Renewed Funding for the Implementation of the Baffin and Ukkusiksalik National Parks Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreements

October 19, 2018

In accordance with The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) for the Renewed Funding for the Implementation of the Baffin and Ukkusiksalik National Parks Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreements proposal was conducted on 19 September 2018. The purpose of SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making. Individual projects undertaken to implement management statement objectives at the site will be evaluated separately to determine if an impact assessment is required under the Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act 2013.

The proposal seeks funding to continue the implementation of Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreements (IIBA) for four national parks in the Nunavut Settlement Area: Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq and Sirmilik National Parks (referred to as the Baffin National Parks) and Ukkusiksalik National Park. The Baffin IIBA and Ukkusiksalik IIBA were concluded in 1999 and 2003 respectively, and continue to be in force. The Baffin National Parks IIBA shall be reviewed at seven-year intervals and the Ukkusiksalik National Park IIBA shall be reviewed at five-year intervals (unless the Parties agree otherwise). The Baffin National Parks IIBA has been negotiated to be of indefinite duration and may be terminated only if both parties consent; whereas the Ukkusiksalik National Park IIBA shall be re-negotiated after the third review.

The expected outcome is continued protection and awareness of Parks Canada’s protected areas in the Nunavut Settlement Area and cooperative management of these protected areas with Inuit, with the goals to support the conservation of ecological integrity, engage partners and stakeholders in the protection and presentation of Parks Canada’s administered places, and enhance visitor experience. The proposal also fulfills a legal requirement under the Nunavut Agreement to implement the IIBAs related to national parks in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

The project will have neutral or positive effects on the natural and cultural resources and visitor experience opportunities of Auyuittuq, Sirmilik, Quttinirpaaq, and Ukkusiksalik National Parks; and it will have neutral or positive socio-economic effects and will enhance and protect the existing and future well-being of affected communities in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

The proposal will not substantially contribute to or challenge the Federal Sustainable Development goals. The Plan supports the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy goal of Sustainably Managed Lands and Forests, Healthy Wildlife Populations, and Connecting Canadians with Nature. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation.

Renouvellement du financement pour la mise en œuvre des Ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit dans les parcs nationaux situés sur l’île de Baffin et le parc national Ukkusiksalik

le 19 octobre, 2018

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et des programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été réalisée le 19 septembre 2018 concernant la proposition de renouveler le financement pour la mise en œuvre des Ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit dans les parcs nationaux situés sur l’île de Baffin et le parc national Ukkusiksalik. L’EES a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des propositions de programme afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Les projets particuliers réalisés pour mettre en œuvre les objectifs de l’énoncé de gestion sur place feront l’objet d’une évaluation distincte afin d’établir si une évaluation d’impact est nécessaire en vertu de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire et l’évaluation des projets au Nunavut (2013).

La proposition vise l’obtention d’un financement qui permettra de poursuivre la mise en œuvre des Ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit (ERAI) dans quatre parcs nationaux situés dans la région du Nunavut : les parcs nationaux Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq et Sirmilik (« les parcs nationaux de l’île de Baffin ») et le parc national Ukkusiksalik. L’ERAI des parcs nationaux de l’île de Baffin et l’ERAI du parc national Ukkusiksalik ont été conclues en 1999 et en 2003 respectivement, et demeurent en vigueur. L’ERAI des parcs nationaux de l’île de Baffin fera l’objet d’un examen tous les sept ans, et celle du parc national Ukkusiksalik, tous les cinq ans (à moins que les parties concernées n'en conviennent autrement). Les négociations ont établi que l’ERAI des parcs nationaux de l’île de Baffin sera d’une durée indéterminée et ne pourra être résiliée que si les deux parties y consentent, tandis que l’ERAI du parc national Ukkusiksalik sera renégociée à l’issue du troisième examen.

Le résultat attendu comprend la protection et la sensibilisation continues des aires protégées de Parcs Canada situées dans la région du Nunavut ainsi que la cogestion de ces aires avec les Inuit, en vue d’appuyer la conservation de l’intégrité écologique, de mobiliser les partenaires et les intervenants à l’égard de la protection et de la mise en valeur des endroits gérés par Parcs Canada et d’améliorer l’expérience du visiteur. La proposition vise aussi à satisfaire l’exigence juridique, en vertu de l’Accord du Nunavut, de mettre en œuvre les ERAI se rapportant aux parcs nationaux situés dans la région du Nunavut.

La proposition aura une incidence neutre ou positive sur les ressources naturelles et les ressources culturelles ainsi que sur les possibilités d’expérience du visiteur dans les parcs nationaux Auyuittuq, Sirmilik, Quttinirpaaq et Ukkusiksalik; elle aura également des conséquences neutres ou positives sur le plan socioéconomique, et permettra d’améliorer et de préserver le bien-être actuel et futur des collectivités concernées de la région du Nunavut.

La proposition ne contribuera pas de façon appréciable aux objectifs de la Stratégie de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral et ne nuira pas à leur réalisation. Elle appuie l’objectif de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, soit des terres et des forêts gérées de façon durable, des populations d’espèces sauvages en santé et le rapprochement des Canadiens avec la nature. Il n’y a pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants prévus découlant de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion.