Lean against the Red Feather Saloon’s long bar imagining the ramped-up ruckus when miners came to town. The Bank of British North America’s polished tellers’ wickets frozen in time and the ornate woodwork throughout the Old Post Office are glimpses into a wealthy boomtown.

Dawson City’s historic buildings come to life with fun and engaging interpreters at the prestigious Commissioner’s Residence and on guided tours. Dawson Then and Now contrasts the historic and current town and lifestyles.  Two self-guided tours of Dawson’s downtown are also available.


Dawson Then and Now - Guided walking tour

Wonder what life is like in Dawson in the middle of winter? Or what to do for fun on a rainy weekend in a town with no movie theatre? Do you think the answer has changed since the gold rush era? You might be surprised! Explore this unique town with your Parks Canada guides, and get a sense of what life is and was like here. See the spots where life really happens in Dawson City, both in gold rush times, and in present day.

Location: Visitor Information Centre on Front Street
Program schedule

 

Top of Page

 

Strange Things Done in the Midnight Sun - Guided walking tour

It’s all about the gold... but gold can do strange things to those who seek it. As Robert Service eloquently wrote it, “The Northern Lights have seen queer sights” and let’s be clear, Service was talking about Dawson City! With a transition from a patch of moose pasture to a topsy-turvy boomtown in the blink of an eye, anything and everything could, AND DID happen! Find out how much stranger than fiction the truth really is while wandering through the historical core of this amazing town.

Location: Visitor Information Centre on Front Street

 

Top of Page

 

Dawson Behind the Scenes - Guided walking tour

Ever wonder what happens to old stuff at an historic site? The Klondike National Historic Sites have thousands of items in its collections, most of which are rarely seen by the public. Our Behind the Scenes tour offers a peek at collections and artifacts that are normally off limits. Visitors will see and handle artifacts up close, learn their significance, and understand the role that Parks Canada plays in preserving these collections.

Location: Visitor Information Centre on Front Street
Program schedule

 

Top of Page

Hike through History - Guided hike

200 years in 1250 steps! This hour long hike with a Heritage Interpreter follows the 9th Ave. trail to the viewpoint at Crocus Bluff. The hike is of moderate difficulty, sturdy footwear recommended.

Location: Robert Service Cabin

 

Top of Page

 

Dawson City - Self-guided audio walking tour

For in-depth information about the wealth of historic buildings in the Dawson town core, taken at your own pace, this is the tour for you. A compact mp3 player leads you through town to hear stories and details about almost all of the Dawson Historical Complex buildings. This tour is available in English, French and German.

Location: Visitor Information Centre on Front Street

 

Top of Page

 

“Dawson as they saw it” - Self-guided visit to Harrington’s Store

Many images of the rush of 1898 are familiar. Goldseekers recorded their impressions in diaries, letters and photographs. But there was more than one Dawson: from a hastily-built supply camp to an elegant territorial capital to a gold town in slow decline.

There is no judging how "faithfully" any one view has captured the original. Whether recording for the family album or for a specific audience, each photographer and writer has brought his or her own perspective and expectations to bear. This collection is by no means "Dawson as it really was", but rather "Dawson as they saw it."

Location: 2nd Ave, corner of Princess St.

 

Top of Page

 

Site-guide for Dawson Historical Complex National Historic Site

A new town site-guide can accompany you on one of three guided walking tours of Dawson or just as a classy souvenir of The Dawson Historical Complex National Historic Site. It will provide you with historic images, additional information and additional sites within the Historical Complex. Available at the Visitor's Information Centre on Front St. from 9am to 5pm daily during the operational season.

 

Top of Page

 

Xplorer booklets for kids – Dawson City

Do your children like a challenge? Are they budding artists, dreamers or promising journalists? Then they are a perfect candidate to become a Parks Canada Xplorer. The Dawson City Xplorer Booklet will take you through the Dawson Historic Complex and the S.S.Keno National Historic Sites. Pick up a booklet at the Visitor Information Centre on Front Street in Dawson City. When five activities are completed, return it to the Parks Canada desk at the Visitor Information Centre to collect a prize and their official Xplorers certificate.

 

Top of Page

 

Geocaching

Did you know that there are geocaches placed by Parks Canada within the town of Dawson City? Each cache contains information about locations and people commemorated in the Klondike, as well as a secret question. If you bring the correct answers to FOUR of the secret questions, you can receive a small token from the Parks Canada desk at the Visitor Information Centre.

Accoudez-vous au grand comptoir du Red Feather Saloon en imaginant le chahut considérable qui devait y régner lorsque les mineurs fréquentaient les lieux. Pour avoir un aperçu de la richesse de la ville en plein essor, allez voir les guichets lustrés d’époque de la Bank of British North America et les boiseries ornées de l’ancien bureau de poste.

Inscrivez-vous à une des deux visites guidées, menées par des animateurs-guides amusants et passionnants : les bâtiments historiques de Dawson, notamment la prestigieuse résidence du commissaire, prendront vie devant vos yeux. Vous préférez circuler sans guide ? Visites du centre-ville de Dawson sont également proposées.


