At its core, impact assessment is about making sure that projects avoid causing negative effects to the environment, and that they are compatible with Parks Canada’s mandate.

This is reflected in the nine key principles that guide Parks Canada impact assessments. Read on for seven short stories drawn from across the country that illustrate those principles in action.

  • Evidence supports assessment and design of highway rehabilitation

    Kouchibouguac National Park, NB

    View of road 117 after rehabilitation showing wildlife tunnels built as part of the conservation opportunities of this project.

    The problem

    A cracked and aging 24-km section of the highway needed repaving. It was a public safety concern. Also, studies from past years showed that highway traffic killed many amphibians that tried to cross it. Repaving would pose risks to the park environment. However, ecologists also recognized an opportunity. Conservation gains could be achieved with better design. Infrastructure could be built to improve habitat connectivity—in other words, to help frogs and turtles move safely across the highway.

    The approach

    Ecological survey data enabled Parks Canada staff to identify four frog crossing hotspots and critical habitat of the Wood turtle (a threatened Species at Risk). It also showed important Brook Trout spawning and nursery grounds where the highway crossed streams. A Basic Impact Assessment used this evidence to improve the highway design and impact mitigations.

    The solution

    Four amphibian tunnels were built at crossing hotspots. Green frogs, wood frogs, and spotted salamanders have been seen using the tunnel, and more are hoped for. In addition, redesigned culverts improved fish passage below the highway. They reconnected brooks, creating 1247 m2 of new fish habitat. Temporary construction impacts were reduced by a fish salvaging program (an effort to pick up fish stranded in dry river runs and move them to safety). During construction, staff kept a daily watch for Species at Risk. Erosion and sediment controls were used to protect waterways. A monitoring program remains in place to measure effectiveness.

  • Engagement with stakeholders improves Best Management Practices

    Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh national park reserves, NWT

    Helicopter departure following drop off of visitors in Fairy Meadows at the Cirque of Unclimbables. Nahanni National Park Reserve.

    The problem

    In northern park reserves, many eco-tourism entrepreneurs offer guided rafting, canoeing, and hiking expeditions. Each operator must have a Parks Canada business license, which is issued after an impact assessment. The assessment checks for potential environmental effects of tourism and public concern. The Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act requires this. Parks Canada staff wanted to develop Best Management Practices that would make the assessment process more efficient. They would ensure consistent and quality mitigations were applied to businesses every time.

    The approach

    Parks Canada engaged Indigenous partners, who cooperatively manage the reserves, and multiple stakeholders in the development of the Best Management Practices. Tourism entrepreneurs, community councils, destination marketers, and environmental NGOs received early notice of the proposal and lots of time to respond. Input from all who wished to comment was considered.

    The solution

    Stakeholders brought valuable local insights that were incorporated into the Best Management Practices. At the same time, Parks Canada strengthened its long-term relationships with those stakeholders. As a result, applicants can be sure of an efficient review. The review process upholds the reserves’ high environmental mitigation standards.

  • Inclusive engagement contributes to flood protection

    Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, NS

    An aerial view of the Fortress of Louisbourg including the Quay Wall, Frédéric Gate, town, and King's Bastion

    The problem

    Sea level rise, coastal erosion and increasing storm intensity raised the risk of flooding at one of the most iconic historic sites in Eastern Canada. Historically, the Fortress was protected by Barrier Beach and the Quay Wall. Through careful monitoring, Parks Canada staff recognized that the beach was eroding. Losing nearly half a metre per year, it threatened to breach. Only a major engineering intervention could preserve the site. This required that multiple stakeholders be engaged for their insights on the proposed solution design.

    The approach

    The impact assessment team consulted provincial and federal experts, local fisher people, the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia, and the public. Through the consultations, the team considered how the solution might impact cultural, ecological, and archeological resources, and the visitor experience. It became clear that the impact assessment should focus on the potential impacts of the solution design on fish and fish habitat.

    The solution

    The project team installed two stone structures extending from the shore into the sea (also known as groynes) at each end of Barrier Beach. These help prevent the beach from washing away. The beach itself was “nourished” with new sediment. The project also raised the Quay Wall by one metre. Parks Canada worked closely with experts at Fisheries and Oceans Canada to offset the potential impacts to fish from this activity. More productive fish habitat was created at the site through the restoration of a saltwater marsh.
  • Parks Canada’s mandate guides project design, benefitting ecosystems and visitors

    Point Pelee National Park, Ontario

    A family enjoying a picnic at the Northwest Beach Pavillion, Point Pelee National Park.

