Table of contents

image of house at the historic site 

An invitation to take part!

The Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site is planning its operations for the next few years. To this end, we will be holding public consultations from July 5 to August 5, 2018. I encourage you to take part in this process by sharing your perspectives and suggestions.

The purpose of these consultations is to give the public, Indigenous communities, municipality, partners, and community stakeholders an opportunity to get involved in the decision-making process of managing a national historic site.

The management statement will guide the governance of this historic site over the next ten years (2018–2028). It will provide direction for the protection of cultural and natural resources, the visitor experience, outreach, and educating the public.

This national historic site belongs to you! Join the Parks Canada team in developing a common vision, upholding protection efforts, and encouraging visitors to discover this distinctive site.

Nadine Blackburn
Director
Management Unit for the Mauricie and West of Quebec

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation, and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Context

image of Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Parks Canada manages a network of the world’s largest and most beautiful historic sites. Its mandate is to protect and showcase these sites for the benefit of present and future generations. This management statement details Parks Canada’s management approach and outlines specific goals for the Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site.

The Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site is located at the heart of the municipality of Saint-Lin-Laurentides in the Lanaudière region, approximately 60 km north of Montréal. The site was recognized as having national historic importance in 1938, as illustrated in the following commemorative statement:

“The site, as the birthplace of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, commemorates the life and work of this prime minister of Canada.”

The site is dedicated to Sir Wilfrid Laurier, the first francophone to become prime minister of Canada. An interpretation centre tells of his life and political career. In the small Robinette House, constructed in 1871 on a property belonging to Laurier’s father, visitors can discover the politician’s place of origin. Housing more than 600 objects, this residence reproduces the interior of a country home from the nineteenth century. Visitors can also enjoy the yard and the garden. Each year, the site hosts Canada Day celebrations and the town’s Fête au village.

image of children playing

The site is open to the public during the summer (June 23 to September 3). In 2016 and 2017, the site drew 623 visitors. In 2017, 1,900 people visited the site for free for the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation.

To extend its reach, the national historic site works with several local partners, such as the Société d’histoire et du Patrimoine de Saint-Lin-Laurentides and the Association des loisirs folkloriques de Lanaudière. The site also collaborates with the two other national historic sites commemorating Sir Wilfrid Laurier, the Laurier House in Ottawa and the Musée Laurier in Arthabaska.

 

Key achievements since the implementation of the 2007 Strategic Plan

Reorganization of the site’s visit offer

Addition of interpretation material (outdoor panels, display window, digital album)

Addition of a roadside sign

Enabling virtual visits of the site’s exterior through Google Street View

Preservation of the Robinette House and collection objects

Analysis of the property in 2017 using a georadar to detect archeological remains

Highlighting the garden using permaculture

Community loom

Croque-livres

Day-camp program

Main challenge:

The national historic site’s visitor numbers:
Since 2012, the site’s visitor numbers have been steadily dropping. In 2016, we counted 623 visitors compared to 2,600 in 2011. This decrease is due to the smaller number of events held on the site, in addition to its shorter operating season. In 2017, however, visitor numbers reached 1,908 thanks to the free Parks Canada Discovery Pass.

Proposed management approach:

Parks Canada’s aim is to continue with the management approach established for the Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site. The site will remain a protected heritage area dedicated to discovery and education. Its goal will be to showcase the life and work of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, as well as rural lifestyle at the turn of the twentieth century. Parks Canada will also work on fostering partnerships to take advantage of opportunities that further the discovery of the national historic site through increased visitor attendance generated by alternative activities or events.

Management goals:

Preservation of resources:

Parks Canada protects the cultural resources of heritage sites in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. To maintain the site’s commemorative integrity, the Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site strives to preserve cultural resources for current and future generations. These efforts include the continued monitoring of cultural resources, as well as the completion and documentation of ad hoc conservation projects. Moreover, any action that could negatively impact the cultural resources will be the subject of an impact assessment, as stipulated in the Cultural Resource Management Policy.

  • Continue to perform regular maintenance of the building envelope.
  • Safeguard the most significant collectibles.
  • Monitor cultural resources on an ongoing basis to avoid major deterioration.
  • Carry out impact assessments during projects that affect cultural resources.
 

