changements dans les écosystèmes, y compris la fonte des glaciers, l’évolution des habitudes migratoires et les tendances relatives aux incendies forestiers, à l’aide de plus de 500 mesures scientifiques indépendantes. Les aires protégées nous aident à obtenir une vue d’ensemble du changement climatique.

7. Les connaissances des Autochtones sur les aires protégées nous permettent de dresser un portrait plus complet du changement climatique.

Les connaissances des Autochtones sont une mine inépuisable qui remonte à la nuit des temps. Apprendre des Autochtones enrichit notre compréhension du changement climatique et nous guide dans nos choix de stratégies d’adaptation.

8. Les aires protégées inspirent les gens.

Nos parcs nationaux nous inspirent à ne pas rester indifférents au changement climatique et nous donnent les connaissances nécessaires pour changer les choses.

Les aires protégées comptent sur le travail de membres du personnel dévoués, de scientifiques et de bénévoles. Apprenez-en davantage sur les personnes en coulisses à Parcs Canada… et sur la façon dont vous pouvez les aider à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel.