Steam powered river transportation was a central element in the development and connection of the Yukon to the outside world for almost a century after the first vessel reached Fort Selkirk in 1866. The largest vessel ever to ply the Canadian portion of the Yukon River, the S.S. Klondike II was built by the British Yukon Navigation Co. and launched at Whitehorse in 1937 to replace her namesake, which sank the year before. Her retirement in 1955 brought to an end the era of commercial steamboat navigation in the Yukon. 

The S.S. Klondike was designated a National Historic Site because of her association with the inland water transportation system connecting the Yukon to the outside world.

Cultural resource management

As a National Historic Site of Canada the S.S. Klondike is managed according to the principles outlined in Parks Canada's Cultural Resource Management Policy.


Historic site management

Site management practices and initiatives specific to the S.S. Klondike are further guided by: 


 

 In an effort to make this information available to you in a timely manner, these are currently available in PDF format. Should you require an alternate format or a hard copy please contact us by e-mail: pc.ssklondikeinfo.pc@canada.ca.

Management plan review

Management plans are required for all national historic sites, and must be reviewed every ten years. Parks Canada has prepared a new draft management plan for S.S. Klondike National Historic Site and is inviting the public to share their thoughts on the future of the site.

Commercial film and photography guidelines

In order to protect the sites’ resources and visitor experiences, and ensure the rights of land claim beneficiaries are not affected, commercial filming and photographic activities have special considerations.

Dès l’arrivée d’un premier navire à Fort Sel- kirk en 1866 et pendant près d’un siècle, la navigation fluviale par bateau à vapeur a joué un rôle primordial dans l’essor du Yukon et l’établissement de liens entre cette région et le reste du monde. Plus grand navire à avoir parcouru la portion canadienne du fleuve Yukon, le S.S. Klondike II a été construit par la British Yukon Navigation Co. et mis à l’eau en 1937 pour remplacer son homonyme, qui avait coulé l’année précédente. Sa mise hors service en 1955 a mis un terme à l’ère de la navigation commerciale par bateau à vapeur au Yukon.

Le S.S. Klondike a été désigné lieu historique national en raison du rôle qu'il a joué dans le transport par voie d'eau intérieure pour relier le Yukon avec le monde extérieur.

Gestion des ressources culturelles 

Toutefois, puisqu'il s'agit d'un lieu historique national du Canada, elle est administrée dans le respect des principes établis dans la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada.

Plan directeur

Les pratiques et les initiatives de gestion propres au lieu historique national SS. Klondike se fondent également sur :

Afin de rendre les renseignements disponibles de façon rapide, ce plan n'est présentement distribué qu'en format PDF. Si vous avez besoin d'un autre format ou d'une copie papier, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à : Whitehorse.info@pc.gc.ca