Addition of the Wrecks of the HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site of Canada to the Historic Sites of Canada Order

September 24, 2015

A strategic environmental assessment was conducted for the Order Amending the National Sites of Canada Order - Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site of Canada proposal (the proposal) pursuant to the 2010 "Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals" (CEA Agency/Privy Council Office 2010). Strategic environmental assessments provide an opportunity to identify the broad and unintended impacts of proposed management actions resulting from a proposed policy, plan or program, including the cumulative environmental effects of multiple activities. Strategic environmental assessments also inform the subsequent assessment of related projects and are initiated early in the planning process to ensure that environmental effects are fully considered.

National historic sites are places of profound importance to Canada that commemorate persons, places, and events for their national historic significance. They bear witness to this nation's defining moments and illustrate its human creativity and cultural traditions. Each national historic site tells its own unique story, part of the greater story of Canada, contributing a sense of time, identity, and place to our understanding of Canada as a whole. There are more than 972 national historic sites in Canada; of these, 168 are administered by Parks Canada. An important part of Parks Canada's mandate involves protecting the health and wholeness, or commemorative integrity, of the national historic sites it operates. This means preserving the site's cultural resources, communicating its heritage value and national significance, and kindling the respect of people whose decisions and actions affect the site.

In April 2015, Parks Canada added the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site of Canada (the site) and the site description to the Schedule of the National Historic Sites of Canada Order under the Canada National Parks Act. This will provide legal protection for the site under the Canada National Parks Act and regulations made under that Act, enabling Parks Canada to control access to and activities in the area of the wreck of HMS Erebus. Legal protection is required to prohibit unauthorized access to the site, including the disturbance or removal of artifacts, so that the heritage value of the shipwreck can be protected for both present and future generations. Inuit beneficiaries are permitted access to the site area for the purposes of traditional harvesting activities.

The Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror is the first national historic site in Nunavut to be administered by Parks Canada. The site is in Wilmot and Crampton Bay, Queen Maud Gulf, Nunavut, and was established to protect the wreck of HMS Erebus. In 1845, explorer Sir John Franklin set sail from England with two ships, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, in search of a Northwest Passage across what is now Canada's Arctic. The ships and crews vanished, prompting a massive search that continues to this day. A breakthrough was made in September 2014 when an expedition led by Parks Canada discovered the wreck of HMS Erebus.

The expected outcome of the proposal is protection of the cultural resources and support of the commemorative integrity of the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site of Canada. The proposal will have important positive effects on these factors; no important negative environmental effects are expected to result from the proposal.

Ajout du lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror au Décret sur les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada

Le 24 septembre 2015,

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique a été menée pour le projet de Décret sur les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada – Lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror (le projet) conformément à la « Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes » (Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale et Bureau du Conseil privé, 2010). Les évaluations environnementales stratégiques permettent de cerner les conséquences élargies et involontaires des mesures de gestion proposées découlant d'un projet de politique, de plan ou de programme, notamment les effets cumulatifs sur l'environnement des multiples activités prévues. Les évaluations environnementales stratégiques servent également à documenter les évaluations subséquentes de projets connexes et sont réalisées tôt dans le processus de planification afin que les effets environnementaux soient pleinement pris en considération.

Les lieux historiques nationaux sont des endroits de grande importance pour le Canada qui commémorent des personnes, des lieux et des événements en raison de leur importance historique nationale. Ils témoignent des moments déterminants de notre histoire, et ils incarnent la créativité humaine et les traditions culturelles de notre pays. Chaque lieu historique national relate un chapitre unique de l'histoire du Canada et contribue ainsi à marquer les époques, à forger notre identité collective et à parfaire notre connaissance du pays. Le Canada compte plus de 972 lieux historiques nationaux; de ce nombre, 168 sont administrés par Parcs Canada. Une part importante du mandat de Parcs Canada consiste à préserver l'état et le caractère global des lieux historiques nationaux qu'il exploite, c'est-à-dire leur intégrité commémorative. Autrement dit, Parcs Canada doit préserver les ressources culturelles du lieu, communiquer sa valeur patrimoniale et son importance nationale, et susciter le respect à l'égard des personnes dont les décisions et les actions ont eu une incidence sur le lieu.

En avril 2015, Parcs Canada a inscrit le lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror (le « lieu ») et sa description à l'annexe du Décret sur les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Cet ajout confère au lieu une protection juridique aux termes de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et de ses règlements d'application, ce qui permet à Parcs Canada de contrôler l'accès à la zone où se trouve l'épave du HMS Erebus. Une protection juridique est nécessaire pour interdire l'accès au site sans autorisation, notamment lorsqu'un tel accès entraîne la perturbation ou le prélèvement d'artéfacts, et préserve ainsi la valeur patrimoniale de l'épave pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Les bénéficiaires inuits sont autorisés à accéder à la zone pour exercer leurs activités traditionnelles d'exploitation des ressources.

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror est le premier lieu historique national du Nunavut à être administré par Parcs Canada. Il est situé dans la baie Wilmot and Crampton, dans le golfe de la Reine-Maud, au Nunavut, et il a été établi pour protéger l'épave du HMS Erebus. En 1845, l'explorateur sir John Franklin a quitté l'Angleterre avec deux navires, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror, à la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest traversant ce qui est aujourd'hui l'Arctique canadien. Les navires et leurs équipages ont disparu, ce qui a donné lieu à de vastes opérations de recherche qui se poursuivent encore de nos jours. En septembre 2014, une expédition de Parcs Canada a réussi une percée majeure à cet égard lorsqu'elle a découvert l'épave du HMS Erebus.

Le résultat escompté du projet est la protection des ressources culturelles et le soutien à la préservation de l'intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror. Le projet aura des effets positifs importants sur ces facteurs; aucun effet environnemental négatif découlant du projet n'est anticipé.