Establishment of Nááts'ihch'oh National Park Reserve (2015)

National parks and national park reserves are established to protect and present outstanding examples of natural landscapes and phenomena, representing Canada’s 39 natural regions. For Parks Canada, the goal is to protect for all time representative natural areas of Canadian significance in a system of national parks, to encourage public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of this natural heritage so as to leave it unimpaired for future generations.

Parks Canada has been working to establish Nááts'ihch'oh National Park Reserve to improve the representation of greater South Nahanni ecosystem. Nááts'ihch'oh National Park Reserve will protect an area of 4,895 km2, adjacent to the Nahanni National Park Reserve.

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was conducted pursuant to The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment on Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

In 2008, Parks Canada and the Sahtú Dene and Metis of the Tulita district signed a memorandum of understanding to negotiate an impact and benefit plan as required in the Sahtú Dene and Metis Comprehensive Agreement for the establishment of a national park within the agreement area. Feasibility studies were carried out to research conservation values including wildlife and landscapes and to evaluate mineral, oil and gas potential in the proposed park area. Extensive consultation was carried out through public open houses, meetings with leadership of Sahtú Dene and Metis, Dehcho First Nations and Kaska Dene First Nations. Meetings were also held with third party stakeholders including tourism operators, mining companies and industry representatives, and environmental non-governmental organizations. An impact and benefit agreement was signed in 2012 by the minister of the Environment and the Sahtú Dene Metis of the Tulita District.

Nááts’ihch’oh is an incredibly beautiful and ecologically important area in the Northwest Territories. The area around the headwaters of the South Nahanni River in the Northwest Territories is considered one of the most spectacular sights in the world. The upper part of the watershed accounts for about one sixth of the Greater Nahanni Ecosystem, which despite development pressures, has remained a large, relatively intact wilderness area. The creation of the national park reserve will protect the ecosystem from future development pressure related to mining or other industrial activities. Further, the Canada National Parks Act (CNPA) stipulates that the maintenance of ecological integrity is the highest priority for the management of a national park reserve. The CNPA also requires the development of a park management plan within five years of the establishment of a park reserve. It is anticipated that the management plan will provide special emphasis for the protection of wilderness values. Cultural resources will be managed in accordance with the Parks Canada Cultural Resource Management Policy which offers a high level of protection to resources. Natural and cultural resources will be monitored to ensure that management actions are effective.

Modest infrastructure to support visitation, and park management may be developed within the park. The park management plan will evaluate the requirement for infrastructure in the park. The park management plan will undergo an SEA, to assess the potential development of adverse environmental effects and provide mitigations to reduce impacts resulting from the implementation of the plan. Individual projects will be assessed under the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act, which provides a comprehensive assessment regime for projects occurring within the boundaries of the national park. The Exemption List Regulations provide the requirement for a greater number of projects to be assessed than would be the case for similar projects outside the boundary of the national park.

Visitor use and park management will require aircraft access to the park, however these effects are not likely to be significant given the modest level of visitation that is likely to occur. Air access for park management purposes is anticipated to be infrequent. The park management plan will assess impacts related to increased tourism and identify potential aircraft landing locations.

Positive effects resulting from the creation on Nááts’ihch’oh National Park Reserve include increased protection of cultural and natural resources. Ecosystem and cultural resource monitoring will be implemented to detect changes, and guide park management actions.

The establishment of Nááts’ihch’oh National Park Reserve will not result in significant negative environmental effects. The establishment of the national park reserve will protect an important ecological and cultural area from adverse environmental effects for the future.

Création de la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh (2015)

Les parcs nationaux et les réserves de parcs nationaux visent à protéger et à mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs des paysages et des phénomènes naturels des 39 régions naturelles du Canada. Parcs Canada cherche ainsi à protéger à tout jamais dans un réseau de parcs nationaux les endroits qui constituent d’importants exemples du patrimoine naturel du Canada et à favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine, de manière à le léguer intact aux générations à venir.

