Establishment of a National Park Reserve in Mealy Mountains Region of Labrador.

Public Statement - August 17, 2015

National parks and national park reserves are established to protect and present outstanding examples of natural landscapes and natural phenomena, representing 39 natural regions defined by Parks Canada. The goal is to protect for all time representative natural areas of Canadian significance in a system of national parks, to encourage public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of this natural heritage so as to leave it unimpaired for future generations.

Parks Canada is working to create a national park reserve in the Mealy Mountains region to represent of the East Coast Boreal Region (Natural Region 21). The establishment of this park will add approximately 10,700 km2 to Canada’s system of national parks and national park reserves.

This strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was conducted in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals: Guidelines for Implementing the Cabinet Directive (2010), wherein all policy, plan and program proposals of federal departments and agencies will consider, when appropriate, the potential important positive and negative environmental effects associated with their implementation. This SEA has taken into consideration the goals and targets of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (2013), specifically Theme III: Protecting Nature; Goal 4 – which aims to: “manage, enhance, and expand Canada’s network of protected areas, including national parks, national wildlife areas, marine protected areas, national marine conservation areas, migratory bird sanctuaries and marine wildlife areas…”

Located in the south east part of central Labrador near Happy Valley-Goose Bay, the proposed Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve encompasses a stunning array of pristine landscapes, vegetation and wildlife. The proposed reserve will also protect cultural landscapes of importance to Innu, Inuit, NunatuKavut, Quebec Innu and other Labradorians. The area includes four of Labrador’s ten eco-regions, such as the Coastal Barrens (along the Labrador Sea), Paradise River, Eagle Plateau-Mealy Mountains, and Lake Melville as well as significant watersheds for the North, English and White Bear Rivers.

One of the focal points of the proposed reserve is the Mealy Mountains themselves - the rugged mountains which give the area its name. Their glacially-rounded and bare rock summits, which overlook Lake Melville, reach to 1,180 metres or 3,870 feet and are the highest mountains in southern Labrador. Easterly from the mountain tundra of the Mealy Mountains is a dramatic transition to a lush forested landscape, which gently descends toward the coast until it meets the frigid waters of the Labrador Sea. This is a landscape of undisturbed watersheds and pristine wild rivers with breath-taking rapids and waterfalls. The proposed reserve will provide superlative outdoor recreation opportunities and memorable visitor experiences, including hiking, canoeing, back country camping, and wildlife observation.
The eastern boundary borders the Labrador Sea and includes the 50 km Wunderstrand beach feature and adjacent islands. The western boundary abuts lands selected by the Innu Nation as part of the Labrador Innu Settlement Area. The southern boundary adjoins the proposed provincial waterway park along the Eagle River.

The concept of establishing a national park reserve in the Mealy Mountains region has existed since the mid-1970s. In March 2001, a study was launched to examine the feasibility of establishing a national park reserve. The feasibility study was a cooperative undertaking guided by a Steering Committee which included the Innu Nation, Labrador Inuit (Nunatsiavut), Combined Councils of Labrador, NunatuKavut Community Council Inc. (formerly Labrador Métis Nation), Central Labrador Economic Development Board, the Southeastern Aurora Development Corporation, the province and Parks Canada.

In the summer of 2003, the Steering Committee held its first round of public consultations in communities in the region. The two issues that emerged were the continuation of traditional land uses and the location of proposed park boundaries. Work was undertaken to better understand the traditional land uses and assess policy concerns. A second round of public consultations was held in the spring of 2006. Parks Canada also began consultations with the Quebec Innu.

In May 2008, the Steering Committee informed the federal Minister of Environment and the Newfoundland and Labrador Minister of Environment and Conservation that they had concluded that a national park reserve was feasible. The Steering Committee also reached consensus regarding a national park reserve boundary and a framework for the continuation of traditional land use activities in the national park reserve by Labradorians. More specifically, the Steering Committee proposed and the Ministers agreed that traditional land uses would be managed within a framework that emphasized ecological integrity, conservation measures and limits, best practices, monitoring and reporting, as well as eligibility to participate in traditional land uses. Traditional land uses would be managed by sound conservation principles that emphasize the fact that they are being carried out in a national park reserve, and that they are continuing as an expression of established practices and the Labrador way of life.

