Hear the call of the red-tailed hawks swooping overhead and watch for white-tailed deer bounding along the river banks. Bring your hiking shoes and binoculars and explore the trails along the South Saskatchewan River.

The South Saskatchewan Meander

A FAMILY LOOKING OUT OVER A RIVER

“The South Saskatchewan Meander”, a 1.5 km hiking trail, winds its way along the ridge overlooking the South Saskatchewan River and valley. Due to severe riverbank erosion, portions of the trail have been altered or closed. Please respect barriers, fencing and safety signs.

Accessible near the cemetery and along the route to the Caron home.

Distance: 1.5 km

Carlton Trail

Visitors walking along the Carlton Trail.

A remaining section of the historic red river cart trail that was once a main trade route linking Fort Garry to Fort Edmonton. The trail straddles the East Village of Batoche on its journey towards the ferry crossing of the South Saskatchewan River.

Distance: 800 m

Écoutez le cri des buses à queue rousse et guettez les cerfs de Virginie qui gambadent le long de la rive. Apportez vos chaussures de randonnée et vos jumelles et explorez les sentiers qui longent la rivière Saskatchewan Sud.

Le méandre de la Saskatchewan-Sud

Une famille contemplant le panorama au bord d’une rivière  

« Le méandre de la Saskatchewan-Sud » est un sentier de randonnée pédestre de 1,5 km qui serpente le long des crêtes dominant la rivière Saskatchewan-Sud et sa vallée. En raison des graves problèmes d'érosion le long des rives, des parties du sentier ont été modifiées ou fermées. Veuillez tenir compte des barrières, des clôtures et des panneaux.

Accessible près du cimetière et le long de la route vers la maison de Caron.

Longueur du sentier : 1,5 km

Chemin de Carlton

Visiteurs sur la piste Carlton. 

Une section restante du sentier des charrettes de la rivière Rouge était autrefois une route commerciale principale reliant fort Garry à fort Edmonton. Le sentier enjambe l’est du village de Batoche sur son parcours vers la traverse de la rivière Saskatchewan Sud.

Longueur du sentier : 800m