Research suggests that large groups have a greater impact on park environments, place greater demands on park facilities, and have increased potential to negatively impact other visitors. This is true whether you are an informal group of friends and family or an organized group such as an outdoor club, church group or Scout/Guide troop. In order to manage the impacts of large groups, both the size and the number of large groups is regulated.


Large group limits

Maximum group size on the Chilkoot Trail is 12 people. Groups larger than 12 must break into smaller groups; these smaller groups can not cross Chilkoot Pass on the same day, and must camp and hike separately.

In addition, only one large group (defined as 9 – 12 people) is permitted to cross Chilkoot Pass on any single day.

Permits and reservations

Large group reservations

Please note, reservations for large groups for the 2021 season will be delayed until later in the fall. Continue to check our website for the opening date, or call us at 1-800-661-0486 or 1-867-667-3910 for more information. Thank you for your patience.

Picking up your permits

Prior to setting out to the trailhead at Dyea, give your group ample time to pick up your reserved group permit, attend a mandatory orientation, and register for Customs at the Trail Center in Skagway. Every member of your group must be present and have proper documentation for crossing the border. Licensed guides must present their Guide Card.

Organized groups

Commercial operators require business licenses to operate on the Chilkoot Trail. Organized institutional or non-profit groups may also require business licenses. Please check with Parks Canada prior to making your reservation to ensure that your group does not require a business license.

Guided trips


To hike the trail with a licensed guide please ensure that the operator has the appropriate business licenses. For a current list of commercial guiding services licensed to operate on the Chilkoot Trail please check our Guides and outfitter list.

Youth groups


A "custodial group" is one affiliated with an institution, where at least one person is below the age of majority and that minor is not accompanied by his/her parent or legal guardian. This could include, but is not limited to, school groups, Scout/Guide troops, church groups, cadets and community youth groups. When you make your reservation to hike the Chilkoot Trail, please declare your party as a custodial group. Parks Canada has developed specific Guidelines for Custodial Groups hiking the Chilkoot Trail.

Group safety

Plan your hike and choose your campgrounds keeping the abilities of your weakest group members in mind.

Group hiking in the fog

When hiking, members of large groups can easily become separated from each other. It is important to ensure that everyone in your group is accounted for at all times -- slower hikers should not be left behind to catch up later.

Consider having a leader or experienced group member designated to bring up the rear to act as a “tail sweep”. Alternately, split your group into smaller hiking parties that hike together in tight formation.

Reducing your impact

Please show consideration for your fellow hikers and the park environment by respecting group size restrictions. Use of multiple bookings to circumvent group size restrictions is unacceptable and may result in loss of Permits.

Chilkoot bear safety protocols require that everyone cook and eat at the campground cooking shelters. As space in the cooking shelters is limited, large groups need to be well organized when preparing and eating meals and ensure that they do not dominate the cooking shelters. Breaking into smaller cooking groups and cycling through the shelters is an option to consider. As a large group you must take extra care to ensure that you leave the cooking shelters and campsites clean and that your attractants are securely stored at all times.

Selon des recherches, les grands groupes soumettent également les ressources et l’infrastructure du parc à de plus grandes tensions. Si vous décidez de partir en grand groupe, rappelez vous que vous pourriez avoir des répercussions négatives sur l’expérience des autres randonneurs. Cela tient autant pour les groupes d’amis et les familles que pour les groupes organisés tels que les clubs de plein air, les groupes confessionnels et les groupes de Scouts ou de Guides. Afin de gérer les répercussions des grands groupes, des restrictions ont été établies concernant la taille et le nombre des groupes permis sur les pistes.


Taille des grands groupes

Les groupes ne doivent pas être composés de plus de 12 membres. Les groupes de plus de 12 membres doivent se diviser en plus petits groupes, qui ne peuvent pas traverser le col Chilkoot la même journée et doivent camper et voyager séparément.