On February 5, 2010, the Government of Canada and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador entered into a Memorandum of Understanding Respecting the Establishment of a National Park Reserve in the Mealy Mountains in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador that endorsed a conceptual boundary, and the two parties agreed to negotiate a land transfer agreement and a final boundary for a 10,700 km2 national park reserve. At the same time, Newfoundland and Labrador announced a commitment to establish a 3,000 km2 waterway park along the Eagle River adjacent to the proposed national park reserve.

Designation of the area as a national park reserve will enable the Government of Canada to use the full suite of legislation (i.e. CNPA, Species at Risk Act), regulations, policies, standards and guidelines that it has at its disposal for protection and management. Specifically, designation as national park reserve will bring 10,700 km2 under the protection of the CNPA, which requires that the maintenance of ecological integrity as the first priority in managing a national park. With the signing of the land transfer agreement the process to transfer the land can begin. There will be no logging, mining, hydro, oil or gas development and sport hunting allowed. The one mineral claim will be removed. The expected result of designation as a national park reserve is that ecological integrity is maintained, cultural resources are protected, opportunities for meaningful visitor experiences for present and future generations are provided either on or off-site, and engage Aboriginal people in cooperative management by integrating traditional knowledge.

Further analysis of the potential environmental effects of these ongoing uses will be required. Designation under the CNPA would provide the regulatory authority to better manage activities in the national park reserve and provide opportunities to build appreciation and understanding of the important natural and cultural resources of the area. Similarly the establishment of the Cooperative Management Board and a traditional activities advisory board will provide important vehicles for all parties in the region to work together and provide advice on the planning and management of all aspect of the proposed national park reserve.

The application of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) to park lands means that there are increased tools for the protection and management of SARA-listed species such as the Mealy Mountains woodland caribou herd as well as increased expertise and attention to resource management issues.

The proposed bill to establish national park reserve in the Mealy Mountains region will: amend the CNPA to add the national park to Schedule II of the Act; and provide for the issuance of a lease and licences of occupation under the terms and conditions of the CNPA. The expected result of designation as a national park reserve is that ecological integrity is maintained, cultural resources are protected, and opportunities for meaningful visitor experiences for present and future generations are provided either on or off-site.

The establishment of a national park reserve in the Mealy Mountains region will lead to important positive environmental effects, most particularly the benefits of increased protection and restoration of the ecosystem, increased protection of cultural resources, improved opportunities for visitor experiences, and enhanced opportunities for collaborative management.

No important negative environmental effects are anticipated. Project-level impact assessment will be used to identify and mitigate adverse effects of specific management actions. The establishment of the national park reserve will also contribute to the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (2013), specifically Theme III: Protecting Nature; Goal 4. This park establishment initiative also contributes to the Government’s National Conservation Plan and the 2013 Speech from the Throne commitment to “Complete, by 2015, its work to protect wilderness lands … in the Mealy Mountains.”

Établissement d’une réserve de parc national dans la région des monts Mealy, au Labrador

Déclaration publique – le 17 août 2015

Les parcs nationaux et les réserves de parc national sont créés dans le but de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples exceptionnels des paysages et des phénomènes naturels des 39 régions naturelles définies par Parcs Canada. L’objectif est de protéger à jamais les endroits qui constituent d’importants exemples du patrimoine naturel du Canada dans le cadre d’un réseau de parcs nationaux et de favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine de manière à le léguer intact aux générations à venir.

Parcs Canada procède à la création d’une réserve de parc national dans la région des monts Mealy afin d’assurer une représentation de la région boréale de la côte Est (région naturelle 21). Avec la création de ce parc, environ 10 700 km2 seront ajoutés au réseau de parcs nationaux et de réserves de parc national du Canada.

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été réalisée conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes : lignes directrices sur la mise en oeuvre de la directive du Cabinet (2010), selon lesquelles les ministères et organismes fédéraux doivent tenir compte, lorsqu'il est approprié de le faire, des conséquences environnementales importantes, positives et négatives, qui pourraient découler de la mise en œuvre des politiques, plans ou programmes proposés. Cette EES a pris en compte les buts et les cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (2013), particulièrement son thème III : protéger la nature; but no 4 – pour lequel le gouvernement du Canada « gérera, renforcera et élargira le réseau des aires protégées du Canada, y compris les parcs nationaux, les aires fauniques nationales, les aires marines protégées, les aires marines nationales de conservation, les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs et les réserves marines de faune… ».