Public understanding, commemoration, and appreciation:

Parks Canada’s goal is to continue communicating and effectively commemorating the life and work of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, as well as presenting the rural lifestyle at the nineteenth century. The national historic site will also continue to provide information online to help people learn about the childhood home of this politician. Finally, the site will keep improving its visibility by working jointly with other sites dedicated to Sir Wilfrid Laurier.

  • Commemorate the life and work of Wilfrid Laurier.
  • Continue to depict the rural lifestyle.
  • Use traditional and digital media to promote the site.
 

Relationships with local and regional partners:

The national historic site would like to seize opportunities for collaboration with the town, partners, and Indigenous communities to promote the site and hold activities that complement the current offering. This will help animate the site, facilitate its integration with existing networks, and allow a greater number of Canadians to take advantage of the space.

  • Occasionally host special events and activities.
  • Collaborate with other historic sites commemorating Wilfrid Laurier.
  • Work with the community to host events and activities.
 

Maintaining the site:

Parks Canada maintains the area to support its heritage value, to present a positive image to the public, and to affirm Parks Canada’s brand.

  • Continue Parks Canada’s efforts to preserve national historic sites.
 

In compliance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is carried out for all management statements introduced in Parliament. The SEA aims to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally conscious decisions. The specific projects developed to implement the national historic site’s management statement objectives will be separately evaluated to establish if an environmental impact assessment is necessary under the 2012 Canadian Environmental Assessment Act or any successor legislation.

The goals set out in the management statement proposal consist in continuing with the management approach established for the Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site. The site will remain a protected heritage area dedicated to discovery and education. Parks Canada will also try to establish partnerships to take advantage of opportunities that further the discovery of the national historic site through increased visitor attendance.

The implementation of measures to achieve the objectives set out in the management statement proposal will help promote the site and its activities. The impact assessments will evaluate the negative effects that each of the proposed projects could have on the site.

The strategic environmental assessment confirmed that the Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site’s management statement proposal would have several positive effects on the visitor experience, and that significant negative environmental impacts would be unlikely.

It is impossible to determine whether the management statement proposal will make a significant contribution to the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy’s goals, but it is unlikely that it will hinder their progress.

No significant negative environmental impacts are expected following the implementation of this management statement.

image of man playing the violin

What do you think?

The present document summarizes and presents the site, its challenges, and managerial goals and strategies. Now it’s your turn to take part in the discussion! Here is your chance to add to the conversation and help us develop the Sir Wilfrid Laurier National Historic Site’s management statement. Your knowledge of the area, your experience with the site, and the future you envision for it are important to us.

How can I take part?

If you cannot attend the consultation, you can share your thoughts with us either:

  • Send your comments by email to: sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • By mail to:
    Public Consultations – Sir Wilfrid Laurier NHS
    Parks Canada Agency at Fort Chambly
    2 De Richelieu Street, Chambly, QC J3L 2B9, Canada

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or would like further information on the public consultation.

Visit the Parks Canada website:
https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/qc/wilfridlaurier

You have until August 5 to send us your opinions, comments, and ideas.

Thank you for your cooperation!

group of people playing the accordian
family playing with toy
Parks employee and child looking at flowers
image of corn

Table des matières

image de la maison sur le site historique  

Une invitation à participer!

Le lieu historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier planifie ses opérations pour les prochaines années. À cette fin, je vous invite à participer à la réflexion en nous faisant part de votre point de vue et de vos suggestions dans le cadre de la période de consultation publique qui se tiendra du 5 juillet au 5 août 2018.

L’objectif de cette consultation est de permettre au grand public, aux communautés autochtones, à la municipalité, aux partenaires et aux intervenants du milieu de participer à la prise de décision relativement à la gestion du lieu historique national.

L’énoncé de gestion guidera la gouvernance du lieu historique pour les dix prochaines années (2018-2028). Il fournit les orientations pour la protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles, l’expérience du visiteur, la diffusion externe et l’éducation du public.

Ce lieu historique national vous appartient! Joignez-vous à l’équipe de Parcs Canada afin de développer une vision commune, de poursuivre la protection et de favoriser la découverte de ce site unique.

Nadine Blackburn
Directrice
Unité de gestion de La Mauricie et de l’Ouest du Québec

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Contexte

image de wilfred laurier

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques nationaux protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent en profiter. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national du Canada de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier.