Visite guidée des sites historiques nationaux du Klondike - randonnée guidée

Découvrez l’histoire de Dawson City au temps de la ruée vers l’or, à travers les lieux et bâtiments que les habitants ont occupés pendant ces quelques années intenses. Cette visite à pied vous permettra d’expérimente plus qu’un retour dans le temps. Elle donne un aperçu de l'histoire de la ville du point de vue de ceux qui l'ont vécue: vie estivale ou hivernale, Première nation ou nouveau venu, mineur ou mineur des mineurs, artiste du spectacle ou impresario. Comment les francophones ont laissé leur marque dans cette histoire encore vivante? Découvrez cela et encore plus au cours de cette promenade de 90 minutes au cœur du noyau historique de Dawson City.

Endroit : Centre d'accueil des visiteurs sur la rue Front
Programmation quotidienne

Haut de la page

Dawson hier et aujourd’hui - randonnée guidée (en anglais seulement)

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé à quoi ressemble le quotidien à Dawson au beau milieu de l’hiver? Ou comment les habitants de la ville passent le temps lorsqu’il pleut la fin de semaine dans cet endroit sans salle de cinéma? Croyez-vous que ces réponses ont beaucoup changé depuis l’époque de la ruée vers l’or? Vous pourriez être surpris! Explorez cette ville sans pareille avec des guides de Parcs Canada et apprenez-en davantage sur le quotidien de ses habitants hier et aujourd’hui. Visitez les endroits branchés de Dawson, à l’époque de la ruée vers l’or comme de nos jours.

Endroit : Centre d'accueil des visiteurs sur la rue Front
Programmation quotidienne

Haut de la page

Des choses étranges - randonnée guidée (en anglais seulement)

Tout est question d’or, mais des choses étranges peuvent arriver à ceux qui le cherchent. Comme Robert Service l’a si bien dit, « Les aurores boréales en font voir de toutes les couleurs », et, rappelons-le, il parlait bel et bien de Dawson City! Passer d'un marécage fréquenté par les orignaux à une ville bruyante en un clin d’œil peut faire tourner la tête et, à Dawson City, tout ce qui pouvait arriver EST arrivé. Lorsque vous marchez dans les rues du quartier historique de cette ville incroyable, découvrez à quel point la réalité dépasse la fiction.

Endroit : Centre d'accueil des visiteurs sur la rue Front
Programmation quotidienne

Haut de la page

Dawson - visite audioguidée autonome

Si vous voulez obtenir toutes sortes d’information sur les nombreux bâtiments historiques du centre de Dawson, à votre propre rythme, cette visite s’adresse à vous! Un lecteur audio vous révèle des histoires et des détails au sujet de la quasi-totalité des bâtiments du complexe historique de Dawson. Cette visite est offerte en français, en anglais et en allemand.

Endroit: Centre d'accueil des visiteurs sur la rue Front

 

Haut de la page

 

« Vu par ceux qui ont fait son histoire » - visite auto-guidée du magasin Harrington exhibition

Nombreuses sont les images de la ruée vers l’or de 1898 qui nous sont familières. Chercheurs d’or transmirent leurs impressions dans leur journal, dans des lettres et sur des photographies. Mais ils y eut une autre Dawson: d’un camp d’approvisionnement construit à la hâte, à une capitale territoriale élégante à une ville de l’or à son déclin.

On ne saurait préjuger de la « fidélité » avec laquelle chacun a cru capter la réalité. Que ce soit pour un album de famille ou pour up public particulier, chaque photographe ou narrateur a été influencé par sa propre façon de voir et par ses espoirs. La collection que nous présentons ne saurait donc en aucune façon vous montrer « Dawson qui fut », mais plutôt « Dawson qu’ils on vu. »

Endroit : 2e avenue au coin de la rue Princess

Haut de la page

 

Guide du lieu historique national du Complexe-Historique-de-Dawson

Un nouveau guide sur le lieu historique urbain propose trois randonnées guidées de Dawson et constitue un souvenir de luxe du lieu historique national du Complexe-Historique-de-Dawson. Il comporte des images historiques, des renseignements supplémentaires et une liste d’autres sites du complexe historique. Vous pouvez vous le procurer au Centre d’accueil de la rue Front, ouvert de 9 h à 20 h tous les jours durant la saison d’exploitation.

 

Haut de la page

 

Livret des Xplorateurs pours les enfants - Dawson

 

Vos enfants aiment les défis? Ils sont artistes en herbe, rêveurs ou futurs journalistes? Ils sont alors de parfaits candidats pour devenir des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada.  Le livret des Xplorateurs de Dawson vous fera découvrir les lieux historiques nationaux du Complexe-Historique-de-Dawson et S.S. Keno. Demandez un cahier au centre d'acceuil sur la rue Front, à Dawson.  Lorsque les enfants auront terminé cinq activités, rapportez le cahier au comptoir de Parcs Canada au centre d'accueil pour obtenir un souvenir et le certificat officiel les reconnaissant comme Xplorateurs.

 

Haut de la page

Géocachette

Saviez-vous que Parcs Canada avait placé géocaches dans la ville de Dawson City? Chacune des caches contient de l’information sur des lieux et des personnes ayant joué un rôle significatif à l’époque du Klondike, ainsi qu’une question secrète. Si vous répondez correctement à QUATRE questions secrètes, vous recevrez un petit jeton au comptoir de Parcs Canada du Centre d’accueil.