Parcs Canada a entrepris de créer la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh afin de mieux représenter l’écosystème élargi de la rivière Nahanni Sud. La réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh protégera un territoire de 4 895 km2 adjacent à la réserve de parc national Nahanni.

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été réalisée conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. Cette évaluation vise à intégrer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des programmes publics, de manière à permettre la prise de décisions éclairées sur le plan écologique.

En 2008, Parcs Canada a signé un protocole d’entente avec les Dénés et les Métis du district de Tulita, dans le Sahtú, afin de négocier un plan des répercussions et des avantages, conformément à l’Entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Dénés et Métis du Sahtú pour la création d’un parc national dans le territoire visé par l’entente. Des études de faisabilité ont permis de déterminer les valeurs liées à la conservation, notamment la faune et les paysages, et d’évaluer le potentiel minéral, pétrolier et gazier du territoire visé par le projet de parc. De vastes consultations ont été menées dans le cadre de journées portes ouvertes ainsi que de réunions avec les dirigeants dénés et métis du Sahtú, les Premières Nations du Dehcho et les Dénés kaskas. Des réunions ont également eu lieu avec des tierces parties, dont des voyagistes, des sociétés minières et des représentants de l’industrie ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales de l’environnement. Le ministre de l’Environnement et les Dénés et Métis du Sahtú (district de Tulita) ont signé une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages en 2012.

Situé dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nááts’ihch’oh est un secteur d’une beauté incomparable qui revêt une grande importance écologique. Cette région, qui entoure le cours supérieur de la rivière Nahanni Sud, figure parmi les plus spectaculaires de la planète. La partie supérieure du bassin hydrographique occupe environ le sixième de la superficie de l’écosystème élargi de la Nahanni, lequel, malgré les pressions en faveur de l’aménagement, est demeuré une vaste aire de nature sauvage relativement intacte. La création de la réserve de parc permettra de protéger cet écosystème contre tout aménagement lié à l’exploitation minière ou à d’autres activités industrielles. La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada précise que la préservation de l’intégrité écologique doit demeurer la priorité absolue dans tous les aspects de la gestion d’une réserve de parc national. Elle prévoit également l’élaboration d’un plan directeur dans les cinq ans qui suivent la création d’une réserve de parc. Il est prévu que le plan directeur sera axé principalement sur la protection de la nature sauvage. Les ressources culturelles seront gérées conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada, ce qui leur garantira un niveau élevé de protection. Les ressources naturelles et culturelles seront soumises à une surveillance qui permettra d’assurer l’efficacité des mesures de gestion.

Une infrastructure modeste sera aménagée pour les visiteurs, et il se peut aussi que certaines installations viennent s’y ajouter pour faciliter la gestion du parc. Le plan directeur évaluera les besoins en matière d’infrastructure. Ce plan fera l’objet d’une EES qui mettra en relief les effets néfastes possibles de la mise en œuvre du plan sur l’environnement et les mesures d’atténuation à mettre en place. Chaque projet sera évalué en fonction des exigences de la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie, qui prévoit une évaluation exhaustive des projets mis en œuvre dans les limites du parc national. Le Règlement sur la liste d’exemption exige l’évaluation d’un nombre plus élevé de projets à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur des limites d’un parc national.

L’accès se fera par aéronef, tant pour les visiteurs que pour le personnel chargé de la gestion du parc. Toutefois, ces activités n’auront probablement pas d’effets appréciables, compte tenu du faible niveau de fréquentation prévu. L’accès par aéronef à des fins de gestion du parc sera peu fréquent. Le plan directeur du parc évaluera les effets de la hausse du tourisme et délimitera des lieux d’atterrissage possibles.

Entre autres effets positifs, la création de la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh permettra de mieux protéger les ressources culturelles et naturelles. L’écosystème et les ressources culturelles seront soumis à une surveillance qui permettra de déceler les changements et d’orienter le choix des mesures de gestion à mettre en place dans le parc.

La création de la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh n’aura pas d’effets néfastes appréciables sur l’environnement. Elle assurera la protection d’une importante aire écologique et culturelle contre les effets environnementaux indésirables.