Summary of the Strategic Environmental Assessment for the Establishment of Rouge National Urban Park

The Government of Canada announced in the 2011 Speech from the Throne its commitment to work towards the creation of a national urban park in the Rouge Valley, managed by Parks Canada. In the subsequent Budget 2012 announcement, the Government of Canada committed to preserving Canada’s natural beauty and taking action on the creation of Canada’s first national urban park in the Rouge Valley in Ontario. Accordingly, $143.7 million was provided over 10 years for park development and interim operations, and $7.6 million per year thereafter for its continuing operations.

Rouge National Urban Park, Parks Canada’s first national urban park and one of North America’s largest urban parks, was made possible by the foresight, dedication and engagement of a diversity of local visionaries and stewards over more than twenty years. At the heart of Parks Canada’s vision for a national urban park, is the concept of a “people’s park”; a gathering place for the diverse communities of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) to experience the outdoors on a grand scale. The park includes publicly owned lands which span approximately 47 square kilometers in the eastern sector of the Greater Toronto Area (bordering the cities of Toronto, Markham and Pickering). The overall area builds on the previous Rouge Park and includes natural, cultural, agricultural and recreational lands, and municipal and provincial infrastructure corridors, increasing the size of the original park lands by 20% to more than 13 times the size of Stanley Park in Vancouver.

Rouge National Urban Park’s diverse environments (coastal freshwater marsh, rivers, forest, wetlands, rolling hills and valleys, farm land, etc),.as well as the stories associated with its wide range of past and present human uses ( recreational, agricultural, residential, transport corridor for Aboriginal peoples and fur trade) are conducive to a wide array of unique opportunities for visitors and residents alike to experience. The park will offer the opportunity for meaningful, accessible, learning experiences, without entry fees, and these will reflect the national standards of services and products provided by Parks Canada and its partners. The opportunity to establish Rouge Park comes at a pivotal juncture in the relationship that Canadians have with their natural world and their cultural heritage, and a lack in Parks Canada’s ability to meaningfully reach Canada’s increasingly diverse urban population. In this respect, the establishment of Rouge National Urban Park represents an unparalleled opportunity to reach 20% of the Canadian population located in the Greater Toronto Area.  

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was conducted for the establishment of Rouge National Urban Park pursuant to the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), wherein all policy plan and program proposals of federal departments and agencies will consider, when appropriate, the potential environmental effects associated with their implementation.  This SEA has also taken into consideration the goals and targets of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, specifically Theme 3 – Protecting Nature; Goal 6: Ecosystem/Habitat Conservation and Protection.  The purpose of an SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

With the federal government proudly becoming the stewards of Rouge National Urban Park, Parks Canada is committed to providing better, real conservation results for this treasured place. The Agency has embraced the important role of involving and listening to Canadians, and consulted extensively on the park concept to encourage Canadians to help shape Canada’s first national urban park. The Rouge National Urban Park concept was developed following a robust and inclusive planning process led by Parks Canada, involving more than 100 provincial, municipal, Aboriginal and community stakeholders. This process included many long-time stewards of the park to ensure the concept built upon their extensive past work. As a broad, visionary document, Parks Canada presented the concept through a widespread public engagement program during the summer and fall of 2012, with thousands of comments received and respondents expressing overall support. Public feedback will be used to inform the development of a strategic management plan for Rouge National Urban Park.

Parks Canada is proud of the innovative approach of establishing a park as a place where nature, sustainable agriculture and a rich cultural heritage can be experienced by Canadians and visitors alike. A national urban park will be an entirely new and different offer to Canadians. There are currently no comparable places in Canada.  

The greatest environmental benefit of the park establishment will be achieved through Parks Canada’s commitment to maintain and improve the ecological health of the park. Accepted, scientific ecological criteria (e.g., naturally reproducing, self-sustaining populations of native species, natural restoration, elimination of invasive species) will be used to assess and prioritize ecosystem restoration. Habitat links between terrestrial and aquatic habitat in the Rouge Valley will be maintained to foster connection between Lake Ontario and the Oak Ridges Moraine. The national urban park will be managed in accordance with the principle that native ecosystems will be conserved and wildlife diversity maintained. In addition, establishment will result in on-going requirements for management interventions to maintain and improve ecological health and scientific integrity (for e.g. monitoring and protection of populations of species at risk). Ensuring the ecological health of the Rouge National Urban Park is protected into the future is Parks Canada’s priority.

