A huge influx of stampeders raced to the Klondike after gold was discovered in 1896, leading the Government of Canada to create the Yukon Territory in 1898 and send a commissioner to Dawson City to take charge. Built in 1901 by Thomas Fuller, the Commissioner's Residence represents the strong government presence that followed the Gold Rush, and showed the world that Dawson City was here to stay.

Six commissioners lived in the residence from 1901 to 1916. The best known was George Black, who with his wife Martha, lived in the residence from 1912 to 1916. The Blacks were favorites among locals because they were considered real “Sourdoughs”, having trekked over the Chillkoot Trail and survived many harsh Yukon winters.

Find out more about the Commissioner of the Yukon.


Red serge, red tape - Interpretive program

Every house has a story to tell, and the Commissioner’s Residence is no exception. Come join us for a glimpse of the past as our interpreters bring to life stories of the Klondike, from First Nation hunting and fishing ground, to mining camp boom town, to a stable and permanent community.

Pre-book at the Visitor Information Centre.

 Program schedule


Dawson City ESCAPE!

Challenge yourself and your friends! Get locked in a room at the Commissioner’s Residence for 1 hour and solve the puzzles to get out! Can you solve the murder?

What makes this Escape room different from all others? Everything in the room is TRUE!

Pre-book at the Visitor Information Centre.

 Escape Room

De très nombreux chercheurs d’or se sont rués au Klondike quand on y a découvert la présence du précieux métal en 1896, ce qui a poussé le gouvernement du Canada à créer le territoire du Yukon en 1898, et à dépêcher un commissaire à Dawson City pour qu’il prenne les choses en main. Construit en 1901 par Thomas Fuller, la résidence du commissaire représente la forte présence gouvernementale qui a suivi la ruée vers l’or et montre au reste du monde que Dawson City est là pour rester.

Six commissaires habitent la résidence de 1901 à 1916. Le plus connu est George Black qui, avec son épouse Martha, y vit de 1912 à 1916. Les Black sont très populaires auprès des gens de la place, car on les considère comme de vrais « Sourdoughs » pour avoir parcouru la piste Chillkoot et survécu à de nombreux hivers rigoureux au Yukon.

En savoir plus sur le commissaire du Yukon.


Sergé rouge et ruban rouge - programme d'interprétation

Le programme « Sergé rouge et ruban rouge » jette un regard critique sur les conséquences d’un gouvernement colonial sur les Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in, et encourage les participants à réfléchir à leur responsabilité individuelle dans la réconciliation et la construction d’un avenir meilleur.

Une réservation est requise. Veuillez vous renseigner au Centre d'accueil.

 Programmation


ÉVASION Dawson City!

Relevez le défi avec vos amis! Enfermez-vous dans une pièce de la résidence du commissaire pendant 1 heure et résolvez des puzzles pour en sortir! Saurez-vous trouver le coupable du meurtre?

Qu'est-ce qui différencie ce jeu d'évasion de tous les autres? Tout ce qui se trouve dans la piece est VRAI!

Une réservation est requise. Veuillez vous renseigner au Centre d'accueil.

 Programmation