The Adventurous Life of Robert Service - Interpretive program

British born Robert William Service, often referred to as the "the Bard of the Yukon", was one of the most commercially successful poets of the Twentith Century. Arriving in the Yukon as a bank clerk in 1905, he turned the vivid tales told to him by veterans of the great gold rush into such classic poems as “The Shooting of Dan McGrew" and "The Cremation of Sam McGee." Service arrived in Dawson City in 1908, and continued to write about his northern adventures until his departure from Dawson, and the Yukon, in 1912.

Location: Robert Service Cabin
Time: 1 pm to 2 pm daily

Cabin viewing

Robert Service cabin interior detail

Robert W. Service, the "Bard of the Yukon" lived in a cozy two-room cabin nestled amidst the willows and alders. It is a must-see—a spot to contemplate an intriguing life through the man’s own poetry and unexpected life story. Meet a costumed guide who will enthral you with Service’s lilting verse and fascinating tidbits about the humble yet extraordinary man’s life. Ask questions, and step into Service’s cabin.

Location: Robert Service Cabin
Time: 2 pm to 2:45 pm daily

Program schedule

Authors on Eighth

Every August, during Discovery Days, the Authors on Eighth Literary Walking Tour opens the doors to the homes of Robert Service, Pierre Berton and Jack London - Dawson City’s famous authors – who lived within a block of Robert Service.

La vie aventurière de Robert Service - programme d'interprétation

Robert William Service, né en Angleterre, est souvent surnommé le « poète du Yukon ». Il a été l’un des poètes du XXe siècle ayant eu le plus de succès sur le plan commercial. En 1905, il arrive au Yukon comme commis de banque puis il transforme les récits colorés que lui racontent ceux qui ont participé à la ruée vers l’or en des poèmes classiques comme « The Shooting of Dan McGrew » et « The Cremation of Sam McGee ». Robert William Service se rend à Dawson City en 1908. Il continue de mettre par écrit ses aventures dans le Nord jusqu’à ce qu’il quitte la ville et le Yukon, en 1912.

Endroit : Cabane de Robert Service
Les heures de l’activité : 13 h à 14 h

Cabane ouvert

 cabane de Robert Service
Cabane de Robert Service

Robert W. Service, surnommé le « barde du Yukon » vivait dans cette intime cabane de deux pièces nichée parmi les saules et les aulnes. Il s’agit d’une visite à ne pas manquer pour en apprendre davantage sur cet homme fascinant grâce à sa poésie et à l’histoire étonnante de sa vie. Posez des questions et entrez dans la cabane de Robert Service.

Endroit : Cabane de Robert Service
Les heures de l’activité : 14 h à 14 h 45

Programmation quotidienne

Auteurs de la 8e

Tous les ans en août, à l’occasion des célébrations du jour de la Découverte, une visite à pied guidée permet d’entrer dans les maisons des « auteurs de la 8e » de Dawson, soit Robert Service, Pierre Berton et Jack London, qui vivaient à un pâté de maisons les uns des autres.