Most Yukon River sternwheel steamers burned wood. While there was coal in the Yukon it was not widely distributed and hence not readily available. Wood on the other hand was plentiful, and at least in the early days, available along the length of the river. An important industry employing large numbers of men was created along the river to service the steamers.

Loading cordwood with a hand truck

There were wood camps located every fifty to one hundred miles between Whitehorse and Dawson City. Wood lot operators would contract with British Yukon Navigation Co. to provide anywhere from 300 to 2000 cords of wood each season.

The S.S. Klondike would typically make one or two wood stops on the downstream trip to Dawson City. On the upstream return trip to Whitehorse she would make anywhere from five to seven wood stops, consuming about one cord of wood per hour. A steamer, depending upon its size, consumed approximately 120 cords of 4 foot (1.2 m) wood every trip from Whitehorse to Dawson City.

La plupart des vapeurs à une roue qui naviguaient sur le fleuve Yukon utilisaient le bois comme carburant. Bien qu'il y avait du charbon au Yukon, il n'était pas distribué à grande échelle et il était difficile de s'en procurer. Par contre, le bois était abondant et il y en avait tout le long du fleuve à cette époque. Une industrie fort importante donnèrent du travail à de nombreuses personnes fut de ce fait créée le long du fleuve afin de répondre aux besoins des navires à vapeur.

Chargement de bois de corde à l'aide d'un chariot à main

On trouvait des camps forestiers à tous les cinquante à cent milles entre Whitehorse et Dawson City. Les exploitants des campements forestiers concluaient un contrat avec la British Yukon Navigation Co. en vertu duquel ils devaient fournir de 300 à 2 000 cordes de bois par saison.

Le S.S. Klondike avait l'habitude de faire un ou deux arrêts pour se ravitailler en bois quand il descendait le fleuve jusqu'à Dawson City. Au retour vers Whitehorse, il pouvait faire de cinq à sept arrêts, et consommait environ une corde de bois à l'heure. Selon sa taille, un navire à vapeur consommait environ 120 cordes de billots de 1,2 m par voyage entre Whitehorse et Dawson.