    The problem

    An aged visitor day-use facility at the Northwest Beach no longer met the needs of visitors. Visitorship had declined from its height in the 1960s. Meanwhile, concern had risen for the rare and fragile active dunes (wind-blown sands) of the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannah habitat. Accordingly, staff proposed to redesign the visitor facilities. This created an opportunity to make conservation gains for Species at Risk.

    The approach

    Parks Canada’s mandate centres both ecological integrity and outstanding visitor experience. Through this lens, a Basic Impact Assessment looked at each stage of the project. It considered how removing the old visitor facilities, restoring habitat, and building and operating the new facilities could impact the environment. Means were sought to enhance both ecological integrity and the visitor experience.

    The solution

    In addition to the building of a new day-use facility, the project entailed restoring about half the footprint of the old day-use area (16,000 m2 or 1.6 hectares). Habitat for 16 Species at Risk was expanded and enhanced. The old roadway and three of four parking lots were also removed and returned to nature. The new day-use facility and the one remaining paved parking lot provided improved modern facilities for visitors while still having net positive gains for the important habitat at Northwest Beach.

  • Collaboration with Inuvialuit informs caribou filming practices

    Ivvavik National Park, YT

    Filming activities taking place in Ivvavik National Park.

    The problem

    The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) proposed to film the spectacular migration of the Porcupine caribou herd through Ivvavik and Vuntut national parks. Among land-mammal migrations, the herd’s move from wintering to calving grounds is one of the world’s longest. It would make a magnificent film subject. The BBC also hoped to film government scientists collaring caribou with satellite GPS units and the post-calving aggregation of the caribou in late June or July.

    The approach

    These places are homelands of the Inuvialuit and Vuntut Gwitchin, for whom the caribou is a cultural touchstone. Ivvavik National Park is cooperatively managed between Parks Canada and the Inuvialuit. They are directly involved in all stages of project development, impact assessment, and implementation. Accordingly, Parks Canada staff brought the BBC’s proposal to the park’s cooperative management board for review. The impact assessment process informed whether the permit could be issued and on what conditions.

    The solution

    The film permit was issued on condition that the crew follow rules that were developed with Inuvialuit Indigenous Knowledge to avoid disturbing the caribou. The crew was required, for example, to ascend to higher altitudes and use specialized camera equipment to avoid startling the animals. They would also have to land at least 300 m away from the herd. The meaningful participation of the Inuvialuit helped strengthen Parks Canada’s relationship with the community. And it ensured that the BBC filming was a success without any negative impact on the caribou.

  • Focused and efficient effort ensures safe bridge repair

    Rideau Canal National Historic Site, ON

    View of Bank Street Bridge, over the Rideau Canal, after rehabilitation.

    The problem

    Ottawa’s Bank Street Bridge, built in 1912 over Queen Elizabeth Drive and the Rideau Canal, needed repair. The last major rehabilitation had taken place two decades prior. Since then, concrete on the underside of this urban archway had become delaminated and unsound. To fix it, repair equipment, including a large construction barge, would have to be anchored in the canal below. The work posed a low risk to natural and cultural resources on the canal. Still, an impact assessment was required in order to address potential negative impacts and meet legal requirements under the Impact Assessment Act.

    The approach

    A guiding principle of Parks Canada impact assessment is focused and efficient review of proposals. In line with that principle, for the work taking place out of the water, negative effects were readily addressed. Well-established standard mitigations were drawn from a preapproved routine impact assessment (PRIA). An appropriate effort was also given to mitigating low risks to Species at Risk and boaters. For example, the project site fell within the critical habitat zone of the threatened Blanding’s turtle. However, no records exist of the turtle’s presence in this urban section of canal with high concrete walls. It was slightly more possible that workers might encounter a nest of the threatened Barn swallow. Defined steps would prevent harm.