Située dans la partie sud-est du centre du Labrador, près de Happy Valley-Goose Bay, la réserve de parc national des monts Mealy proposée couvre un éventail renversant de paysages vierges, de végétation et de faune. Cette réserve protégera aussi les paysages culturels d’importance pour les Innus, les Inuits, les NunatuKavuts, les Innus du Québec et d’autres Labradoriens. Le secteur en question englobe quatre des dix écorégions du Labrador, notamment les landes côtières (le long de la mer du Labrador), la rivière Paradise, le plateau Eagle et les monts Mealy, le lac Melville, ainsi que des bassins hydrographiques importants pour les rivières North, English et White Bear.

Les monts Mealy forment, à eux seuls, un des attraits clés de la réserve proposée, et ces montagnes escarpées ont même donné le nom à l’endroit. Celles-ci sont les plus hautes du sud du Labrador, et leurs sommets rocheux, arrondis par le passage des glaciers, surplombent le lac Melville jusqu’à une altitude de 1 180 mètres (ou 3 870 pieds). À l’est de la toundra de montagne des monts Mealy, on constate une transition spectaculaire vers un paysage boisé luxuriant qui descend doucement vers la côte jusqu’aux eaux glaciales de la mer du Labrador. Ce paysage est formé de bassins hydrographiques non perturbés et de rivières sauvages aux eaux limpides parsemées de rapides et de chutes à couper le souffle. La réserve proposée offrira des possibilités de loisirs de plein air exceptionnelles et des expériences du visiteur mémorables, notamment pour la randonnée pédestre, le canotage, le camping en arrière-pays, et l’observation de la faune.

Les limites à l’Est longent la mer du Labrador et englobent les 50 km de plage « Wunderstrand » et les îles adjacentes. Les limites à l’ouest bordent les terres qui ont été choisies par la Nation innue lors de l’établissement de la Région visée par le règlement des Innus du Labrador. Les limites au sud sont adjacentes au parc provincial proposé de préservation de la voie navigable, le long de la rivière Eagle.

Le concept d’établissement d’une réserve de parc national dans la région des monts Mealy est né au milieu des années 1970. En mars 2001, une étude a été lancée pour examiner la faisabilité d’un tel projet. Cette étude était une initiative conjointe guidée par un comité directeur formé de représentants de la Nation innue, des Inuits du Labrador (Nunatsiavut), des Combined Councils of Labrador, du Conseil communautaire de NunatuKavut Inc. (anciennement Nation des Métis du Labrador), de la Commission de développement économique du Centre du Labrador, de la Southeastern Aurora Development Corporation, de la province, et de Parcs Canada.

Durant l’été 2003, le comité directeur a tenu sa première série de consultations publiques dans les communautés de la région. Les deux enjeux qui se sont démarqués ont été la poursuite de l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres et l’emplacement des limites proposées pour le parc. Des travaux ont été entrepris afin de mieux comprendre l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres et d’évaluer les préoccupations stratégiques connexes. Une deuxième série de consultations publiques a eu lieu au printemps 2006. Parcs Canada a aussi commencé des consultations auprès des Innus du Québec.

En mai 2008, le comité directeur a informé le ministre fédéral de l’Environnement et le ministre de l’Environnement et de la Conservation de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador qu’il avait conclu que l’établissement d’une réserve nationale de conservation était faisable. Le comité directeur est aussi parvenu à un consensus à l’égard des limites de la réserve et du cadre de référence pour la poursuite des activités associées à l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres dans la réserve par les Labradoriens. Plus précisément, le comité directeur a proposé et le ministre a accepté que l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres soit gérée à l’intérieur d’un cadre favorisant l’intégrité écologique, les mesures et les limites de conservation, les pratiques exemplaires, le contrôle et l’établissement de rapports, ainsi que la participation aux activités d’utilisation traditionnelle des terres. Ces activités seraient gérées en fonction de principes de conservation judicieux qui souligneraient le fait qu’elles sont réalisées dans une réserve de parc national et que leur poursuite est une expression des pratiques établies et du mode de vie des Labradoriens.