Le lieu historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier se situe dans la région de Lanaudière, au cœur de la ville de Saint-Lin-Laurentides, à environ 60 km au nord de Montréal (Québec). Désigné d’importance historique nationale en 1938, l’objectif de commémoration du lieu s’énonce ainsi :

« Le site commémore, dans son milieu d’origine, la vie et l’œuvre de sir Wilfrid Laurier, premier ministre du Canada. »

Le lieu fait connaître sir Wilfrid Laurier, premier francophone à devenir premier ministre du Canada. Un centre d’interprétation relate sa vie et sa carrière politique. Une petite maison (maison Robinette) construite en 1871 sur un terrain ayant appartenu au père de Wilfrid Laurier permet également au visiteur de découvrir le milieu d’origine de l’homme politique. Abritant plus de 600 objets, cette demeure reproduit un intérieur domestique rural du 19e siècle. Les visiteurs peuvent également profiter du jardin et du potager. Le lieu accueille annuellement la fête du Canada et la Fête au village.

image d'enfants jouant

Le site est accessible au grand public durant la période estivale (23 juin au 3 septembre). En 2016-2017, le lieu a attiré 623 visiteurs. En 2017, année du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada, plus de 1900 personnes ont visité le site gratuitement.

Afin de favoriser son rayonnement, le lieu historique national travaille avec plusieurs partenaires locaux comme la société d’histoire et du Patrimoine de Saint-Lin-Laurentides et l’Association des loisirs folkloriques de Lanaudière. Le lieu collabore également avec les deux autres lieux historiques nationaux commémorant sir Wilfrid Laurier, soit la Maison-Laurier à Ottawa et le Musée Laurier à Arthabaska.

 

Principales réalisations depuis l’entrée en vigueur du plan directeur de 2007

Réorganisation de l’offre de visite

Ajout de supports d’interprétation (panneau extérieur, vitrine, album numérique)

Ajout d’un appel visuel sur la route

Possibilité de visiter virtuellement l’extérieur du site sur Google Street View

Maintien en bon état d’intégrité de la maison Robinette et des objets de collection

Analyse du terrain à l’aide d’un géoradar en 2017 afin de détecter les vestiges archéologiques

Mise en valeur du jardin en permaculture

Métier à tisser communautaire

Croque-livre

Programme de camp de jour

Principal enjeu :

La fréquentation du lieu historique national :
Depuis 2012, la fréquentation du site a baissé de façon constante. En effet, elle est passée de 2 600 visiteurs en 2011 à 623 en 2016. Cette baisse est attribuable à une diminution du nombre d’événements tenus sur le site ainsi qu’à une réduction de la période d’ouverture. En 2017, 1908 visiteurs ont toutefois été accueillis grâce à l’offre gratuite de la carte d’entrée Découverte de Parcs Canada.

Approche de gestion proposée :

L’intention de Parcs Canada est de poursuivre l’approche de gestion en vigueur pour le lieu historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier. Le site demeurera un espace patrimonial protégé axé sur la découverte et l’apprentissage. Il visera à présenter la vie et l’oeuvre de sir Wilfrid Laurier ainsi que le mode de vie rural de la fin du 19e et du début du 20e siècle. Parcs Canada travaillera également à établir des partenariats en vue de saisir les occasions favorisant la découverte du lieu historique national par un plus grand nombre de visiteurs grâce à la tenue d’activités alternatives ou d’événements.

Objectifs de gestion :

Conservation des ressources :

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. L’objectif du lieu historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier consiste à poursuivre les efforts de conservation des ressources culturelles de façon à maintenir le site en bon état d’intégrité pour les générations présentes et futures. Ces efforts comprennent la surveillance continue des ressources culturelles et la réalisation de travaux ponctuels de conservation ainsi que leur documentation. De plus, toute intervention pouvant avoir un effet négatif sur les ressources culturelles fera l’objet d’une évaluation des répercussions, comme stipulé dans la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.

