Expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve

National parks and national park reserves are established to protect and present outstanding examples of natural landscapes and natural phenomena, representing Canada's 39 natural regions. For Parks Canada, the goal is to protect for all time representative natural areas of Canadian significance in a system of national parks, to encourage public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of this natural heritage so as to leave it unimpaired for future generations.

Parks Canada has been working to expand Nahanni National Park Reserve to improve representation of its natural region and to protect more of the watershed of the South Nahanni River. This expansion will result in Nahanni National Park Reserve growing from under 5,000 km2 to about 30,000 km2 in area.

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was conducted in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

In 2003, the minister responsible for Parks Canada and the Grand Chief of the Dehcho First Nations signed a Memorandum of Understanding respecting the expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve. As a mechanism for implementing the MOU, Parks Canada and DFN created the Nahanni Expansion Working Group (NEWG) with two members appointed by each organization. This working group set research priorities, directed the feasibility studies and reviewed the results. The feasibility studies included research on conservation values, including studies of wildlife and landscape, and mineral and oil and gas potential. The working group also managed the extensive public consultation program with several community meetings and two formal rounds of public consultations.

The Greater Nahanni Ecosystem is a wilderness area with relatively little human induced change evident. The proposed expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve will do little to change that status. The areas that have been developed for mining, that is the Prairie Creek and Tungsten areas, have been left out of the proposed expansion. The expansion will change the legal status of the area, but it will do little to change the environmental and socio-economic status. The intent, and the expected result, of the park reserve expansion is the continuation of natural processes and the ongoing wild nature of the area to be preserved. If the park reserve were not expanded, it is possible that in the future mining and other development pressures would have detracted from the wilderness character and water quality of the area.

The expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve will bring a dramatically larger area into the protection of the Canada National Parks Act (CNPA). The CNPA requires that the maintenance of ecological integrity is the highest priority of managing the national park reserve. A park management plan will be required within five years. It is expected that the management plan will mandate that the expanded park reserve be managed with special emphasis on the protection of the wilderness values of the region. Cultural resources will also be managed in a manner that ensures a high level of protection, consistent with the CNPA and the Parks Canada Cultural Resource Management Policy. Natural and cultural resources will be monitored to ensure that the management actions are effective.

Park management may require some facility development. The requirement for park facilities will be assessed during park management planning. The park management plans will be subject to strategic environmental assessment. Any construction projects will be subject to project environmental assessment under the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act. The Exemption List Regulations of the environmental assessment section of the MVRMA allow for a more stringent assessment regime within national parks in the Mackenzie Valley, so that more development proposals will be subject to environmental screening or assessment than would be the case outside a national park or national park reserve.

It is not likely that the new air access and activities relating to tourism will be significantly greater than the present level of air access and activities that include mineral exploration, big game hunting, and tourism. Park Management Plans will assess the potential for impacts from such activities and will prescribe mitigation.

Some positive impacts from the expansion of the Nahanni National Park Reserve are likely. Improvements to the existing situation could result from better ecosystem management due to Parks Canada's mandate and funding. There will be increased monitoring of the larger ecosystem, particularly regarding water quality and wildlife. Park expansion will reduce the levels of air access and activity relating to mineral exploration. In addition, hunting pressure on some wildlife will be reduced with the elimination of commercial big-game hunting.

The expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve will not result in important negative environmental effects. On the contrary, the expansion of the national park reserve will ensure that a large area of the Greater Nahanni Ecosystem will be protected from negative environmental effects for the future.

Agrandissement de la réserve de parc national du Canada Nahanni

Les parcs nationaux et les réserves de parc national sont créés pour protéger et mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs et exceptionnels des paysages et des phénomènes naturels des 39 régions naturelles du Canada. Grâce à ces aires protégées, Parcs Canada cherche à sauvegarder à jamais les endroits qui constituent d'importants exemples du patrimoine naturel du Canada et à favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine de manière à le léguer intact aux générations à venir.

Parcs Canada travaille à l'agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni afin qu'elle représente mieux la région naturelle où elle est située et qu'elle protège une plus grande partie du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Nahanni Sud. À la suite de cet agrandissement, la superficie de la réserve passera de moins de 5 000 km2 à près de 30 000 km2.

