Information for the public, Indigenous peoples and proponents


To find information on an assessment of interest, please see the Canadian Impact Assessment Registry.

Canadian Impact Assessment Registry – Parks Canada projects

Public

Impact assessment provides an opportunity for you to share your views with Parks Canada on the potential impacts of a proposed project.

For help related to participating in an impact assessment, email: ia-ei@pc.gc.ca

Commenting on assessments under the Impact Assessment Act

For every project-level assessment, a Notice of Intent is posted to the Canadian Impact Assessment Registry for a minimum of 30 days. During this window, you are invited to contact a designated Parks Canada employee. They will record your comments and can provide more project information. All comments are considered and may influence the project evaluation. When the 30-day notice period is over, Parks Canada can conclude the impact assessment. Once the decision on the assessment has been made, it is posted on the Registry. This Notice of Determination states whether the project was found to pose significant adverse environmental effects.

Commenting on assessments in the North

For projects located in a Parks Canada protected heritage place north of the 60th parallel, there are legislated environmental assessment regimes specific to Nunavut, the Mackenzie Valley, the Yukon, and the Inuvialuit settlement region. The process for public participation varies by region. To find out more about the process in the North, refer to the links to the northern review boards on our page about project-level impact assessment in the North.

Additional public participation opportunities

Public consultations

Additional opportunities to participate in the planning of a proposed project or the impact assessment will sometimes be advertised on the homepages of individual Parks Canada protected places. You can also check their social media accounts. Notice of events like town halls will be posted online.

The project’s level of potential risk to the environment and public interest influences the consultation plan. These factors also inform how the public is invited to share their thoughts. For example, Parks Canada may proactively consult with a local mountain biking association about a new trail proposal. If the trail will be adjacent to private properties, local residents may also be consulted.

Commenting on pre-approved routine impact assessments (PRIAs)

Parks Canada also invites comments on its pre-approved routine impact assessments (PRIAs) at anytime. PRIAs exist for routine projects where the potential impacts are well understood. The potential impacts are addressed by suite of tried and true mitigation measures. As such, comments are invited on the PRIA itself, rather than on individual projects.

To view the PRIAs, visit Pre-approved routine impact assessments on Open Government.

Indigenous Peoples

Respecting the rights and interests of Indigenous peoples results in better decisions and supports reconciliation. Through collaboration, Parks Canada and Indigenous peoples are partners in conserving natural and cultural heritage and sharing the stories of these treasured places.

Opportunities for Indigenous engagement

Parks Canada team members at our sites across the country work to create opportunities for meaningful collaboration with Indigenous peoples in impact assessment. Consultation with Indigenous peoples in impact assessment is separate from consultation with the general public. We invite Indigenous groups, according to their interest, to engage in impact assessments. The specific approach to their engagement varies depending on the interests and needs of Indigenous groups.

Contact information is available on the homepage of each Protected Heritage Area. Find links to these homepages on Parks Canada’s map of Protected Heritage Areas:

For help related to participating in consultation, email ia-ei@pc.gc.ca

Proponents (if you have a project proposal)

This information is for those who have a proposal requiring use of land or authorization in a national protected heritage area.

Parks Canada’s impact assessment process is applicable to all projects proposed in national protected heritage areas, including those proposed by external proponents. The process helps ensure compliance with:

  • the Impact Assessment Act, 2019
  • other applicable federal legislation
  • the Parks Canada mandate
  • policies that are important for the preservation of these special places.

Parks Canada’s process may be different from what you are used to if you have mostly worked with municipal or provincial approvals. We recommend that external proponents consult the Guide to the Parks Canada Process under the Impact Assessment Act for more information about project review. The guide explains:

  • how to develop and submit a project description
  • how your project description will be reviewed
  • selection of the appropriate pathway of assessment
  • other important steps in the IA process

Early initiation and integration of impact assessment is one of our key guiding principles. We highly recommend that you contact the management at the park or site as soon as you have a project concept. We can alert you to any constraints, policy implications and timeline considerations. Generally, it results in a smoother process overall. You can and should reach out before you have detailed project descriptions or engineering design work done.

Contact information is available on the homepage of each Protected Heritage Area. Find links to these homepages on Parks Canada’s map of Protected Heritage Areas:

For help finding the right contact for your project, email ia-ei@pc.gc.ca

Informations destinées au public, aux peuples autochtones et aux promoteurs .


Pour trouver des informations sur une évaluation d’intérêt, veuillez consulter le Registre canadien d’évaluation d’impact.

Registre canadien d’évaluation d’impact – Projets de Parcs Canada

Public

L’évaluation d’impact vous donne l’occasion de faire part à Parcs Canada de votre point de vue sur l’impact possible d’un projet proposé.

Pour obtenir de l’aide concernant la participation à une évaluation d’impact, envoyez un courriel à : ia-ei@pc.gc.ca

Commentaires sur les évaluations effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact

Pour chaque évaluation au niveau du projet, un avis d’intention est affiché dans le Registre canadien d’évaluation d’impact pendant au moins 30 jours. Pendant cette fenêtre, vous êtes invité à communiquer avec le personnel désigné de Parcs Canada. Celui-ci enregistra vos commentaires et pourra vous fournir davantage d’informations sur le projet. Tous les commentaires sont pris en compte et peuvent influencer l’évaluation du projet. Lorsque la période de préavis de 30 jours est terminée, Parcs Canada peut conclure l’évaluation d’impact. Une fois que la décision sur l’évaluation a été prise, elle est affichée sur le registre. Cet avis de décision indique si le projet a été jugé comme ayant des effets environnementaux négatifs importants.