  • Poursuivre les interventions ponctuelles de maintien de l’enveloppe du bâtiment
  • Protéger les objets de collection les plus significatifs
  • Assurer une surveillance continue des ressources culturelles de façon à éviter toute dégradation majeure
  • Effectuer des évaluations d’impact lors de projets touchant les ressources culturelles
 

Compréhension, commémoration et appréciation du public :

Parcs Canada a pour objectif de continuer à communiquer et à commémorer efficacement l’importance de la vie et de l’oeuvre de sir Wilfrid Laurier ainsi qu’à présenter le mode de vie domestique rural du 19e siècle. Le lieu historique national continuera également à fournir de l’information en ligne dans le but de faire découvrir cet homme politique et son milieu d’origine. Enfin, le site continuera à travailler avec d’autres lieux présentant sir Wilfrid Laurier afin de faire rayonner le site.

  • Commémorer la vie et l’oeuvre de Wilfrid Laurier
  • Continuer à présenter le mode de vie rural
  • Utiliser les médias numériques et traditionnels pour faire rayonner le site
 

Relations avec les partenaires locaux et régionaux :

Le lieu historique national souhaite saisir les occasions de collaboration avec le milieu, les partenaires et les communautés autochtones en vue de la promotion et de la tenue d’activités complémentaires à l’offre actuelle. Ceci permettra de bonifier l’animation du site, favorisera son intégration aux réseaux déjà établis et permettra à un plus grand nombre de Canadiens de profiter du lieu historique national.

  • Accueillir ponctuellement des événements ou activités spéciales
  • Collaborer avec les autres lieux historiques commémorant Wilfrid Laurier
  • Travailler avec le milieu pour animer le site
 

Entretien du lieu :

Parcs Canada entretient le lieu de manière à respecter ses valeurs patrimoniales, à présenter une image positive au public et à témoigner de la marque de Parcs Canada.

  • Poursuivre les efforts de Parcs Canada liés à l’entretien du lieu historique national
 

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’EES a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des propositions de programme afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Les projets particuliers réalisés pour mettre en oeuvre les objectifs de l’énoncé de gestion dans le lieu historique national feront l’objet d’une évaluation distincte afin d’établir si une analyse d’impact environnemental est nécessaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale 2012, ou de toute loi lui succédant.

Les objectifs dans la proposition d’énoncé de gestion consistent à poursuivre l’approche de gestion en vigueur pour le lieu historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier. Le site demeurera un espace patrimonial protégé axé sur la découverte et l’apprentissage. Parcs Canada tentera également d’établir des partenariats afin de saisir les occasions favorisant la découverte du lieu historique national par un plus grand nombre de visiteurs.

La mise en oeuvre de mesures pour atteindre les objectifs fixés dans la proposition de l’énoncé de gestion devrait contribuer à favoriser son rayonnement et ses activités. Les évaluations d’impact aborderont les effets négatifs potentiels des projets proposés individuellement sur le site.

L’évaluation environnementale stratégique conclut que la proposition de l’énoncé de gestion du site historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier aurait plusieurs effets positifs sur l’expérience des visiteurs et ne devrait pas engendrer d’importants effets environnementaux négatifs.

La proposition d’énoncé de gestion ne permet pas de déterminer s’il contribuera de façon appréciable aux objectifs de la Stratégie de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral, mais il est peu probable qu’il nuise à leur réalisation.

Il n’y a pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants prévus découlant de la mise en oeuvre de cet énoncé de gestion.

homme jouant du violon 

Qu’en pensez-vous?

Le présent document résume et présente le site, ses enjeux ainsi que des stratégies et des objectifs de gestion. La parole est maintenant à vous! Voici l’occasion d’enrichir la réflexion et d’élaborer ensemble l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier. Votre connaissance du site, votre expérience du lieu historique et la façon dont vous envisagez son avenir nous tiennent à coeur.

Comment participer?

Si vous ne pouvez pas assister à la consultation, il vous est possible de nous faire part de votre opinion par deux moyens :

  • Par courriel : sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • Par courrier à l’adresse suivante :
    Consultations publiques – LHN de Sir-Wilfrid-Laurier
    Bureau administratif de Parcs Canada au fort Chambly
    2, rue de Richelieu, Chambly (Québec) J3L 2B9 Canada

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous souhaitez obtenir des renseignements sur la consultation publique, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Visitez le site Internet de Parcs Canada :
https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/qc/wilfridlaurier

Vous avez jusqu’au 5 août pour nous transmettre votre opinion, vos commentaires et vos idées.

Merci de votre précieuse collaboration!

groupe de personnes jouant de l'accordéon
famille jouant avec des jouet
Employé des parcs et enfant regardant des fleurs
image de maïs