Additional benefits will include improved visitor access and facilities, over the long-term, as well as improved ability to showcase the unique natural and cultural character of the place. Access to opportunities such as wildlife viewing is likely to improve, as programs and communications materials are developed to highlight the natural and cultural heritage of the area. In turn, this will help achieve Parks Canada’s goals of increasing awareness and relevance of our protected areas and their natural and cultural heritage amongst urban audiences. Although visitation may increase, and could result in conflicts, it is anticipated that increased and more directed visitation will be beneficial. An increased number of visitors will lead to increased opportunities for educational experiences, a sense of stewardship and awareness. Future development proposals will be reviewed and permitted subject to the application of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act 2012, Species at Risk Act and Parks Canada Cultural Resource Management Policy.

The establishment of Rouge National Urban Park will lead to important positive environmental effects. No important negative environmental effects are anticipated.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique visant l’établissement du parc urbain national de la Rouge

Dans son discours du Trône de 2011, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son engagement à travailler à la création d’un parc urbain national dans la vallée de la Rouge, qui serait géré par Parcs Canada. Dans l’annonce du budget suivant de 2012, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à préserver la beauté naturelle du Canada et à prendre des mesures pour créer le premier parc urbain national du pays, dans la vallée de la rivière Rouge, en Ontario. En conséquence, 143,7 millions de dollars ont été accordés sur 10 ans pour le développement et l’exploitation provisoire du parc, et 7,6 millions par année par la suite pour son exploitation permanente.

La création du parc urbain national de la Rouge, le premier parc urbain national de Parcs Canada et l’un des plus vastes parcs urbains de l’Amérique du Nord, a été rendue possible grâce à la prévoyance, au dévouement et à l’engagement de divers visionnaires et intendants locaux pendant plus de vingt ans. La vision de Parcs Canada à l’égard de la création d’un parc urbain national gravite autour du concept de « parc pour tous », un vaste lieu où les différentes communautés du Grand Toronto pourront se rencontrer et profiter du plein air. Le parc comprend des terres publiques d’une superficie d’environ 47 kilomètres carrés dans le secteur est de la région du Grand Toronto (bordant les municipalités de Toronto, Markham et Pickering). Le parc urbain national couvre globalement l’ancien parc de la Rouge et est constitué de terres à vocation naturelle, culturelle, agricole et récréative ainsi que de corridors d’infrastructures municipales et provinciales. Sa superficie est augmentée de 20 % par rapport aux terres du parc d’origine et fait plus de treize fois celle du parc Stanley, à Vancouver.

Les différents environnements du parc urbain national de la Rouge (marais d’eau douce côtiers, rivières, forêts, terres humides, terrains vallonnés, terres agricoles, etc.) tout comme l’histoire de leurs multiples utilisations passées et présentes (utilisation à des fins récréatives, agricoles et résidentielles, et corridor de transport pour les peuples autochtones et pour la traite des fourrures) ouvrent tout un éventail de possibilités aux visiteurs et aux résidants qui souhaitent en faire l’expérience. Le parc offrira des occasions d’apprentissage enrichissantes et accessibles, exemptes de droits d’entrée, qui seront à l’image des normes nationales de produits et services fournis par Parcs Canada et ses partenaires. La possibilité d’établir le parc de la Rouge se présente à une période charnière dans les relations qu’entretiennent les Canadiens avec leur monde naturel et leur patrimoine culturel, et vient combler une lacune dans la capacité de Parcs Canada à établir des liens significatifs avec la population urbaine de plus en plus diversifiée au Canada. À cet égard, l’établissement du parc urbain national de la Rouge représente une occasion sans précédent de sensibiliser 20 % de la population canadienne située dans la région du Grand Toronto.