    The solution

    The impact assessment duly considered steps to follow if a turtle or swallow’s nest were spotted, using the right level of effort. For example, Blanding’s turtle surveys were not warranted ahead of time given the low risk of encounter. Work on the bridge was authorized on condition that the work crew follow targeted mitigation procedures. If workers did spot a turtle, they would stop and allow the animal to leave the site. Birds’ nest sighting would require work stoppage and an immediate report to Parks Canada.

  • Parks Canada’s mandate steers assessment of new avalanche control system

    Kootenay National Park, BC

    View of Mount Whymper in Kootenay National Park.

    The problem

    Every year at Mount Whymper, Parks Canada staff have had to fly helicopters to place explosives on avalanche pathways that threaten Highway 93S. Sometimes it would have to be done in conditions of poor visibility or stormy weather. A proposed Remote Avalanche Control System (RACS) that would end these staffed operations. The promised benefits for safety and cost savings were huge. However, even good projects have potential risks. The impact assessment process helps Parks Canada staff see and address them.

    The approach

    The RACS installation posed a risk of disturbing wildlife and changing pristine mountain views valued by visitors. These concerns came from thinking through the Parks Canada mandate. A Basic Impact Assessment surveyed the risks at the four small installation sites at approximately 3000 m elevation, and along the flight paths to get to them. It identified the potential for the barren mountain face to be visited by mountain goats and nesting birds. Also, Mount Whymper attracts recreational skiers. An analysis to determine closure policies would be required.

    The solution

    The RACS installation was authorized on condition that work crews take measures to avoid disturbance to mountain goats and nesting birds. Surveys for both were required prior to the work. Appropriate adjustments to flight paths were also needed. Work was scheduled to avoid the mountain goat kidding and early rearing season. Still, the work would be done before snowfall of the same year. As much as possible, work crews limited their number of flights to the sites. And frequent communication about the work plans ensured visitors would be kept informed of risks and closures. Attention to the Parks Canada mandate minimized wildlife and visitor disturbance, while delivering a safer avalanche season for all.

L’évaluation d’impact consiste essentiellement à s’assurer que les projets évitent de causer des effets négatifs sur l’environnement et qu’ils sont compatibles avec le mandat de Parcs Canada.
Cela se reflète dans les neuf principes clés qui guident les évaluations d’impact de Parcs Canada. Vous trouverez ci-dessous sept témoignages de tout le pays qui illustrent ces principes en action.

  • Des preuves à l’appui de l’évaluation et de la conception de la réhabilitation des routes

    Parc national Kouchibouguac, N.-B.

    Vue de la route 117 après réhabilitation montrant les tunnels pour la faune construits comme opportunités de conservation de ce projet.

    Le problème

    Une section de 24 km de l’autoroute, fissurée et vieillissante, devait être repavée. C’était une question de sécurité publique. De plus, des études menées ces dernières années ont montré que le trafic routier tuait de nombreux amphibiens qui tentaient de la traverser. Le repavage présenterait des risques pour l’environnement du parc. Cependant, les écologistes ont également reconnu une possibilité. Des gains de conservation pourraient être obtenus avec une meilleure conception. Des infrastructures pourraient être construites pour améliorer la connectivité des habitats - en d’autres termes, pour aider les grenouilles et les tortues à se déplacer en toute sécurité sur l’autoroute.

    La stratégie

    Les données de l’enquête écologique ont permis au personnel de Parcs Canada de définir quatre points chauds de passage des grenouilles et l’habitat essentiel de la tortue des bois (une espèce menacée). Elles ont aussi révélé d’importantes frayères et nourriceries pour l’omble de fontaine aux endroits où l’autoroute traverse des cours d’eau. Une évaluation d’impact de base a utilisé ces données pour améliorer la conception de la route et les mesures d’atténuation de l’impact.

    La solution

    Quatre tunnels pour amphibiens ont été construits aux points de passage. Des grenouilles vertes, des grenouilles des bois et des salamandres tachetées ont été observées dans le tunnel, et on espère en voir d’autres. En outre, des ponceaux réaménagés ont amélioré le passage des poissons en aval de l’autoroute. Ils ont reconnecté des ruisseaux, créant ainsi 1247 m2 de nouvel habitat pour les poissons. Les impacts temporaires de la construction ont été réduits par un programme de récupération des poissons (un effort pour récupérer les poissons échoués dans les cours d’eau asséchés et les mettre en sécurité). Pendant la construction, le personnel a surveillé quotidiennement les espèces en péril. Des contrôles de l’érosion et des sédiments ont été utilisés pour protéger les cours d’eau. Un programme de suivi reste en place pour mesurer l’efficacité.