Le 5 février 2010, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont conclu un protocole d'entente concernant l'établissement d’une réserve de parc national dans les monts Mealy de la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Ce protocole comprend une limite conceptuelle, et les deux parties ont convenu de négocier une entente de transfert des terres et l’établissement d’une limite définitive pour une réserve de parc national de 10 700 km2. Au même moment, le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a annoncé son engagement d’établir un parc de préservation de voie navigable de 3 000 km2 le long de la rivière Eagle, qui sera adjacent à la réserve de parc national proposée.

La désignation de l’endroit à titre de réserve de parc national permettra au gouvernement du Canada d’utiliser l’ensemble complet de lois (c.-à-d., Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada [LPNC], Loi sur les espèces en péril), de règlements, de politiques, de normes et de lignes directrices dont il dispose pour assurer la protection et la gestion de l’endroit. Plus particulièrement, avec cette désignation, 10 700 km2 seront protégés en vertu de la LPNC, et cette loi exige que la conservation de l'intégrité écologique soit la priorité numéro un dans la gestion d’un parc national.

Une analyse plus approfondie des effets potentiels de ces utilisations courantes sur l’environnement sera nécessaire. Une désignation en vertu de la LPNC fournirait des pouvoirs de réglementation pour mieux gérer les activités et permettrait aux Canadiens de mieux apprécier et comprendre les ressources naturelles et culturelles importantes de ce secteur. Dans le même ordre d’idées, avec la création du comité de gestion partagée et d’un comité consultatif sur les activités traditionnelles, toutes les parties de la région disposeront d’instruments majeurs pour collaborer et fournir des conseils sur la planification et la gestion de tous les aspects de la réserve de parc national proposée.

L’application de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) dans les terres du parc nous fournira plus d’outils pour protéger et gérer les espèces visées par le LEP, par exemple la harde de caribous des bois des monts Mealy, et une expertise et une attention accrues pourront être accordées aux enjeux de gestion de ressources.

Le projet de loi proposé pour l’établissement d’une réserve de parc national dans la région des monts Mealy entraînera la modification de la LPNC afin d’ajouter le parc national à l’Annexe II de la Loi et assurera l’emission du bail et du permis d’occupation en vertu des modalités de la LPNC. Les résultats attendus de la désignation de la réserve de parc national sont le maintien de l’intégrité écologique, la protection des ressources culturelles, et l’offre d’expériences du visiteur significatives aux générations actuelles et futures, dans la réserve ou à l’extérieur.

La signature de l’entente de transfert des terres marquera le début du processus de transfert. L’exploitation forestière et minière, l’aménagement de centrales hydroélectriques, les activités de mise en valeur du pétrole et de gisements de gaz, ainsi que la chasse sportive y seront interdits. La seule concession minière sera retirée. Les résultats attendus de la désignation de la réserve de parc national sont le maintien de l’intégrité écologique, la protection des ressources culturelles, l’offre d’expériences du visiteur significatives aux générations actuelles et futures, dans la réserve ou à l’extérieur, et la mobilisation des peuples autochtones à l’égard de la cogestion grâce à l’intégration du savoir traditionnel.

L’établissement d’une réserve de parc national dans la région des monts Mealy entraînera des effets environnementaux positifs considérables, plus particulièrement les avantages suivants : protection et rétablissement accrus des écosystèmes, meilleure protection des ressources culturelles, possibilités améliorées d’expériences du visiteur, et un plus grand nombre de possibilités de gestion collaborative.

On ne prévoit aucune conséquence néfaste majeure sur l'environnement. Une étude sur l’impact environnemental des projets sera utilisée pour cerner et atténuer les répercussions négatives de mesures de gestion précises. L’établissement de la réserve de parc national contribuera à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (2013), particulièrement en ce qui a trait au thème III : Protéger la nature; but no 4. Cette initiative d’établissement de parc contribuera aussi à l’engagement énoncé dans le Plan national de conservation du gouvernement et le discours du Trône 2013, selon lequel le gouvernement « mènera à bien son travail de protection des aires sauvages… des monts Mealy d’ici 2015. »