The Chilkoot Trail starts in Alaska and ends in British Columbia, so a Chilkoot hike means you'll be crossing back and forth across the Canada-U.S. border. A classic northern trek, it is relatively remote and access is limited. All of this needs to be taken into account when planning your hike and making your travel arrangements. You should also keep in mind that travel to, from and in northern locations often involves unexpected delays. It is best to build extra time into your travel itinerary to allow for these delays.


  • Heading north

    The best way to get to the Chilkoot Trail depends in part on where you are coming from, the amount of time you have and your preferred mode of travel. Depending upon your starting point both Whitehorse, Yukon and Juneau, Alaska are potential "gateway" cities.

    • Flying

      The fastest way to get to the here is to fly. If your starting point is in Canada or Germany, then flying to Whitehorse will likely be most convenient. If your point of departure is from somewhere in the U.S. then it might be easier to fly to Juneau then take a commuter flight or ferry to Skagway.

      via Whitehorse

      Travel Yukon
      1-800-661-0494 Toll free

      via Juneau

      City of Skagway
      1-888-762-1898 Toll free

    • Alaska Marine Highway ferry

      MV Malaspina

      If you have the time and the inclination you might opt to follow the "Klondike Trail" and retrace the historic Gold Rush route up the Inside Passage to Skagway from Bellingham, Washington or Prince Rupert, B.C. on the Alaska Marine Highway ferry. Ferry is also an option to get to Skagway from Juneau and/or Haines, Alaska.

      Alaska Marine Highway (ferry)
      1-800-642-0066 Toll free

      City of Skagway
      1-888-762-1898 Toll free

    • Alaska Highway

      If combining your Chilkoot hike with a longer northern tour you might consider driving the storied Alaska Highway to Whitehorse. From Whitehorse drive south on the South Klondike Highway to reach Carcross and Skagway. If travelling from mainland Alaska on the Alaska Highway turning south at Haines Junction and travelling via the Haines Highway to Haines, Alaska and taking the ferry to Skagway is an option.

      The Milepost

      Travel Yukon
      1-800-661-0494 Toll free

  • Getting to and from the trail

    If you're hiking the Chilkoot Trail your adventure begins in Skagway, where you pick up your permits at the Trail Center. Bennett campers can get to the site by train from Carcross, Fraser or Skagway.

    Skagway, Fraser and Carcross are all accessible by road from Whitehorse via the South Klondike Highway. During the summer visitor season there is daily bus service between Whitehorse, Carcross, Fraser and Skagway. Vehicle rentals are also available in Whitehorse.

    • Dyea trailhead (Alaska)

      The Dyea trailhead is a distance of 16 km / 10 miles from Skagway. Access is by all weather dirt road. Overnight parking is available in Dyea at the National Parks Service campground located 1 km / 0.5 miles from the trailhead.

      Private shuttle companies provide transport from Skagway to the trailhead at Dyea. While these services are reliably available operators vary from season to season and specific contact information is not available until the onset of the summer hiking season. Contact information for these services is available at the Trail Centre.

    • Bennett trailhead (British Columbia)

      There is no road to Bennett. Access is by train, to/from Carcross, Fraser or Skagway; and, floatplane to/from Whitehorse. There is no telephone or cell phone service at Bennett. All post-hike travel arrangements must be made prior to starting the trail. Contact carriers directly.

      Train
      White Pass and Yukon Route Railway
      1-800-343-7373 Toll free
      Float plane

      Alkan Air
      1-867-668-2107

      Alpine Aviation
      1-867-668-7725

      Amber Airways
      1-867-334-3535

      Black Sheep Aviation
      1-867-668-7761

      Tintina Air
      1-867-332-8468

La piste Chilkoot commence en Alaska et se termine en Colombie-Britannique; elle traverse donc la frontière canado-américaine à plusieurs endroits. Cette piste de randonnée nordique classique est relativement isolée, et son accès est limité. Tout cela doit être pris en considération au moment de planifier votre randonnée et de faire vos préparatifs de voyage. Il ne faut pas oublier non plus que. Il est préférable de prévoir du temps supplémentaire dans votre itinéraire pour en tenir compte.


  • Vers le nord

    La meilleure façon d’accéder à la piste Chilkoot dépend en partie de votre point de départ, du temps dont vous disposez et de votre moyen de transport privilégié. En fonction de votre point de départ, les villes de Whitehorse, au Yukon, et de Juneau, en Alaska, peuvent être de bonnes « portes d’entrée ».