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (ESS) a été réalisée pour l’établissement du parc urbain national de la Rouge en vertu de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), selon laquelle les ministères et organismes fédéraux doivent tenir compte, lorsqu’il est approprié de le faire, des conséquences environnementales qui pourraient découler de la mise en œuvre de tous les projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. Cette EES a également pris en considération les buts et les cibles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, en particulier le thème 3 (Protéger la nature) et l’objectif 6 (Conservation et protection des écosystèmes et habitats). Le but de l’EES est d’incorporer des considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

Le gouvernement fédéral est fier d’assurer l’intendance du parc urbain national de la Rouge et, dans cet esprit, Parcs Canada s’engage à livrer des résultats concrets en ce qui concerne la conservation de ce joyau national. L’Agence a pris en charge un rôle important, celui qui consiste à mener de vastes consultations sur le concept du parc auprès des Canadiens afin de les encourager à participer à la création du premier parc urbain national. Le concept du parc urbain national de la Rouge a été élaboré à la suite d’un processus de planification solide et inclusif, dirigé par Parcs Canada et mettant à contribution une centaine d’intervenants provinciaux, municipaux, autochtones et communautaires. Ce processus a fait appel à bon nombre d’intendants chevronnés du parc afin que le concept soit fondé sur leur longue expérience. Parcs Canada a présenté le concept sous la forme d’un document général et visionnaire dans le cadre d’un vaste programme de mobilisation publique au cours de l’été et de l’automne 2012. Des milliers de commentaires ont été envoyés, et les personnes interrogées à ce sujet ont dans l’ensemble exprimé leur soutien. Les commentaires du public serviront de point de départ à l’élaboration du plan directeur stratégique pour le parc urbain national de la Rouge.

Parcs Canada est fier de cette approche novatrice qui consiste à créer un parc dans un endroit où la nature, l’agriculture durable et un riche patrimoine culturel peuvent être combinés dans une même expérience tant pour les Canadiens que pour les autres visiteurs. Un parc urbain national constitue une offre tout à fait nouvelle et originale pour les Canadiens; il n’existe actuellement aucun endroit comparable ailleurs au Canada.

Les avantages les plus importants que la création du parc peut apporter à l’environnement seront obtenus grâce à l’engagement pris par Parcs Canada de maintenir et d’améliorer la santé écologique du parc. Des critères écologiques scientifiques reconnus (p. ex. reproduction naturelle, populations autosuffisantes d’espèces indigènes, restauration naturelle, élimination des espères envahissantes) seront utilisés pour évaluer les activités de restauration des écosystèmes et en établir l’ordre de priorité. Les liens entre les habitats terrestres et aquatiques de la vallée de la Rouge seront maintenus afin de favoriser la connexion entre le lac Ontario et la moraine d’Oak Ridges. Le parc urbain national sera géré conformément au principe de conservation des écosystèmes indigènes et de maintien de la diversité des espèces. En outre, l’établissement du parc entraînera des besoins permanents d’interventions de gestion afin de maintenir et d’améliorer la santé écologique et l’intégrité scientifique (p. ex. la surveillance et la protection des populations d’espèces en péril). La protection à long terme de la santé écologique du parc urbain national de la Rouge est une priorité pour Parcs Canada.

La création du parc aura d’autres avantages, notamment une meilleure accessibilité pour les visiteurs, des installations améliorées, à long terme, ainsi qu’une capacité accrue de mettre en valeur le caractère naturel et culturel unique de l’endroit. Les possibilités d’observation de la faune seront certainement améliorées, et les programmes et le matériel de communication seront élaborés de manière à mettre en évidence le patrimoine naturel et culturel de la région. Par la même occasion, l’établissement du parc contribuera à l’atteinte des objectifs de Parcs Canada pour ce qui est de faire connaître davantage nos aires protégées et leur patrimoine naturel et culturel auprès des collectivités urbaines, et de rendre ces lieux plus pertinents à leurs yeux. Bien que la fréquentation risque d’augmenter et d’entraîner des conflits, il est prévu qu’une fréquentation accrue et plus ciblée sera bénéfique. Une augmentation du nombre de visiteurs favorisera le développement d’expériences éducatives, d’un esprit d’intendance et d’une meilleure sensibilisation. Les projets d’aménagement futurs seront examinés et autorisés sous réserve de l’application de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et de la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada.

L’établissement du parc urbain national de la Rouge aura beaucoup d’effets positifs sur l’environnement. Aucun effet environnemental négatif important n’est prévu.