The Establishment of a National Marine Conservation Area in Lake Superior

The Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act conveys the Government of Canada’s vision to establish national marine conservation areas (NMCAs) for the purpose of protecting and conserving representative marine areas for the benefit, education and enjoyment of the people of Canada and the world. NMCAs contribute to the expanding Canadian and global networks of marine protected areas and demonstrate a firm commitment to celebrating these special places as part of our heritage for years to come.

The federal-provincial agreement to establish an NMCA in Lake Superior identifies an area of approximately 10,000 km2 including lakebed, shoals and islands and provides a broad framework for planning and management. A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was conducted, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Extensive consultations with other government agencies, coastal communities, First Nations and stakeholders resulted in an NMCA proposal that enjoys significant public support. The federal-provincial agreement sets out the boundaries of the NMCA, clarifies the roles and responsibilities of Canada and Ontario in the future management of the area and includes provisions for interim management, a management advisory board and a federal-provincial harmonization committee. A separate memorandum of understanding with First Nations has been signed to confirm that they and Parks Canada will continue to detail the involvement of First Nations in the planning and management of the NMCA and the opportunities that it will provide.

The greatest environmental benefit to the region is enhanced protection and conservation for one third of the Canadian side of the Lake Superior. Educational programming and outreach and new opportunities for visitor experience, along with enhanced research and monitoring activities, will together enrich our knowledge and appreciation of this globally significant freshwater ecosystem. Together, these benefits will support Parks Canada’s strategic goal that Canadians have a strong sense of connection, through meaningful experiences, to their national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas and that these protected places are enjoyed in ways that leave them unimpaired for present and future generations.

There are also economic benefits associated with this agreement, including a federal investment of $20 million in capital expenditures and $16 million in operating costs over the initial 10 year period. Protection of the marine environment while enabling ecologically sustainable use is fundamental to the social, cultural and economic well-being of coastal communities. To this end, the NMCA is expected to result in a modest growth in tourism with indirect benefits in the service sector, employment and economic diversification.

Potential negative impacts to aquatic habitats, sensitive or fragile island ecosystems or underwater shipwrecks could result from an increase in visitation to the area. These potential impacts will be managed through the Parks Canada’s management planning process, education, zoning, regulatory measures, compliance and enforcement where necessary.

The signing of this agreement will help maintain water quality and biological diversity in Lake Superior, support an ecosystem management approach and utilize the precautionary principle which are all important concepts for protecting the integrity of the marine environment.

L’établissement d’une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le Lac Supérieur

Il ressort du libellé de laLoi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada que la vision du gouvernement du Canada est d’établir des aires marines nationales de conservation (AMNC) afin de protéger et de conserver des aires marines représentatives pour le plaisir et l'enrichissement des connaissances de la population canadienne et mondiale. Les AMNC contribuent à l’expansion des réseaux canadiens et mondiaux d’aires marines protégées et démontrent un engagement clair de commémorer à jamais ces endroits spéciaux comme élément de notre patrimoine.

L’entente fédérale-provinciale, qui se veut un cadre général de planification et de gestion, vise à établir une AMNC dans le lac Supérieur en ciblant une zone d’environ 10 000 km2, composée notamment du lit du lac, de hauts-fonds et d’îles. Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été effectuée, en conformité avec la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. Le but de cette évaluation est de garantir que les questions environnementales seront intégrées aux politiques, aux plans et aux programmes publics à l’appui d’une prise de décision éclairée.

À la suite de vastes consultations menées auprès d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, des communautés côtières, des Premières nations et des intervenants, le projet de créer une AMNC a reçu un accueil favorable de la part du public. L’entente fédérale-provinciale établit les limites de l’AMNC, précise les rôles et les responsabilités du Canada et de l’Ontario dans la gestion future de l’aire et comprend des dispositions sur la gestion intérimaire et l’établissement d’un conseil consultatif de gestion et d’un comité d’harmonisation des activités fédérales-provinciales. On a signé un protocole d’entente distinct avec les Premières nations pour confirmer que celles-ci et Parcs Canada continueront de décrire en détail la participation des Premières nations à la planification et à la gestion, et les possibilités qui en découlent.

L’avantage environnemental le plus important pour la région est une meilleure protection et conservation du tiers de la superficie du lac Supérieur situé en territoire canadien. Des programmes d’éducation et de diffusion externe et de nouvelles possibilités d’expérience pour les visiteurs, de même que des activités de surveillance et de recherche améliorées, contribueront à enrichir nos connaissances et notre compréhension de cet écosystème d’eau douce important à l’échelle mondiale. Ensemble, ces avantages viendront appuyer le résultat stratégique visé par Parcs Canada, soit de veiller à ce que, grâce à des expériences enrichissantes, les Canadiens soient très attachés à leurs parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation, et profitent de ces lieux protégés de manière à les léguer intacts aux générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

Parmi les avantages économiques associés à cette entente, mentionnons un investissement fédéral de 20 millions de dollars en dépenses en capital et 16 millions de dollars en coûts d’exploitation sur une période initiale de dix ans. La protection de l’environnement marin, dans un contexte d’utilisation écologiquement viable, est essentielle au bien-être social, culturel et économique des communautés côtières. À cette fin, on prévoit une légère croissance du tourisme, ce qui aura des retombées indirectes sur le secteur des services, l’emploi et la diversification économique.

La fréquentation accrue de l’aire pourrait avoir des incidences négatives sur les habitats aquatiques, les écosystèmes fragiles ou délicats des îles ou les épaves sous-marines. Parcs Canada gérera ces incidences potentielles par le biais de son processus de planification de gestion, de l’éducation, du zonage, des mesures réglementaires, de la conformité et de l’application de la loi, au besoin.

La signature de cette entente favorisera le maintien de la qualité de l’eau et de la diversité biologique dans le lac Supérieur, appuiera une approche de gestion écosystémique et contribuera à l’application du principe de la prudence, des concepts tout aussi importants l’un que l’autre pour assurer la protection de l’intégrité de l’environnement marin.