Commentaire sur les évaluations dans le Nord

Pour les projets situés dans un lieu patrimonial protégé par Parcs Canada au nord du 60e parallèle, il existe des régimes d’évaluation environnementale légiférés propres au Nunavut, à la vallée du Mackenzie, au Yukon et à la région désignée des Inuvialuit. Le processus de participation du public varie selon les régions. Pour en savoir plus sur le processus dans le Nord, consultez les liens vers les commissions d’examen du Nord sur notre page sur l’évaluation d’impact au niveau des projets dans le Nord.

Possibilités supplémentaires de participation du public

Consultations publiques

D’autres occasions de participer à la planification d’un projet proposé ou à l’évaluation d’impact seront parfois annoncées sur les pages d’accueil des différents lieux protégés de Parcs Canada. Vous pouvez également consulter leurs comptes de médias sociaux. Les avis d’événements tels que les réunions publiques seront publiés en ligne.

Le niveau de risque potentiel du projet pour l’environnement et l’intérêt du public influencent le plan de consultation. Ces facteurs influencent également la manière dont le public est invité à faire part de ses réflexions. Par exemple, Parcs Canada peut consulter de façon proactive une association locale de vélo de montagne au sujet d’un nouveau projet de sentier. Si le sentier est adjacent à des propriétés privées, on peut aussi consulter les résidents locaux.

Commentaires sur les évaluations d’impact courantes préapprouvées (EICP)

Parcs Canada invite également en tout temps les commentaires sur ses évaluations d’impact courantes préapprouvées (EICP). Les EICP existent pour les projets courants dont les impacts potentiels sont bien compris.

Pour consulter les EICP, rendez-vous sur le site Évaluations d’impact courantes préapprouvées du gouvernement ouvert.

Peuples Autochtones

Le respect des droits et des intérêts des peuples autochtones permet de prendre de meilleures décisions et favorise la réconciliation. Grâce à la collaboration, Parcs Canada et les peuples autochtones sont des partenaires dans la conservation du patrimoine naturel et culturel et dans le partage des histoires de ces endroits précieux.

Possibilités d'engagement des autochtones

Les membres de l'équipe de Parcs Canada dans nos sites à travers le pays s'efforcent de créer des occasions de collaboration fructueuse avec les peuples autochtones dans le cadre de l'évaluation des impacts. La consultation des peuples autochtones dans le cadre d'une évaluation d'impact est distincte de la consultation du grand public. Nous invitons les groupes autochtones, en fonction de leur intérêt, à participer aux évaluations d'impact. L'approche spécifique de leur engagement varie en fonction des intérêts et des besoins des groupes autochtones.

Les informations de contact sont disponibles sur la page d'accueil de chaque zone de patrimoine protégé. Vous trouverez des liens vers ces pages d'accueil sur la carte des aires patrimoniales protégées de Parcs Canada :

Pour obtenir de l'aide concernant la participation à une consultation, envoyez un courriel à ia-ei@pc.gc.ca

Promoteurs (si vous avez une proposition de projet)

Cette information s'adresse à ceux qui ont une proposition nécessitant l'utilisation d'un terrain ou une autorisation dans une aire patrimoniale nationale protégée.

Le processus d'évaluation d’impacts de Parcs Canada s'applique à tous les projets proposés dans les aires patrimoniales protégées nationales, y compris ceux proposés par des promoteurs externes. Le processus permet d'assurer la conformité avec :

  • la Loi sur l’évaluation d'impact, 2019
  • aux autres lois fédérales applicables
  • le mandat de Parcs Canada
  • des politiques qui sont importantes pour la préservation de ces endroits spéciaux.

Le processus de Parcs Canada peut être différent de celui auquel vous êtes habitué si vous avez surtout travaillé avec des approbations municipales ou provinciales. Nous recommandons aux promoteurs externes de consulter le Guide du processus de Parcs Canada régi par la Loi sur l’évaluation d'impact pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'examen des projets. Le guide explique :

  • comment élaborer et soumettre une description de projet
  • comment la description de votre projet sera examinée
  • la sélection du processus d'évaluation approprié
  • autres étapes importantes du processus d'ÉI

L'initiation précoce et l'intégration de l'évaluation d'impact est l'un de nos principes directeurs clés. Nous vous recommandons vivement de contacter la direction du parc ou du site dès que vous avez un concept de projet. Nous pouvons vous avertir des contraintes, des implications politiques et des considérations de calendrier. En général, le processus s'en trouve simplifié. Vous pouvez et devez nous contacter avant d'avoir une description détaillée du projet ou un travail de conception technique.

Les coordonnées des personnes à contacter sont disponibles sur la page d'accueil de chaque zone patrimoniale protégée. Vous trouverez des liens vers ces pages d'accueil sur la carte des aires patrimoniales protégées de Parcs Canada :

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour trouver la bonne personne-ressource pour votre projet, envoyez un courriel à l'adresse suivante ia-ei@pc.gc.ca