  • L’interaction avec les intervenants améliore les meilleures pratiques de gestion

    Réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh, T.N.-O.

    Départ de l’hélicoptère après avoir déposé des visiteurs à Fairy Meadows, au Cirque des Parois impossibles. Réserve de parc national Nahanni.

    Le problème

    Dans les réserves de parc du Nord, de nombreux entrepreneurs d’écotourisme proposent des expéditions guidées de rafting, de canoë et de randonnée. Chaque exploitant doit avoir un permis d’exploitation de Parcs Canada, qui est délivré après une évaluation d’impact. L’évaluation vérifie les effets potentiels du tourisme sur l’environnement et les préoccupations du public. La Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie l’exige. Le personnel de Parcs Canada voulait élaborer des pratiques exemplaires de gestion qui rendraient le processus d’évaluation plus efficace. Ils veilleraient à ce que des mesures d’atténuation cohérentes et de qualité soient appliquées aux entreprises à chaque fois.

    La stratégie

    Parcs Canada a fait appel à des partenaires autochtones, qui gèrent les réserves de façon coopérative, et à de multiples intervenants pour élaborer les pratiques exemplaires de gestion. Les entrepreneurs du tourisme, les conseils communautaires, les spécialistes du marketing des destinations et les ONG environnementales ont été informés très tôt de la proposition et ont eu beaucoup de temps pour y répondre. On a tenu compte des contributions de tous ceux qui ont souhaité faire des commentaires.

    La solution

    Les intervenants ont apporté des connaissances locales précieuses qui ont été intégrées dans les meilleures pratiques de gestion. En même temps, Parcs Canada a renforcé ses relations à long terme avec ces intervenants. Ainsi, les demandeurs peuvent être assurés d’un examen efficace. Le processus d’examen confirme les normes élevées d’atténuation environnementale des réserves.

  • La participation inclusive contribue à la protection contre les inondations

    Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, N.-É.

    Vue aérienne de la forteresse de Louisbourg, dont le mur du quai, la porte Frédéric, la ville et le bastion du roi.

    Le problème

    L’élévation du niveau de la mer, l’érosion côtière et l’intensité croissante des tempêtes ont augmenté le risque d’inondation de l’un des sites historiques les plus emblématiques de l’Est du Canada. Historiquement, la forteresse était protégée par le cordon littoral et le mur de quai. Grâce à une surveillance attentive, le personnel de Parcs Canada a constaté que la plage s’érodait. Perdant près d’un demi-mètre par an, elle menaçait de céder. Seule une intervention majeure d’ingénierie pourrait préserver le site. Pour ce faire, il a fallu faire appel à de multiples intervenants pour obtenir leur avis sur la conception de la solution proposée.

    La stratégie

    L’équipe chargée de l’évaluation d’impact a consulté des experts provinciaux et fédéraux, les pêcheurs locaux, les Mi’kmaq de Nouvelle-Écosse et le public. Lors des consultations, l’équipe a examiné comment la solution pourrait avoir un impact sur les ressources culturelles, écologiques et archéologiques, ainsi que sur l’expérience des visiteurs. Il est apparu clairement que l’évaluation d’impact devait se concentrer sur les impacts potentiels de la conception de la solution sur le poisson et son habitat.

    La solution

    L’équipe du projet a installé deux structures en pierre s’étendant du rivage dans la mer (également appelées épis) à chaque extrémité du cordon littoral. Elles permettent d’éviter que la plage ne soit emportée par les eaux. La plage elle-même a été « nourrie » avec de nouveaux sédiments. Le projet a également permis de rehausser le mur du quai d’un mètre. Parcs Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des experts de Pêches et Océans Canada pour compenser les impacts potentiels de cette activité sur les poissons. Un habitat plus productif pour les poissons a été créé sur le site grâce à la restauration d’un marais d’eau salée.

  • Le mandat de Parcs Canada guide la conception des projets, au profit des écosystèmes et des visiteurs.

    Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée (Ontario)

    Famille en train de pique-niquer au pavillon de la plage Northwest, parc national de la Pointe-Pelée.