De plus, un seul grand groupe (de 9 à 12 membres) est autorisé à franchir le col Chilkoot au cours d'une même journée.

Permis et réservations

Réservations pour les gros groupes

Veuillez noter que les réservations pour les grands groupes pour la saison 2021 seront reportées à plus tard cet automne. Continuez à consulter notre site Web pour connaître la date d'ouverture ou appelez-nous au 1-800-661-0486 ou au 1-867-667-3910 pour plus d'information. Merci de votre patience.

Pour prendre un permis réservé

Vous devez aller chercher votre permis et vous inscrire aux douanes au Centre d’accueil (Trail Centre) à Skagway. Lorsqu'ils viennent prendre leur permis d'accès, tous les randonneurs doivent être présents et avoir en leur possession tous les documents nécessaires pour traverser la frontière Prévoyez environ 30 minutes pour une orientation. Les guides autorisés doivent également présenter leur carte professionnelle.

Groupes organisés

Les exploitants commerciaux doivent posséder un permis les autorisant à mener des groupes commerciaux sur la piste Chilkoot. Les groupes institutionnels ou sans but lucratif pourraient également avoir besoin d'un tel permis. Veuillez vérifier auprès de Parcs Canada si votre groupe a besoin d'un permis d'exploitation commerciale avant de faire votre réservation.

Excursions guidées


Si vous comptez parcourir la piste avec un guide autorisé, assurez-vous qu'il possède le permis d'exploitation commerciale requis. Obtenir la liste à jour des exploitants autorisés à offrir des services de guide sur la piste Chilkoot.

Groupes de jeunes


Un « groupe encadré » s'entend d'un groupe appartenant à une institution donnée et dont au moins un des membres est un mineur qui n'est pas accompagné d'un parent ou d'un tuteur. Ce type de groupe comprend notamment les groupes scolaires, les groupes de Scouts ou de Guides, les groupes de cadets et les groupes confessionnels ou communautaires de jeunes. Au moment de faire votre réservation pour partir en excursion sur la piste Chilkoot, vous devez aviser Parcs Canada qu'il s'agit d'un groupe encadré. Parcs Canada a conçu des lignes directrices pour les groupes encadrés qui parcourent la piste Chilkoot.

Sécurité du groupe

Planifiez votre excursion et choisissez vos terrains de camping en tenant compte du membre le plus faible de votre groupe.

Groupe dans le broullard

Lorsqu'ils sont en marche, les membres de grands groupes peuvent facilement se retrouver séparés. Il est primordial de savoir en tout temps où se trouve chacun d'eux – les randonneurs moins rapides ne doivent pas être laissés derrière en prévoyant qu'ils rattraperont le reste du groupe plus tard.

Il est recommandé de désigner un chef ou un membre expérimenté du groupe pour marcher à l'arrière et encourager les retardataires. Une autre possibilité est de diviser votre groupe en plus petits groupes de randonnée dont les membres pourront marcher en formation serrée.

Réduction des répercussions de votre passage

Par égard pour les autres randonneurs et les ressources du parc, veuillez respecter les limites imposées pour la taille des groupes. Il est inacceptable de faire des réservations multiples pour se soustraire aux restrictions concernant la taille des groupes; une telle façon de faire peut entraîner la perte de vos permis.

D'après le protocole de sécurité de la piste Chilkoot concernant les ours, tous les randonneurs doivent cuisiner et manger dans les abris-cuisine des terrains de camping. Étant donné que l'espace y est limité, les grands groupes doivent s'organiser de façon efficace quand vient le temps de préparer les repas et de manger. Ils doivent également voir à ne pas monopoliser les abris-cuisine. Une solution possible est de se séparer en plus petits groupes et d'occuper les abris-cuisine un petit groupe à la fois, en rotation. Les grands groupes doivent faire particulièrement attention à laisser les abris-cuisine et les emplacements de camping propres et à ranger toutes les substances pouvant attirer les ours dans un endroit sûr en tout temps.