Dredge No. 4 was built during the summer and winter of 1912 for the Canadian Klondike Mining Company on Claim 112 Below Discovery on Bonanza Creek.  The largest wooden hull, bucket-line dredge in North America, it was designed by the Marion Steam Shovel Company.

Operational history

It commenced operations in May of 1913, and dug its way upstream in the Klondike Valley into what was known as the "Boyle Concession," sinking there in 1924. In 1927, it was refloated and continued to operate from the Klondike Valley to Hunker Creek. The ground at the mouth of Hunker Creek was so rich the dredge produced as much as 800 ounces of gold in a single day on Claim 67 Below. It operated until 1940. The dredge was rebuilt on Bonanza Creek by the Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation and from 1941 to 1959 worked the Bonanza Creek valley. One of the two dozen dredges that worked this area, Dredge No. 4 rests on Claim No. 17 Below Discovery on Bonanza Creek near the spot where it ceased operations in 1960.

Gangplank and digging ladder of Dredge No. 4

Specifications

Dredge No. 4 is 2/3 the size of a football field and 8 stories high. It has a displacement weight of over 2,722 tonnes (3,000 tons), with a .45 cubic metre (16 cubic foot) bucket capacity. The dredge could dig 17 metres (48 feet) below water level, and 5 metres (17 feet) above water level using hydraulic monitors and washing the gravel banks down.

How it worked

The dredge was electrically powered from the Company's hydro plant on the Klondike River 48 kilometres (29 miles) away, requiring 920 continuous horsepower during the digging operation. Extra horsepower was needed occasionally for such things as hoisting the "spud" (pivot) and the gangplank.

The dredge moved along on a pond of its own making, digging gold bearing gravel in front, recovering the gold through the revolving screen washing plant, then depositing the gravel out the stacker at the rear. A dredge pond could be 91 metres (300 feet) by as much as 500 feet (152 metres) wide, depending on the width of the valley in which the dredge was working. The operating season was on average about 200 days, starting in late April or early May and operating 24 hours a day until late November.

The dredges were a very efficient means of mining for gold. The very fine flour gold however was very hard to save, as were nuggets too large to go through the 1 1/8 inch (1.9 centimetre) holes in the revolving screen, or those caught in the nugget catcher. These went up the stacker and out to the tailing piles.

National Historic Site

Commemorated as a National Historic Site, for years shipwrights have been working to restore and stabilize this amazing piece of Klondike history.

The Restoration of Dredge No. 4 (Video)

La drague no 4 a été construite durant l’été et l’hiver 1912 pour la Canadian Klondike Mining Company sur les lieux de la concession no 112, en aval de la concession de la découverte, dans le ruisseau Bonanza.  Il s'agit de la plus grande drague à godets en ligne en Amérique du Nord. Elle a été conçue par la Marion Steam Shovel Company.

Historique opérationnel

Entrée en service en mai 1913, elle s’est creusé un chemin en remontant la vallée de la rivière Klondike jusqu’à un endroit connu sous le nom de concession Boyle, où elle a coulé en 1924. En 1927, elle fut renflouée et utilisée de la rivière Klondike jusqu’au ruisseau Hunker. Le gisement situé à l’embouchure du ruisseau Hunker était tellement riche que la drague pouvait extraire jusqu’ à 22 kg d’or par jour sur les lieux de la concession no 67. La drague a été en service jusqu’en 1940, puis a été reconstruite dans la vallée du ruisseau Bonanza par la Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation, qui s’en est servi à cet endroit de 1941 à 1959. Parmi les deux douzaines de dragues utilisées dans cette région, la drague no. 4, qui se trouve aujourd'hui sur la concession no. 17, en aval concession Discovery, dans Bonanza Creek, près de l'endroit où l'on cessé de utiliser, en 1960.

Passerelle et échelle pour l'excavation de la drague n°4

Caractéristiques

La drague no 4 est aussi grande que les deux tiers d’un terrain de football et est haute de huit étages. Son déplacement est de plus de 2 722 tonnes métriques, et ses godets ont une capacité de 0,45 m3. La drague pouvait creuser jusqu’ à 17 m sous le niveau de l’eau, et jusqu’ à 5 m au-dessus du niveau de l’eau en utilisant des lances géantes pour ramener le gravier des rives vers elle par la force de l’eau.

Comment ça a marché

La drague était alimentée par l’électricité produite à la centrale hydroélectrique de l’entreprise, située sur la rivière Klondike, à environ 48 km de là. Elle avait besoin d’une alimentation continue de 920 chevaux-vapeur pour fonctionner. Il arrivait parfois que des chevaux-vapeur supplémentaires soient nécessaires, par exemple pour remonter le stabilisateur ou la passerelle.

La drague se déplaçait sur un lagon qu’elle fabriquait elle-même; elle excavait le gravier aurifère devant elle, récupérait le minerai d’or dans son lavoir à crible rotatif, puis déversait le gravier par l’empileuse derrière elle. Le lagon de la drague pouvait mesurer jusqu’à 91 m de longueur sur 152 m de largeur, selon la largeur de la vallée où on l’utilisait. Elle fonctionnait en moyenne 200 jours par année, 24 heures sur 24, de la fin du mois d’avril ou du début du mois de mai jusqu’à la fin de novembre.

Les dragues constituaient un moyen très efficace d’extraire le minerai d’or. Cependant, la poussière d’or était très difficile à récupérer, tout comme les pépites trop grosses pour passer à travers les trous de 1,9 cm du crible rotatif et celles récupérées par l’attrape-pépites, qui se retrouvaient dans l’empileuse et finissaient sur les monticules de débris.

Lieu historique national

Ce lieu historique national, qui recèle tout un pan de la fascinante histoire du Klondike, fait l’objet, depuis des années, de travaux de restauration et de stabilisation menés par des charpentiers de marine.

La restauration de la drague no. 4 (Vidéo)