    Le problème

    Une installation de jour vieillissante à la plage nord-ouest ne répondait plus aux besoins des visiteurs. Le nombre de visiteurs a diminué par rapport à son apogée dans les années 1960. Entre-temps, l’inquiétude s’est accrue pour les dunes actives (sables soufflés par le vent), rares et fragiles, de l’habitat de la savane de la flèche sableuse du lac Érié. En conséquence, le personnel a proposé de réaménager les installations pour les visiteurs. Cela a permis de réaliser des gains de conservation pour les espèces en péril.

    La stratégie

    Le mandat de Parcs Canada est axé à la fois sur l’intégrité écologique et sur une expérience exceptionnelle pour les visiteurs. Dans cette optique, une évaluation d’impact de base a été effectuée pour chaque étape du projet. On a examiné comment la suppression des anciennes installations pour les visiteurs, la restauration de l’habitat, ainsi que la construction et l’exploitation des nouvelles installations pourraient avoir un impact sur l’environnement. On a cherché des moyens d’améliorer à la fois l’intégrité écologique et l’expérience des visiteurs.

    La solution

    Outre la construction d’une nouvelle aire de fréquentation diurne, le projet prévoyait la restauration d’environ la moitié de la superficie de l’ancienne aire de fréquentation diurne (16 000 m2 ou 1,6 hectare). L’habitat de 16 espèces en péril a été étendu et amélioré. L’ancienne route et trois des quatre stationnements ont également été retirés et rendus à la nature. La nouvelle aire de fréquentation diurne et le seul stationnement pavé restant ont fourni des installations modernes améliorées pour les visiteurs tout en représentant un gain positif net pour l’habitat important de la plage Northwest.

  • La collaboration avec les Inuvialuit permet d’étayer les pratiques de tournage des caribous

    Parc national Ivvavik, Yukon

    Activités de tournage ayant lieu dans le parc national d'Ivvavik.

    Le problème

    La British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) a proposé de filmer la migration spectaculaire du troupeau de caribous de la Porcupine à travers les parcs nationaux Ivvavik et Vuntut. Parmi les migrations des mammifères terrestres, le déplacement du troupeau entre les lieux d’hivernage et les lieux de mise bas est l’un des plus longs au monde. Cela ferait un magnifique sujet de film. La BBC espérait également filmer les scientifiques du gouvernement posant des colliers sur les caribous dotés d’unités GPS par satellite et le rassemblement des caribous après la mise bas, fin juin ou juillet.

    La stratégie

    Ces lieux sont les terres d’origine des Inuvialuit et des Gwitchin Vuntut, pour qui le caribou est une pierre angulaire de leur culture. Le parc national Ivvavik est géré conjointement par Parcs Canada et les Inuvialuit. Ils participent directement à toutes les étapes du développement du projet, de l’évaluation d’impact et de la mise en œuvre. C’est pourquoi le personnel de Parcs Canada a soumis la proposition de la BBC au conseil de gestion coopérative du parc pour examen. Le processus d’évaluation d’impact a permis d’établir si le permis pouvait être délivré et à quelles conditions.

    La solution

    Le permis de tournage a été délivré à la condition que l’équipe suive les règles élaborées avec le savoir autochtone des Inuvialuit pour éviter de déranger les caribous. L’équipe a dû, par exemple, se positionner à des altitudes plus élevées et utiliser des équipements de caméra spécialisés pour ne pas effrayer les animaux. Ils ont également dû atterrir à au moins 300 m du troupeau. La participation significative des Inuvialuit a contribué à renforcer les relations de Parcs Canada avec la communauté. De plus, elle a permis de s’assurer que le tournage de la BBC était un succès sans aucun impact négatif sur les caribous.

  • Un effort ciblé et efficace permet de réparer les ponts en toute sécurité

    Lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau (Ontario)

    Vue du pont de la rue Bank, au-dessus du canal Rideau, après réhabilitation.

    Le problème

    Le pont de la rue Bank à Ottawa, construit en 1912 au-dessus de la promenade Reine-Élizabeth et du canal Rideau, devait être réparé. La dernière réhabilitation majeure avait eu lieu deux décennies auparavant. Depuis lors, le béton de la partie inférieure de cette arche urbaine s’est délaminé et n’est plus solide. Pour le réparer, il fallait ancrer des équipements de réparation, dont une grande barge de construction, dans le canal en contrebas. Les travaux présentaient un faible risque pour les ressources naturelles et culturelles du canal. Néanmoins, une évaluation d’impact était nécessaire afin de cerner les impacts négatifs potentiels et de répondre aux exigences de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact.

