Towards the vision for Klondike National Historic Sites

Parks Canada is going full steam ahead to reach our goals set out in the Klondike National Historic Sites’ 2018 management plan. Part of this work is developing a sustainable model for managing the sites’ heritage assets in and around Dawson City.

We want to see treasured places and heritage buildings protected and used in a way that contributes to a healthy and vibrant community. To do this, Parks Canada is currently involving stakeholders and partners in exploring different ownership and use models for some of our underused properties and buildings in the Klondike.

Heritage assets in the Klondike

Parks Canada protects and presents nationally significant examples of cultural and natural heritage. We share the stories of unique places and the historic values they represent. At the same time, we need to exercise responsible fiscal management and wisely invest resources.

Parks Canada is the largest single heritage asset owner in the Klondike region. Some buildings are essential to telling the story of the gold rush and its aftermath and play an active role in tours and events. Other buildings are used for housing, office space or storage of artifacts. Some are underused or sit empty.

A shared responsibility

Protecting the historic look and feel of the Klondike region is a shared responsibility. Parks Canada, Yukon government, City of Dawson, and many private entities own heritage buildings spread throughout the town and region. This heritage mosaic depends not only on Parks Canada but also other governments and asset owners.

Using a policy-based framework Parks Canada has taken a thorough look at the sites’ properties and buildings. We have come to realize that not all of our heritage assets in the Klondike must remain federally owned and administered. Others may have a chance at a new life under different ownership and use, while ensuring historic values are still protected through other means such as municipal or territorial historic site designation.

Working together to find the best outcomes

Parks Canada embraces collaboration with all governments and other key stakeholders in the region. We look forward to exploring new opportunities for visitors and community members to experience these treasured places.

Progress to date

  • In 2018, Parks Canada formed an Advisory Committee of local and regional organizations and community representatives to inform decision making related to heritage assets; the committee meets twice per year
  • All assets have been re-inventoried and heritage designations confirmed
  • Where required, property surveys have been updated
  • Detailed condition assessments for select buildings have been completed
  • In 2019, Parks Canada signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in government to work together on heritage, language, visitor experience and land use, including exploring the idea of an Indigenous-led learning centre at Bear Creek
  • Parks Canada developed a policy-based framework for evaluating assets in the Klondike region
  • Parks Canada has submitted two nominations for Municipal Historic Site designation to the City of Dawson for Billy Biggs’ Blacksmith Shop and Harrington’s Store.
For more information:

Travis Weber
Site Superintendent, Klondike National Historic Sites
P.O. Box 390, Dawson City, Yukon, Y0B 1G0
travis.weber@canada.ca / Tel: 867-993-3326

Vers une vision pour les lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike

Parcs Canada prend les mesures qui s’imposent pour atteindre les objectifs fixés dans le Plan directeur 2018 des lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike. Ces travaux visent en partie à élaborer un modèle durable de gestion des biens patrimoniaux des lieux historiques de Dawson et de la région.

Nous tenons à ce que nos lieux les plus précieux et nos bâtiments patrimoniaux soient protégés et utilisés d’une façon qui contribue à la santé et au dynamisme de la collectivité. Pour ce faire, Parcs Canada étudie actuellement, avec la participation d’intervenants et de partenaires, différents modèles de propriété et d’utilisation pour certains biens et certains bâtiments sous-utilisés du Klondike.

Biens patrimoniaux

Parcs Canada protège et met en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada. Nous racontons l’histoire de ces lieux très particuliers et soulignons les valeurs historiques qu’ils incarnent. Ce faisant, cependant, nous devons aussi exercer une gestion financière responsable et investir judicieusement nos ressources.

Parcs Canada est le plus grand propriétaire de biens patrimoniaux de tout le Klondike. Certains bâtiments jouent un rôle essentiel dans la narration de l’histoire de la ruée vers l’or et de ses lendemains, et sont au cœur de visites guidées ou d’autres activités. D’autres bâtiments servent de logements, de bureaux ou d’entrepôts pour les artéfacts. Certains, enfin, sont sous-utilisés ou simplement vides. 

Une responsabilité partagée

La protection de l’aspect historique du Klondike est une responsabilité partagée. Parcs Canada, le gouvernement du Yukon, la Ville de Dawson et de nombreuses entreprises privées sont propriétaires de bâtiments patrimoniaux répartis un peu partout dans la ville et dans la région. Cette mosaïque de biens patrimoniaux est donc assujettie aux orientations non seulement de Parcs Canada, mais aussi d’autres administrations et propriétaires.

En se basant sur un cadre stratégique, Parcs Canada a étudié attentivement les biens et les bâtiments des lieux historiques. Nous en sommes venus à la conclusion que les biens patrimoniaux que nous possédons au Klondike n’ont pas besoin de tous rester au sein du portefeuille du gouvernement fédéral. Un autre propriétaire pourrait offrir à certains bâtiments une nouvelle vie et une nouvelle utilisation, tout en garantissant la protection des valeurs historiques par d’autres moyens, notamment la désignation de lieu historique municipal ou territorial.

La collaboration offre les meilleures solutions

Parcs Canada favorise la collaboration avec toutes les administrations et avec d’autres intervenants clés de la région. Nous sommes impatients de trouver de nouvelles façons pour les visiteurs et les membres de la collectivité de profiter de ces lieux si particuliers.

Progrès réalisés à ce jour

  • En 2018, Parcs Canada a mis sur pied un comité consultatif formé de représentants d’organisations locales et régionales ainsi que de membres de la collectivité pour l’aider à prendre des décisions sur les biens patrimoniaux. Ce comité se réunit deux fois l’an.
  • Tous les biens ont fait l’objet d’un nouvel inventaire, et leur désignation patrimoniale a été confirmée.
  • Au besoin, les propriétés ont été réarpentées.
  • L’état de certains bâtiments a fait l’objet d’une évaluation détaillée.
  • En 2019, Parcs Canada a signé un protocole d’entente avec le gouvernement des Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in en vue d’une collaboration liée au patrimoine, à la langue, à l’expérience du visiteur et à l’utilisation des terres. On a notamment étudié la possibilité d’aménager un centre d’apprentissage dirigé par des Autochtones à Bear Creek.
  • Parcs Canada a élaboré un cadre stratégique pour l’évaluation des biens du Klondike.
  • Parcs Canada a présenté à la Ville de Dawson deux candidatures pour la désignation de lieu historique municipal : la forge de Billy Biggs et le magasin Harrington.

Renseignements :

Travis Weber Directeur des lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike
C.P. 390, Dawson (Yukon) Y0B 1G0
travis.weber@canada.ca/Tél. : 867-993-3326