What to know before you visit

The Government of Canada is investing in the S.S. Klondike National Historic Site as part of the largest federal infrastructure plan in the history of Parks Canada. Through these infrastructure investments, Parks Canada is protecting and conserving national treasures, while supporting local economies and contributing to growth in the tourism sector.

Safety is a top priority. Visitors near project areas are advised to exercise caution and respect on-site signage. Read on to find out about the projects happening in 2021 at the S.S. Klondike National Historic Site.


S.S. Klondike

Structural integrity

We are continuing to reinforce and strengthen the Klondike’s wall frames and deck beams. This work is one component of the path forward to increase the weight capacity of the decks on the Klondike and is part of the bigger restoration plan to restore public access to areas of the boat that are presently closed.

Paddlewheel
We are removing lead-based paint from the rudders located near the vessel’s paddlewheel. Lead paint from the paddlewheel itself was removed in the early 2000s. Soil testing and removal of a small area of contaminated soil below the paddlewheel is also expected to take place over a series of several days this season.

Atlin Barge

The Atlin is the last remaining wooden barge from the age of river transportation in the Yukon and represents the important role that barges played within the Yukon’s water transportation system between 1898 and 1950.

As part of a regular condition assessment conducted in 2018, Parks Canada found the hull of the barge to be deteriorating due to environmental factors, such as rain, snow and fluctuating humidity levels. This year we are continuing with efforts to restore the hull of the barge, as well as upgrading the crib supports.

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite

Le gouvernement du Canada effectue des investissements au lieu historique national S.S. Klondike dans le cadre du plus grand plan d’infrastructure fédéral de l’histoire de Parcs Canada. Grâce aux investissements dans les infrastructures, Parcs Canada peut protéger et conserver des trésors nationaux, tout en soutenant les économies locales et en contribuant à la croissance du secteur touristique.

La sécurité est une priorité absolue. Il est conseillé aux visiteurs se trouvant à proximité des chantiers de faire preuve de prudence et de respecter la signalisation sur place. Voici des projets qui se déroulent au lieu historique national S.S. Klondike en 2021.


S.S. Klondike

Intégrité structurelle

Parcs Canada continue à renforcer et à consolider la charpente des murs et les poutres des ponts du Klondike. Ce travail fait partie des efforts déployés pour augmenter la capacité de charge des ponts du Klondike, et d’un plan de restauration plus général visant à rétablir l’accès du public aux zones du bateau qui sont actuellement fermées.

Roue à aubes

Parcs Canada travaille à enlever la peinture au plomb sur les safrans situés près de la roue à aubes du navire. La peinture au plomb sur la roue à aubes elle-même a été enlevée au début des années 2000. Des travaux d’analyse de sol et d’enlèvement d’une petite zone de terre contaminée sous la roue à aubes devraient également avoir lieu cette saison pendant plusieurs jours.

Barge Atlin

La barge Atlin est le dernier modèle représentant l'époque du transport par fluviales au Yukon et témoigne du rôle important que les barges ont joué dans le système de transport fluvial du Yukon de 1898 à 1950.

Lors d’une évaluation de routine menée en 2018, Parcs Canada a constaté que la coque de la barge se détériorait en raison de facteurs environnementaux comme la pluie, la neige et les fluctuations du taux d’humidité. Parcs Canada poursuit ses efforts pour restaurer la coque de la barge Atlin et ainsi que pour améliorer les supports de la barge.