    La stratégie

    Un des principes directeurs de l’évaluation d’impact de Parcs Canada est l’examen ciblé et efficace des propositions. Conformément à ce principe, pour les travaux qui se déroulent hors de l’eau, les effets négatifs ont été facilement traités. Des mesures d’atténuation standard bien établies ont été tirées d’une évaluation d’impact courante préapprouvée (EICP) Un effort approprié a également été consenti pour atténuer les faibles risques pour les espèces en péril et les plaisanciers. Par exemple, le site du projet se trouvait dans l’aire d’habitat essentiel de la tortue mouchetée, une espèce menacée. Cependant, il n’existe aucune trace de la présence de la tortue dans cette section urbaine du canal avec de hauts murs en béton. Il était un peu plus probable que les travailleurs rencontrent un nid d’hirondelle rustique, une espèce menacée. Des étapes définies permettraient d’éviter tout préjudice.

    La solution

    L’évaluation d’impact a dûment pris en compte les étapes à suivre si une tortue ou un nid d’hirondelle étaient repérés, en utilisant le bon niveau d’effort. Par exemple, les enquêtes sur les tortues mouchetées n’étaient pas justifiées à l’avance étant donné le faible risque de rencontre. Les travaux sur le pont ont été autorisés à condition que l’équipe de travail suive les procédures d’atténuation ciblées. Si les travailleurs apercevaient une tortue, ils devaient s’arrêter et permettre à l’animal de quitter le site. L’observation d’un nid d’oiseau nécessitait un arrêt de travail et un rapport immédiat à Parcs Canada.

  • Le mandat de Parcs Canada oriente l’évaluation d’un nouveau système de contrôle des avalanches

    Parc national Kootenay (Colombie-Britannique)

    Vue du Mont Whymper dans le parc national de Kootenay.

    Le problème

    Chaque année, au Mont Whymper, le personnel de Parcs Canada a dû utiliser des hélicoptères pour placer des explosifs sur les couloirs d’avalanche qui menacent la route 93S. Parfois, il fallait le faire dans des conditions de mauvaise visibilité ou de tempête. Une proposition de système de mesures de prévention des avalanches à distance qui mettrait fin à ces opérations avec personnel. Les avantages promis en matière de sécurité et de réduction des coûts étaient énormes. Cependant, même les bons projets comportent des risques potentiels. Le processus d’évaluation d’impact aide le personnel de Parcs Canada à les voir et à les aborder.

    La stratégie

    L’installation système de prévention des avalanches risquait de perturber la faune et de modifier les paysages de montagne vierges appréciés des visiteurs. Ces préoccupations sont nées de la réflexion sur le mandat de Parcs Canada. Une évaluation d’impact de base a examiné les risques sur les quatre petits sites d’installation situés à environ 3000 m d’altitude, ainsi que le long des trajectoires de vol pour s’y rendre. Elle a défini le potentiel de la face stérile de la montagne à être visitée par des chèvres de montagne et des oiseaux nicheurs. Le Mont Whymper attire également les skieurs de loisirs. Une analyse serait nécessaire pour établir les politiques de fermeture.

    La solution

    L’installation du système de prévention des avalanches a été autorisée à condition que les équipes de travail prennent des mesures pour éviter de déranger les chèvres de montagne et les oiseaux nicheurs. Des études sur ces deux questions ont été requises avant les travaux. Des modifications appropriées aux trajectoires de vol étaient également nécessaires. Les travaux ont été programmés pour éviter la saison de mise bas et d’élevage précoce des chèvres de montagne. Pourtant, les travaux seraient effectués avant les chutes de neige de la même année. Dans la mesure du possible, les équipes de travail ont limité le nombre de vols vers les sites. De plus, une communication fréquente sur les plans de travail a permis de tenir les visiteurs informés des risques et des fermetures. L’attention portée au mandat de Parcs Canada a permis de minimiser les perturbations pour la faune et les visiteurs, tout en assurant une saison des avalanches plus sûre pour tous.