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été réalisée conformément à la directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L'objet d'une EES est de faire en sorte que l'élaboration des politiques, des plans et des programmes publics tienne compte des réalités environnementales de manière à favoriser un processus décisionnel qui respecte l'environnement.

En 2003, le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada et le grand chef des Premières nations du Dehcho ont signé un protocole d'entente portant sur l'agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. Pour mettre en œuvre ce protocole d'entente, Parcs Canada et les Premières nations du Dehcho ont mis sur pied le groupe de travail sur l'agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. Ce groupe, composé de deux membres de chaque organisation, a établi les priorités de recherche, dirigé les études de faisabilité et examiné les résultats. Il s'est penché sur les valeurs de conservation, notamment en matière de faune et de paysages, de même que sur le potentiel minier, pétrolier et gazier de la région. Il a également géré le vaste programme de consultations publiques, qui comprenait plusieurs rencontres communautaires et deux séries de consultations officielles.

Le grand écosystème de la Nahanni est une région sauvage relativement peu altérée par l'homme, et la réserve agrandie demeurera en grande partie à l'état naturel. Les régions aménagées à des fins d'exploitation minière, c'est-à-dire les régions de Prairie Creek et de Tungsten, ne feront pas partie de la réserve agrandie. L'agrandissement de la réserve modifiera la région au plan juridique, mais aura peu d'incidence au plan environnemental et socioéconomique. L'objectif du projet d'agrandissement est de protéger les processus naturels et la nature sauvage de l'endroit. Si la réserve n'était pas agrandie, l'exploitation minière et les autres formes de développement pourraient entraîner une détérioration du caractère sauvage et de la qualité de l'eau de la région.

Le vaste territoire de la réserve agrandie s'ajoutera aux régions protégées par la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (LPNC), qui exige que l'intégrité écologique des réserves de parc national soit placée devant toute autre priorité de gestion. D'ici les cinq prochaines années, il faudra élaborer un plan directeur. Celui-ci obligera vraisemblablement les gestionnaires de la réserve agrandie à accorder une importance toute particulière à la protection du caractère sauvage de la région. Les ressources culturelles seront également gérées de manière à en assurer le plus grand niveau de protection, comme le prévoient la LPNC et la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada. L'intégrité des ressources naturelles et culturelles sera contrôlée pour assurer l'efficacité des mesures de gestion.

Pour bien gérer le parc, il sera peut-être nécessaire de construire des installations, dont la pertinence sera évaluée au cours du processus de planification de gestion du parc. Les plans de gestion du parc feront l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale stratégique, et les projets de construction devront être évalués au plan environnemental en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie (LGRVM). Le Règlement sur la liste d'exemption, énoncé dans la partie de la LGRVM qui porte sur l'évaluation environnementale, prévoit que les projets de développement dans les parcs nationaux et les réserves de parc national de la vallée du Mackenzie soient soumis à un système de présélection et d'évaluation environnementale plus rigoureux qu'à l'extérieur de ces aires protégées.

Il est peu probable que les nouvelles voies d'accès aériennes et activités de tourisme soient beaucoup plus nombreuses que celles qui sont actuellement liées à l'exploration minière, à la chasse au gros gibier et au tourisme. Le plan directeur du parc évaluera l'incidence éventuelle de ces activités et prévoira des mesures d'atténuation.

Par ailleurs, il est probable que l'agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni améliore la situation actuelle. En effet, les activités et le financement de Parcs Canada permettront d'améliorer la gestion de l'écosystème, et le grand écosystème sera soumis à un contrôle plus rigoureux, notamment en ce qui concerne la qualité de l'eau et l'intégrité de la faune. En outre, l'agrandissement du parc limitera les accès par voie aérienne et les activités liées à l'exploitation minière, et l'interdiction de la chasse commerciale au gros gibier réduira la pression de chasse exercée sur certaines espèces.

Enfin, l'agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni n'aura aucun impact négatif important sur l'environnement. Au contraire, l'agrandissement de la réserve fera en sorte qu'une partie importante du grand écosystème de la Nahanni sera protégée dans l'avenir.