The Impact Assessment Act requires all federal authorities, like Parks Canada, to determine, prior to approving a project, that “the carrying out of the project is not likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects.” The process used to make this determination is not prescribed in the legislation, and has been left to the discretion of the federal authority. Parks Canada uses four pathways of assessment.

Preapproved Routine Impact Assessment (PRIA): This pathway will be applied when Parks Canada has identified a class of routine, repetitive projects with well understood and predictable effects. A PRIA is intended to maximize efficiency for these recurring projects through creation of a preapproved routine impact assessment consisting of a suite of environmental management and mitigation measures for the defined class of projects.

Basic Impact Assessment (BIA): This pathway will be applied when potential adverse environmental effects are predictable, will be confined to the project site or immediate surroundings, and mitigation measures are well-established.

Detailed Impact Assessment (DIA): This pathway will be applied to complex projects that may require in-depth analysis of project interactions with valued components; may affect a particularly sensitive environmental setting or threaten a particularly sensitive valued component. These types of projects may lead to high levels of interest from Indigenous groups, public and stakeholders in relation to the potential for adverse environmental effects.

Designated Projects: Designated projects are listed on the Physical Activity Regulations. Designated projects are assessed by the Impact Assessment Agency following the process identified in the Act. For more information see: www.canada.ca/en/impact-assessment-agency.html.

The Guide to the Parks Canada Environmental Impact Analysis Process provides an overview of the process developed by Parks Canada to fulfill its requirements as a federal land manager under the previous Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 as well as its legal and mandated obligations to protect Canada’s natural and cultural heritage.

The guide outlines how the process works, when an assessment is required, and what Parks Canada’s requirements are for projects proposed within Parks Canada protected heritage places. The guide was developed to assist project proponents, consultants, stakeholders and partners involved with the preparation or review of an EIA.

The guide is being updated to address requirements of the new Impact Assessment Act (2019). The old document: Guide to the Parks Canada Environmental Impact Analysis Process is still available for download.

La Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact exige que toutes les autorités fédérales, comme Parcs Canada, déterminent, avant d’approuver un projet, que « la réalisation du projet n’est pas susceptible d’entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs importants ». Le processus utilisé pour prendre cette décision n’est pas précisé par la loi et son élaboration est laissée à la discrétion de l’autorité fédérale. Parcs Canada utilise quatre méthodes d’évaluation.

Évaluation d’impact courante préapprouvée (EICP) : Ce mécanisme sera utilisé lorsque Parcs Canada déterminera une catégorie de projets courants et répétitifs dont les effets sont bien compris et prévisibles. Une EICP est destinée à maximiser l’efficacité de ces projets récurrents par la création d’une évaluation d’impact préapprouvée constituée d’une série de mesures d’atténuation et de gestion environnementale pour la catégorie définie de projets.

Évaluation d’impact de base (EIB) : Ce mécanisme sera utilisé lorsque les effets environnementaux négatifs potentiels sont prévisibles, que ceux-ci resteront confinés au site de réalisation du projet ou à proximité et que les mesures d’atténuation sont bien établies.

Évaluation d’impact détaillée (EID) : Ce mécanisme est destiné aux projets complexes qui peuvent nécessiter une analyse en profondeur des interactions du projet avec des éléments valorisés, qui peuvent affecter un cadre environnemental très sensible ou qui menacent un élément valorisé particulièrement délicat. Ces types de projets peuvent susciter un grand intérêt de la part des groupes autochtones, du public et des intervenants relativement aux potentiels effets environnementaux néfastes.

Projets désignés : Les projets désignés figurent sur la liste du Règlement désignant les activités concrètes. Les projets désignés sont évalués par l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation d’impact, selon le processus défini dans la Loi. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir : www.canada.ca/fr/agence-evaluation-impact.html.

Le Guide sur le processus d’analyse d’impact environnemental de Parcs Canada donne un aperçu du processus élaboré par Parcs Canada pour respecter ses obligations à titre de gestionnaire de territoires domaniaux aux termes de l’ancienne Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), de même que ses obligations juridiques et son mandat en matière de protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada.

Le Guide décrit le déroulement du processus, les situations où une évaluation est obligatoire, et les exigences de Parcs Canada à l’égard des propositions de projet dans les lieux patrimoniaux protégés qu’il administre. Il a été élaboré dans le but d’aider les promoteurs de projets ainsi que les consultants, les intervenants et les partenaires concerné par la préparation ou l’examen d’une AIE.

Le Guide est mis à jour pour tenir compte des exigences de la nouvelle Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact (2019). Il est toujours possible de télécharger l’ancien document, Guide sur le processus d’analyse d’impact environnemental de Parcs Canada.

Retour à « Évaluation à l’échelle des projets »