    • Par avion

      L’avion constitue le moyen le plus rapide de se rendre là-bas. Si vous arrivez du Canada ou de l’Allemagne, il sera probablement plus pratique de prendre un vol pour Whitehorse. Si vous arrivez plutôt des États-Unis, il pourrait être plus facile de vous rendre en avion à Juneau, puis de prendre un vol de navette ou un traversier pour Skagway.

      via Whitehorse

      Travel Yukon (en anglais seulement)
      1-800-661-0494 numéro sans frais (en anglais seulement)

      via Juneau

      Ville de Skagway (anglais seulement)
      1-888-762-1898 numéro sans frais (en anglais seulement)

    • Réseau de traversiers de l’Alaska Marine Highway

      MV Malaspina

      Si vous avez du temps et que ceci vous intéresse, vous préférerez peut-être suivre la piste du Klondike et parcourir le trajet historique de la ruée vers l’or à bord d’un traversier de l’Alaska Marine Highway en remontant le Passage de l’Intérieur jusqu’à Skagway au départ de Bellingham, dans l’État de Washington, ou de Prince Rupert, en Colombie-Britannique. Il est également possible de prendre un traversier pour Skagway à partir de Juneau ou de Haines, en Alaska.

      Alaska Marine Highway (traversier) (en anglais seulement)
      1-800-642-0066 numéro sans frais (en anglais seulement)

      Velle de Skagway (en anglais seulement)
      1-888-762-1898 numéro sans frais (en anglais seulement)

    • Route de l’Alaska

      Si votre randonnée sur la piste Chilkoot fait partie d’un séjour plus étendu dans le Nord, une option intéressante est d’emprunter la célèbre route de l’Alaska jusqu’à Whitehorse. À partir de là, roulez vers le sud sur la route du Klondike Sud pour atteindre Carcross et Skagway. Si vous arrivez de l’Alaska continental via la route de l’Alaska, vous pouvez prendre la direction sud à Haines Junction et suivre la route de Haines jusqu’à Haines, en Alaska, et prendre ensuite le traversier jusqu’à Skagway.

      The Milepost (en anglais seulement)

      Travel Yukon
      1-800-661-0494 numéro sans frais

  • Accéder à la piste et en sortir

    Pour faire de la randonnée sur la piste Chilkoot, vous devez d’abord aller chercher votre permis au Trail Center (centre d’accueil) à Skagway. Les campeurs de Bennett peuvent s’y rendre en train depuis Carcross, Fraser ou Skagway.

    Skagway, Fraser et Carcross sont toutes accessibles à partir de Whitehorse par la route du Klondike Sud. Pendant la saison touristique estivale, un service d’autobus quotidien dessert Whitehorse, Carcross, Fraser et Skagway. Il est également possible de louer un véhicule à Whitehorse.

    • À partir de Dyea, Alaska

      The Le point de départ du sentier à Dyea se trouve à une distance de 16 km de Skagway en Alaska. Il faut s'y rendre par un chemin de terre tous temps. Il y a un stationnement de nuit à Dyea, au terrain de camping du Service national des parcs, situé à 1 km du point de départ du sentier.

      Plusieurs entreprises privées de navettes assurent la desserte de Skagway jusqu'au point de départ du sentier, à Dyea. Bien que l'on puisse compter sur ces services, les exploitants qui les offrent varient d'une saison à l'autre et aucun renseignement précis sur les personnes à contacter n'est disponible avant le début de la saison estivale de randonnée. Communiquez avec le Centre des sentiers pour vous renseigner.  

    • À partir de Bennett, Colombie-Britannique

      Il n’y a pas de route à Bennett. L’accès se fait par train de Carcross ou de Skagway, par hydravion de Whitehorse. Il n’y a pas de téléphone non plus et les téléphones cellulaires ne fonctionnent pas à Bennett. Vous devez avoir pris toutes les dispositions nécessaires pour votre retour avant d’entreprendre votre randonnée. Communiquez directement avec les transporteurs : 

      Par train
      White Pass and Yukon Route Railway (en anglais seulement)
      1-800-343-7373 numéro sans frais (en anglais seulement)
      Par avion

      Alkan Air (en anglais seulement)
      1-867-668-2107 (en anglais seulement)

      Alpine Aviation (en anglais seulement)
      1-867-668-7725 (en anglais seulement)

      Amber Airways (en anglais seulement)
      1-867-334-3535 (en anglais seulement)

      Black Sheep Aviation (en anglais seulement)
      1-867-668-7761 (en anglais seulement)

      Tintina Air (en anglais seulement)
      1-867-332-8468 (en anglais seulement)